We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and wonderful location”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #122 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Friendly service and wonderful location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very conveniently located close to subway station and near Times Square. Hotel staff is extremely friendly. Nice, clean room; spacious in NYC standard. They stored our luggage for several hours after we checked out. This was totally hassle free. The restaurant was closed which was inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paromita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    715
    232
    98
    63
See reviews for
659
394
147
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I start by confessing that I am a hard core loyalty traveler. I've been know to travel up to 1/2 hour+ out of my way to stay at my preferred hotel chain to collect my points and nights towards my Diamond Status. This week, my company's travel policy required me to choose the Roger Smith Hotel. Ugh - had to gear myself up for a "never heard of it" hotel... Well, here's where I have to overuse the word WOW!! Upon check-in, I was told I had been upgraded - really, on my first ever stay?? If this was their attempt to attract more business from my company, it TOTALLY WORKED! I got to the 'room' and it was bigger than most Manhattan apartments -- huge living room with sitting area, dining area, desk are and fireplace. In a hallway to the master bedroom, there were four doors. One door opened into a closet, one into a bathroom, one into a kitchen (microwave, sink and mini fridge) and the last opened into A SECOND BEDROOM (twin bed, dresser and TV.) The Master had a king bed, TV, fully loaded bookshelf, and walk-in closet. The furniture was shabby chic -- worn, dented, antique'ish. Overall darling! At a co-workers request, I checked out the roof-top bar - full bar, seats about 25 on wrought iron furniture, brick with flower planters - very nice for an after work drink!! I can't speak to the 'regular' hotel rooms, but this experience has already got me spreading the word to my co-workers!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiWeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent our honeymoon at the Roger Smith Hotel in New York. The hotel is centrally located on Lexington Ave - near the Central Station and Chrysler Buliding. We had a suite which was furnished with great attention to detail. The reception staff gave us very good advice - especially Randy Ogoff. Friendliness and cleanliness were very good. The beds were an American highlight with excellent comfort.The hotel has two bars, one on the ground floor and one on the top floor as a rooftop bar. We enjoyed our stay in New York and are looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Last year at this time I wrote a glowing review saying the staff was great, even though I never had any problems for them to handle. But this year when I encountered some issues, I was really surprised at how I was treated. I arrived on Sat. night and stayed on the 7th Floor facing Lexington Ave. The noise was unbelievable. When I told the staff they laughed and said that was due to all the clubs in the area, and confirmed that the noise ended at 4:30 a.m because the clubs closed at 4 a.m. The other reaction I got was they were surprised that it bothered me since I live in a big city, and one guy said he could have given me ear plugs. They assured me it would be better on Sun. night. Well, the club noise was gone, but the trucks rambling by all night hitting the potholes were too much, and I finally asked to change my room. I was asked why I hadn't changed it earlier! I explained why, and finally got another room. The last night there, some people on the fire escape had a party at 3:30 a.m. I called the front desk, but no one came and I handled it myself. Then other folks were on the fire escape drinking at 5 a.m., and a hotel person came up right away and handled it. I didn't sleep for three nights, and got the feeling the staff couldn't be bothered. I was told it was "hard to run a hotel." I understand that, but I am in customer service and know that most people appreciate at least a little kindness. I'm still bewildered as to how this ended up being so different than my first visit, except that this time I needed help with a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

very pleasant bar, artistic environment, our room had an old bed but the room size and everything else was OK, hotel has a very good position but noisy (Manhattan!), very good and healthy complimentary breakfast, the staff was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DStarcevic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Its just in the right spot to get everywhere. Grand Central ,5th Avenue are just a stone throw away. Hotel staff are very helpful particularly Randy on the front desk who know which diners are the best to go to. ( Try 2nd Street Diner). They supply you with Yogurt, nuts and apples so you can start your day without rushing to fine food. Art work around is fab.

But , the room can differ a lot, don't be embarrassed to ask for another. Some rooms have the most fabulous bathrooms

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolelong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Roger Smith for four nights with two friends. Perfect location in midtown Manhattan within walking distance to everything. Very friendly staff at the reception desk, a small bar in the ground floor and a very nice and popular rooftop bar. We stayed in a Premium Suite and as it says on the website "It's a much more civilized stay if in fact you have the space to spread out. These suites are comfortable enough and well appointed enough that you could in fact invite your friends that you know in New York up to have a drink in your suite."

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RybergM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing