We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough hotel, shocking and dishonest customer service.”
Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #145 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent enough hotel, shocking and dishonest customer service.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It is such a shame that my experience of this decent enough hotel was ruined by terrible customer service both during and after my stay.

Starting off with the positives:
Great location, near to the Empire State Building and Mid Town atttractions.
Decent sized, well appointed rooms, though it would be nice of the cleaner could learn to dust!

These are of course important, but if you dislike being ripped off, hen avoid this hotel.
There is the laughable "resort fee" which was set at $22 per night when I booked the rooms six months ago. For 5 nights this was $110; not a small sum and it only became apparent after booking. As the room was non refundable it left a bitter taste in the mouth. Not only that, but they actually charged me $24 a night upon check out. This is $120 more than the advertised rate and $10 more than it should have been.

There were also many other issues which have left me out of pocket due to the reception staffs ineptitude and dishonestly (including charging charging accommodation to my British card that they said they wouldn't) that I won't go into here.

Needless to say, they have not responded the various emails I have sent since I stayed there asking for them to be resolve my issues which says a lot about their attitude to customer service I guess.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GazzaBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Hentze, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear GazzaBrook,

I am sorry that you were unaware of our daily service fee of $24. We do try to be very transparent about this fee (which includes Wifi and free local calls among other things) through the booking processes as well as in our confirmations. I am surprised and disappointed that you found our front desk team unhelpful in resolving your concerns. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to assist. I can be reached via email at jhentze@therogernewyork.com or by phone at 212-448-7260.

Kind regards,

Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    880
    312
    98
    48
See reviews for
548
803
140
700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent friendly staff, fun lounge, good restaurant. We liked our room and terrace and really enjoyed the convenience of the restaurant. The breakfast is great - it really held us for the day. Also, the wine hour from 5-6 is fun and provides an opportunity to meet some of the other guests. Murray Hill, while not a "hot" neighborhood, is in a great location for getting both uptown and downtown. My husband also found the hotel to be an easy place from which to work and attend business meetings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Hentze, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Melissa 10,

Thank you for you kind words about the hotel. Our breakfast in the Parlour is certainly a hearty start to a day of site seeing. We hope to see you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Friendly staff at the door, at the desk, and at the bar. Just the right size and location. Subtle and nice decor. Memorably comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Didn't like the daily resort charge for "unlimited internet" because I got poor information on how to connect, and couldn't. Great restaurants very close, for breakfast Guy and Gallard at Park and 31st, for dinner, Artisinal on 32nd between Madison and Park and another dinner the other way at Miss Korea BBQ at 10 W 32nd. Bus in front, subway station a block and a half away. Fifteen minute walk down 31st from Penn Station. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Hentze, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear PBM_12,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in New York. Our team is certainly our biggest asset. Artisinal is one of my favorite restaurants in the neighborhood. I think the fondue is fun and delicious!
Come see us again soon at The Roger.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great hotel.

Next to the Empire state building and just one/two blocks from 2 subway lines.

Around the hotel you can find a lot of good places for breakfast for 15$

The food at the hotel is actually very good.

I would deftly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank rfcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Hentze, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear rfcarvalho,

I am so glad that your enjoyed your stay with us at The Roger. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and restaurant. We do think it is a great space to imbibe.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice hotel, very friendly staff, doorman Blake is really helpful, always concerned about helping you. Food is good, manager's happy hour 5-6:00pm (free wine!) is a great way to meet other guests informally. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Since it is a boutique hotel, everything is a little bit smaller. Corner rooms are always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tough2bcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Hentze, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tough2bcool,

It is good to see that Blake took good care of you. Blake had been looking after Roger guests for nearly 14 years now!
Hope to see you back with us again soon.

All the best,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We came here after cancelling our booking with another hotel which was terrible
Phillip at front desk is an absolute asset, it's obvious he loves his job, he brightened our day each time we saw him
If you like somewhere a little more intimate, where the staff will have a chat and nothing is too much trouble, stay here, it's definitely worth it
Beautiful decor and comfortable bedding, our room was a little dark but we weren't spending much time in there anyway.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank clstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very happy with the size of the room and the decor, layout well thought out, and more than adequate for a few nights. Bed was massive and very comfy. The bathroom was also done to a good standard, with a walk in shower and lots of ledges to lay out your bits and pieces. Cleaning seemed fine, and I was able to check in at 2pm which, after a long flight, was appreciated. I was initially concerned about noise as the room was opposite the lift and faced the street on the 4th floor, but the only time I was bothered was by a couple of guests yelling out to each other in the room on the floor above.

A lot has been said in previous reviews about the friendliness of the staff. I found them friendly enough but not overly so, although the guys on the door usually wore a lovely genuine smile. Perhaps because I wasn't using the restaurant or bar. Not so impressed with the admin charge which I found to be a bit cheeky - just add the thing onto the room charge, it feels more honest - or the many minibar snacks and drinks sat out on the counter in the room. All were chargeable and took up space where bags could have sat. It also seemed a bit tight to charge for water, an item I find is complimentary in most hotels I stay in. Also, as I was travelling solo on this occasion, I'd hoped to use the space in the lobby, which the photos presented as being quite cozy, to hang out in on occasion as an alternative to the room. It was nice but there wasn't much of it and there never seemed to be space that wasn't taken over by groups of other guests. Perhaps unfortunate timing.

All in all a good stay, with gripes reasonably minor. Felt very safe, was comfortable, and I'd stay here again if on the same rate I had for this stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taniwha_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Hentze, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Taniwha_Blue,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and only wish that we could have delighted you more. We take the feedback of our guests to heart and will work to do better in the future.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#133 of 466 in New York City
3,339 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#127 of 466 in New York City
1,569 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#198 of 466 in New York City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#40 of 466 in New York City
432 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 466 in New York City
2,253 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#156 of 466 in New York City
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Property: The Roger
Address: 131 Madison Ave, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-7057 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing