We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, large, PET-friendly boutique hotel”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #103 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel, and the main reason was for their pet policy. The hotel is in a great location in East Midtown and the rooms were some of the largest in the city. They were clean and not too old as some of the other hotels within this price range. The pet fee is $100 per stay, whether you stay there one night or one week. This is something that we didn't know before hand, and the reason why this hotel only gets an 'average' review. They also have breed restrictions and will apparently kick you and dog out if its too noisy. Overall, it's a good hotel for those not traveling with pets. For those with dogs, it might be better to board them in a Petsmart hotel or something similar, especially if its only for a night or two.

Room Tip: They have 2 double bed rooms or one queen with sofa-bed. These rooms are quite large. Try to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKingTut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

What to say about this hotel.... WE LOVED IT!!
Great location, the breakfast in Cafe Metro was so much fun every morning
but last and definitely not least... the staff!!

We went by train to Washington after 8 nights and had a really hard
time leaving this lovely hotel. Roger Smit - you rock! ;-) thanks for
a great NYC-experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, within walking distance of almost anything your looking to do. The whole decor of the hotel was very nostalgic I felt like I went back in time but it was clean and everything worked. NO Parking @ the hotel, bummer! Crappy offerings for continental breakfast & the WiFi was not so great ( could NOT really get connected ).

Stayed: April 2014
Thank DiGi2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was the latest of my many stays at the Roger Smith Hotel and it's always pleasant to return. The rooms are very large for Manhattan, especially for midtown; the location is unbeatable, among hotels that charge twice as much. One special feature of this hotel is the variety of rooms to accommodate different combinations of travelers. This time, in NYC with my daughter and granddaughter, we had a "Junior Suite." There were two double beds plus a loveseat that opened into a large twin bed, so nobody had to share a bed. The room was spacious, with a desk, comfortable armchair, and lots of floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobydSarasota_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent a week at the Roger Smith in April. From our checkin we liked
it very much and realised we had made a good choice. We were familiar
with the area as we had stayed at the Lexington next door many times
before. To be honest we had passed Roger Smith many times and never
took much notice.
We had a junior suite facing Lexington Ave which was very spacious and
felt like a small apartment.  We had everything we needed - a large 4
poster bed, sofa, writing desk, large glass coffee table, TV, fridge,
microwave, coffee maker and ample closet and drawer space.  The
bathroom was spotless and we liked the traditional decor. It was nice
to look out onto the hustle and bustle of Lexington Avenue.
The complimentary yogurt, granola and apples which were available 24/7
was a nice unique touch. The Vermont yogurt was very good quality -
recommend the maple!.
We visited Lilly's bar on the ground floor for a couple of drinks
during happy hour and we were surprised how lively it was.  Though the
sign says "restaurant" did not see evidence of food being available.
Check-in and check-out was straightforward - Randy made us feel very
welcome.  We will definitely be staying at the Roger Smith on our next
trip.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior suite...ours was located at one corner of the fourth floor so it had two windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tropicaldebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pros:
- The location is convenient to midtown attractions and subway.
- The price of my room was aggressive for this neighborhood.
- The plumbing was solid with good water pressure and temperature.
- My room had a decent number of three-pronged outlets or extension cords, located in convenient places.
- The in-room WiFi had a strong signal and decent throughput.

Cons:
- The building is tired looking on the inside, with a broken front door, well-worn carpets, aging wallpaper and some cracks in the walls.
- The mirror over the sink in my bathroom was too low for a 6' tall person to see their head in it.
- The lighting over the sink in my bathroom was a little on the dim side.
- The in-wall air conditioning unit in my room looked very dingy and dirty, but more significantly, let in almost as much street noise as an open window.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jonathan_Sullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The location is excellent for all the attractions nearby, also only 3 blocks away from subway (line 4-5-6). Me and wife were expecting a boring standard one room with queen size bed, but we got a suite instead. Bed is a bit shaky though. Also photos on the wall make me a bit uneasy in the first place. Staff are very friendly, will definitely come back if we visit NYC again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SKBK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 471 in New York City
457 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#99 of 471 in New York City
740 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 471 in New York City
574 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 471 in New York City
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing