We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in New York”
Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #150 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Leonard's East Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in New York”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Recently had a five night stay in this great hotel in New York. This hotel is chic and stylish, really well located for all the sights but also provides a calm, comfortable, base to return to at the end of a busy day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms a very good size with comfy beds and excellent housekeeping service. We hope to return to New York soon and would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishi106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    848
    297
    96
    47
See reviews for
525
783
134
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I am a frequent traveler and can testify that The Roger is THE DESTINATION in Manhattan! It is a luxury boutique hotel with all the amenities that make you feel at home. The rooms are clean, stylish, extremely comfortable and are equipped with internet, HDTV, stocked mini bar... That coupled with the friendly and accommodating staff makes The Roger second to none. The Parlour Bistro & Lounge have tasty food and are convenient, especially on inclement weather days. On your next visit, stay and I think you will see my comments are modest based on your superb experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Loved this hotel. Great location, close to all the amenities and sights yet quiet. The staff here were very friendly. The bedrooms are fantastic, very comfortable beds and lovely bed linen. We stayed in a superior room and it was very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Roger two weekends ago and had an absolutely lovely and wonderful experience. I highly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone looking for a luxurious but affordable property. Everything about our stay was perfect; the room was very comfortable (bed and pillows dreamy) and very clean with great bathroom products (C.O. Bigelow) and gourmet mini bar snacks. The furnishings were sleek and modern with a really cute lobby bar and adorable second floor restaurant. The delicious breakfast was served European style and it was very high end and tasty. The options were endless and the quality was top-notch (Sarabeth jams, etc.). I would definitely enjoy breakfast here but venue out for dinner. The gym was small, but the machines were in perfect condition and it was great for a quick 45 min workout (weights, elliptical machines, bikes, etc.). The staff was super friendly, accommodating, and quick to help with carrying my bags to hailing a taxi to answering questions about what to do/where to go in the city. I will be back at this hotel in a heartbeat. The Roger pays close attention to detail and has a lot of cute character and personality. I had a flawless experience and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My family and I just left our stay at the Roger- and I would highly recommend to anyone going to NYC. It's located out of the super touristy area, but still convenient to subway and restaurants. Service was friendly, rooms were clean, and lots of nice touches like wine hour and fresh tea daily. I booked through Jetsetter, so I was able to get a great deal. Only con would be that our air conditioner blew hot air and room would heat up to 80+ during the night....luckily for us, it was freezing in NYC so we just cracked the window to cool it down. On a side note- there is a Chinese restaurant on 33rd (cross close to Broadway) that was delicious and open late!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aprilcathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment the doorman greets you, The Roger staff is so professional, and so very helpful. I was late for an event and the staff was so obliging with a taxi waiting for me (after the complimentary glass of wine). The room was a nice size, the bed and sheets were wonderful. It was exactly what I needed after a crazy day. I cannot wait to stay at The Roger again. Great location, one of the best hotels in NYC - hands down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Pros: location. Close to subway with lots of restaurants nearby. Good customer service at the front desk, free wifi.

Cons: overpriced. Room was small and the air conditioning doesn't work well ( blows out hot air in the middle of the night). Room service barged into the room at 9am on Sunday even though check out time was at 12 noon.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel to stay at in NYC, I would recommend Hotel giraffe just a few blocks down the street instead.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Hentze, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Jenny W,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Like many New York hotels, our rooms are not the largest, but we do try to make it up with service from our team. If you would consider staying with us again then please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hentze
General Manager
jhentze@therogernewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#131 of 468 in New York City
3,309 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#125 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#157 of 468 in New York City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#205 of 468 in New York City
163 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#37 of 468 in New York City
376 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Property: The Roger
Address: 131 Madison Ave, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-7057 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing