We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #119 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Apart from a rather unhelpful man on reception when i arrived i had an enjoyable stay here.
The rooms are a decent size and well equipped with some nice touches such as a collection of books on the bedside table to read. The decor is nice and definitely not your average hotel. Although if you search in corners and behind curtains it is showing little signs of age.
The Bathroom is also a good size with nice complimentary toiletries with a great shower, although the temperature control was a little temperamental.
The downstairs restaurant was not open during my stay so i can't comment on that.
The best thing about this hotel for me was it's location which for a first time NY visitor with little time to explore seemed to be close to everything i wanted to see.
As i said, the only down side was the man on the desk who was most unhelpful when i tried to check in. All of the other staff were most helpful and even gave me some great recommendations on local places to eat (can recommend the comfort dimer around the corner and Snafu bar).
Oh, on two mornings there was some incessant banging (no, not that kind)like a sledgehammer from somewhere else in the hotel. I phoned reception to ask about it but it didn't stop and if they new what it was they didn't let on.
All in all a good stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonmorals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    737
    238
    99
    64
See reviews for
690
403
150
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights,NJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I booked it online at the last minute and didn't get to see the hotel name until after I purchased it. I was a bit disappointed when they showed me the name but... we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival.Front desk only had one person so that took a few minutes but we loved the jr. suite. There's a refriderator in the room.The room reminded me of a Vermont Inn.The lobby is small which is a nice change from the large chains. The valet parking was very reasonable.We loved the location as well. They do remind you with a call that it's check out time.We would stay there again!!

Room Tip: Great little bar in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L-DeL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is in a good location. The best way to see Manhattan is walking and Roger Smith is a few minutes away from Grand Central and the Chrysler Building. So all the main sites can be reached easily either on foot if you have the energy or by subway.

We were given a family room which was perfect for us and a good size. The room was basic but clean, no beg bugs. Free wifi in the room and free dvd hire were great touches.

Our shower was a bit cranky and blew hot and cold. The location on Lexington is busy so from time to time you can expect some noisy traffic but that is all part of it.

For food, we appreciated the complimentary Greek yoghurt and apples which meant we could start the day with something inside us. We weren't so keen on the diners and restaurants they recommended, but we found a good value and quality hot take away on 45th and 3rd for those nights when you want to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We arrived with our three children and realized that I had made the reservation for THE NEXT WEEK! (I must have been sleeping!) The front desk gentleman didn't bat an eye and found a wonderful room for us, the same type that we had reserved. He was welcoming and helpful, as were the rest of the staff during our stay. The rooms were large and comfortable, with historic charm and modern amenities. The hotel is blocks from Grand Central, Times Square, and Radio City! Definitely convenient! We all loved it and will be returning soon, I think!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I arrived Friday the 15th and checked out last night the 18th. It was the third time I stayed here. I chose this hotel again because of their central location and they are very affordable. This hotel has no bells and whistles but the rooms are clean and larger than usual and you can't beat the location for the price. They are on 47th and Lexington within walking distance to Grand Central Station, Rockerfeller Center, Park Avenue, Madison Avenue, 5th Avenue and if you like to walk, you can even walk to Times Square and Central Park which I do. The staff is friendly enough and when I asked for an upgrade they were very accomodating. They do not have room service or a gym or any amenities of the sort. Although they do not have room service, they do provide you with phone numbers to numerous restaurants that will deliver within minutes if you call them. There is a Starbucks right next door, a pharmacy accross the street and lots of shops and restaurants right down the block.

Room Tip: This hotel is located on a busy street and there is a nightclub right next door so if you do not lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearly
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Roger Smith during the 2013 Cookbook conference, and every aspect of our stay was perfect. From the cordial and accomodating front desk staff, to the oversized rooms filled with antiques to the gourmet food and beautiful artwork, there's no place like the Roger Smith. You will feel pampered and appreciated at every turn. From the small touches like extra bottles of everything in the bathroom and a sewing kit and shoe buffing cloth in the hospitality basket, to the anything but standard fare couches in the living room of our suite, to the enchanting selection of books in the secretary desk, it felt more like an apartment of an art-loving friend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest suites they have, which have two bedrooms, a kitchen and a living room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wynterwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and 1 night and we loved it and enjoyed very very well!!!
Great location and all the people and staffs here are very warming and helpful to us.
The room was clean, well furnished, well lit, and everything we need are here.
It was so nice here I will definitely recommend this to my co workers, friends and family and this is by far my favorite hotel in manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 466 in New York City
605 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 466 in New York City
490 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#57 of 466 in New York City
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#34 of 466 in New York City
239 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#117 of 466 in New York City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing