We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for my family”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #114 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We needed two beds for my husband, me and our two young boys in a central location and that is exactly what we finally found at reasonable price. Our room was spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were greeted warmly and received early check in at 9:30 am with a junior suite (an upgrade)! It felt more like a small, European hotel than many of the nondescript hotels I often stay in NYC in the same price bracket. Free delicious Vermont yogurt and granola in the lobby made a nice snack for our whole family. We were on the third floor, which was a bit noisy, but it was a rainy night and the sounds of the rain along with turning on the fan in our room drowned out most of the street noise. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in 304, a junior suite in the corner of the property right on Lexington. Lots of street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aselco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great deal on a quick jaunt to the city. Good location. hotel is combo of deco and artsy. Will definitely stay there again. People were very helpful. Lobby had Greek yogurt & granola for free. Beds were very comfortable & nice toiletry basket. Good deal!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A friendly staff greets you to check you into the very cozy rooms. It is an older building and the rooms are tastefully decorated to fit the time frame of the building. The bar was a comfortable place for us to get a night cap. We enjoyed all the art decorating the building as well. Great find!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KathiMB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights. A friend who used to work there recommended it to us. I got trapped by the nonrefundable price before the friend said he could probably get us a better rate. To compensate, we were told that we would have a nicer room with a bottle of wine, both of which did not happen. Also, the price of our room was cheaper the day of than when I bought it under the nonrefundable trap. I was too tired to complain at the time.

Then we had to call down to the front desk a few times (to ask for a DVD and to report a broken thermostat) and I had to call again both times because the person forgot to respond to my request. It was a disappointing trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and yes it does need updated as some reviews have stated but can recommend it for its cleanliness and large rooms. It was great to come back too after a long day of sightseeing. Lovely comfortable bed, coffee maker and hot shower. Staff very helpful and pleasant. My only gripe is the bar opening hours which was 5-10pm. Good location couple of minutes from Grand Central Station and 5th Avenue. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room to rear of hotel if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardwsellhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I booked my room at the Roger Smith through my corporate travel site and chose it for it's location and reasonable price as well as seemingly fine looking online photos. I also assumed a 3-star boutique hotel with mostly 4-star customer reviews would be if nothing else simple and clean. Now, I'm choosing to believe that everything was cleaned properly as the linens were fine, but the room itself was very tired. The carpet was very worn in places, the bathroom had not been updated in decades (guessing since the 50s), the moldings were cracked-- it felt very old and in some places very dingy. In fact, it looked as though a large part of the plaster crown molding was about to fall down in my room. The entire hotel is simply in need of a major renovation. That said, the staff was friendly and the room was large for New York standards.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceekaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is okay but I don't understand why hotel had to be charging my credit card at random 3 times. Is not funny and am still waiting for them to fix it. The rooms are okay, they parking was another issue at their website they wrote $35 but when we got there they told us that the parking is $50

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bensihenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#33 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 469 in New York City
638 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#145 of 469 in New York City
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,500 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#29 of 469 in New York City
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £117 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing