We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not your moneys worth”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #109 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 November 2012

i booked this hotel through a third party site that works with the roger hotel and found a fantastic deal so i thought why not book and by the looks of the photo it looked rather good. i planned to stay 5 nights here and on the second day from checking in i checked my account to see that they had taken the whole amount of my stay on hold when i have been travelling all over america before visiting nyc and other hotels have only taken a max of 200. so i decided to call the front desk and ask them to why was it that they held more then 1000 dollars... they replied it was normal for hotels to do this but then mentioned that our bill was an additional 400 dollars from what we had been given on the confirmation. they insisted that we were wrong and that we had to pay the 400 dollars more then what was shown on our confirmation letter. they kept on saying that its not their problem and said we had to pay. any way at the end of it all the stuffed up and had to give it to us at the price that we were originally meant to get it for. and honestly the money that they charge here is not worth it, the rooms are old the decor is disgusting and is rather noisy. the only thing going for this hotel is the location, spend that little bit extra and got to another hotel. this hotel def needs a revamp my grandmothers house is more modern then this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank rlmessina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,346 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

The hotel has big rooms by NYC standards. However, I found the bed uncomfortable, the rooms not very sound proof and really tacky with floral wall paper. The staff was very nice. I would not hesitate to stay here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasicakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Awesome hotel with beautiful rooms. Friendly staff and a cozy bar/ restaurant. I've stayed there on 2 occasions, one week at the time. Both times excellent! I would certainly recommend this hotel to first time NYC travellers since it's a decent walking distance to lots of cool places!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The Roger Smith is in a great (IMHO) central location. Easy to get many places from the hotel. No full dining room, but a cozy bar where there was a continental breakfast and limited menu other times. Room was fine, internet, t.v. all fine. Bathroom was tiny, but had all that's needed (except no tub). Price was reasonable for central Manhattan.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My first impression looking pictures and entering the lobby was "old hotel, dirty carpet, mustiness... I'm gonna need a spare nose".

In fact, the hotel seems outdated and deserves a redecoration here and there and if some old furnitures, threadbare carpet or scratched walls affects your mood, think twice before stay at Roger Smith. However, it took just 5 minutes to make me feel confortable about room cleaning and general care when I realized I wasn't suffering any rhinitis or allergy I usually have in any dusty place.

The attendents were very gentle and pleased to help us since we left our luggages early in the morning before check-in till find a big cab to take us to the airport and everytime in between.

The highlight of the hotel is the great location: 5-15 minutes walk distance to subways, Grand Central Terminal, 5th Ave, Bryant Park, the UN, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, Times Square and lots of every sort of stores, restaurants and coffees.

It was a very pleasure 3 nights stay. I Recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Roger Smith because I read some good reviews about it. And the price seemed reasonable for NYC. I almost left after 5 minutes. No food. No bottled water. Room clock not on time. Lamp was one of those bed lamps that shed so little light it was useless for reading. Street noise (to be expected in NYC). Coffee maker not working properly. Decaffeinated coffee available in room. No coffee with caffeine. Finally the hotel came up with one miniature little coffee to brew. ONE in the entire hotel, they told me. Finally someone did uncover two more coffees with caffeine. Lots of conditioners in the bathroom, but no shampoo. Lots of sewing kits provided (I did not need to sew) but no essentials, except that there was a toothbrush. Nice touch. The only good thing about this hotel was the art project going on downstairs--very interesting. But you don't have to stay in the hotel to watch the artists at work. I was not happy with this hotel, and would prefer a hotel with food and water, a lamp, and reliable caffeine. Good points--comfortable bed, and TV worked just fine, but that's about it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My sister and I booked online through Expedia, and got a better price than what was listed on the hotel's website so make sure to shop around.

Price aside, it was a good choice for us. The decor is a bit dated but seems well-cared for. The bathroom was clean and seemed like things had been scrubbed vs merely wiped down. The room was a good size and included a large closet and flat screen tv. The windows open which is nice, although it can get a bit loud at night. Depends on your tolerance for noise, I guess.

Bed were comfy and again, clean. I think there was a mini fridge under the tv but I didn't really check that out. There was also a note in the hall indicating that there are safes in the room but I didn't see one. I didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms which was a plus as this seems to be a common issue in other hotels I have stayed in.

The guy behind the desk was very friendly and helpful and did a good job of making us comfortable, ensuring that we had the right room type and info for food and airport transportation.

This is a good choice for those who aren't willing or able to spend too much on a hotel but appreciate a clean room and a friendly smile from staff. The location is great and affords an easy walk to so much in midtown, the subway, Grand Central, etc. I will return when I get to NYC in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lexington may get a bit noisy, but you should ask about what the other exposures are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singleselfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 469 in New York City
649 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#137 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £111 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing