We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and an enjoyable stay”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #112 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our room was warmly decorated in an English bed & breakfast style, and it was spacious. Hotel looks a little dated but we were not too bothered as it was comfortable, cosy, and fairly affordable by NYC standards. The lobby has greek yogurt and granola provided all day, and I couldn't have enough of the yogurt! Front desk staff looks stern but actually turned out to be very helpful and not grouchy at all despite our various problem with our packages. Good location near Grand Central terminal/MoMA/Rockefeller Centre, various delis/cafes around for a fuller breakfast. Obviously in NYC you can't escape the street noise and sirens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnYeoHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Absolutely love the Roger Smith. I have been staying there since 2007. Perfect location. A short walk from Grand Central, shopping all around and an easy walk to the Theater District. My friend and I always stay there when we want to spend a weekend in the City. It is nice to have a night cap at the Terrace Bar before ending the night. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms clean, lots of towels and all the anemities. Plenty of closet space.
The Jr. suites and one bedroom suites are very affordable and large
I don't bother checking out any other hotels for my weekend stays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ncc178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Clean room, friendly staff, good price, great location, much street noise, needs paint and some other freshening up. As before, I'll look elsewhere but again probably staying here for the value. These words are extra characters to get to 200.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JRBBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff are friendly and the hotel has quite an intimate feel. The little free yoghurt bar in the lobby was a nice touch. The room presented beautifully and the impressive bed was very comfortable. I'm a light sleeper so I struggled a little with the noise from the street outside ( I was on 6th floor); but it's unrealistic to expect silence when you're in midtown Manhattan!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MelbourneSuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a repeat visit to the Roger Smith. We love the location and the understated charm. Yes the furnishings and electrics could do wit a little tweak here and there but the location, cozy bar and rooftop terrace more than make up fo that. You couldn't ask or a better locaton for Grand Central and it is great to have everything within walking distance. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our experience at the Roger Smith Hotel right from the beginning was really, really good. We used the valet parking - awesome price - $35 per day. Our car came out without a single scratch on it. Plus with the construction going on -whew! It sure was nice not to have to worry about how to get to the garage from the hotel. Check in was a breeze. The employees at the desk - extremely friendly and nice.

Our room was spacious - especially for NYC. I requested a quiet room away from traffic noise. it is nearly impossible. We were on the side of the hotel and you could see the road. But on Sunday mornings, there is no traffic, so no traffic noise. Saturday night (the night we stayed) really wasn't a problem.

The bed was comfortable. Plenty of pillows. One small thing. And it was totally our fault. We could not figure out how to turn down the heat in the room. We just laid there in bed and didn't bother calling so it was a bit warm. All we needed to do was make the call to find out.

Room has a hair dryer, a large closet with a safe (didn't use the safe) and a mini fridge. We couldn't find the fridge at first. I knew it said in the info there was one and voila! There it was - just had to open the doors of the TV stand!

The room and bathroom were very clean. People kept saying the place was outdated. Well, not really. I just couldn't see it. There was fresh paint on everything. Nothing was run down. Yeah, the walls were older, but were not run down. It's NYC - the buildings are older. Roger Smith Hotel certainly has kept the place up nicely.

They did have a couple flavors of yogurt and some granola in the lobby. That was a perfect breakfast for us with a cup of coffee.

And as for location - it was an excellent location. We were there for a Yankee game. It could not have been more convenient. You just go about a block down and cross the street and there it is! The subway! Ask at the front desk which one it is for sure - but you get on there and off at Yankee Stadium. No transferring anywhere. Super easy. And of course, the subway so close - you can get anyplace.

We were just so pleased with the price, the room, the employees and the ease of getting to the Yankee Game.

Rooms are not cheap in NYC (unless you are in a hostel or shared bath) but this is of the least expensive. I really can't say enough. Except - stay at the Roger Smith Hotel!

Room Tip: Use the valet parking - same price as self park and way easier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Love the location - and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are old and tired. We had a junior suite - which was just a little extra room for a love seat (which was stained). Lighting was poor and one light was completely broken. Bathroom is old and really tired. But beds were clean and comfortable. Apples and yogurt in lobby are a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank anyexcusetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
216 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#123 of 469 in New York City
638 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#144 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#61 of 469 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £121 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing