We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it on hotel tonight ”
Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #150 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Husband and I decided on a last minute trip to NYC and used our hotel tonight app for the first time. For this caliber hotel, completely worth it with that app. We got our room for $179 for a night (going rate was $329 plus tax and fees)!!!

The staff was nice and friendly. The room was clean, modern chic, and quiet.

Weekday complimentary wine happy hour 5-6pm.

Close to grand central.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MDBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,168 of 2,928 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

It was our first trip to New York and we couldn't have asked for a better location. It was a fairly quick taxi ride fro JFK airport, but the best thing for me was it was just two short blocks away from the Empire State and all the shops.

When booking the hotel I did request a twin room, but when I arrived I was given a double bed. As it was just my daughter and I knew she wouldn't be happy sharing a bed. I did ask the reception if a twin was available, but was told no with out them even checking. The room we were given was a decent size for a city room and the bed was a king size bed. So it sort of worked out ok.

I had heard a view stories about the hotel charging silly amounts for the mini bar and bath robes. We made sure we didn't touch any of those. We regularly got food and drinks from the 7/11 and massive pizza slices from across the road.

Overall not a bad hotel, but expensive for the service received. But couldn't fault the location and we didn't spend long in the hotel so wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

I loved everything from the welcome gift with the personalized card from the hotel manager, all the way to the bell hop who said goodbye as we hopped in the cab. I will definitely be back!

This was a refreshing experience, after the last few years of sub par service in hotels all across America.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very nice hotel with very kind staff. Accomodation very OK, bathroom quite small (square meters are expensive). Very cheap happy hour (free apple-tea and a free degustation each day. Superb breakfast to American standards.Well situated between Central Park and Manhattan. And for my 80-year old mother a unique occasion to see her grandson again after more than 4 months having left Belgium for one year to head for California.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

By wife and I usually make a pilgrimage to NYC every year to take in a few Broadway shows and club acts. We love staying in this area -- just north of Madison Square Park and convenient to several subway lines. We've stayed at the Chandler Hotel (across the street from The Roger) and it is similar to The Roger.

Our experience this year at The Roger in late July was excellent. The staff is courteous, friendly and responsive. Our room was average in size for an NYC hotel although to experience a smaller bathroom you'd need to be staying in a commercial airliner! That was the tiniest sink I'd ever seen! ( about 8'' in diameter). However the bathroom was very well appointed with high quality towels, lotions/shampoos (Bigelow) and fixtures (very nice mirrors and lighting). I don't know if all The Roger's rooms have bathrooms this small (probably not) but the quality of the amenities offsets the size and I would stay in the same room again. The bed linens/mattress were also of a high grade and the room was very clean.

Once again, location is always a strong suite for us and this hotel is close to several good restaurants (Crooked Knife, Blue Smoke, Bagel and Schmear), subways and attractions. We love Broadway but we avoid the noise and crush of the Times Square/Broadway area by staying in this vicinity. We've stayed in the Chandler (similar), Giraffe (pricier on Park Ave) and Hilton Fashion District (similar) in this area.

We had a good deal thru a promotion on Jetsetter and I would definitely stay there again. Overall, good value (and location!).

By the way, on this trip we did take in the recently opened 911 Museum in lower Manhattan; it is a must-see.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It is a lovely boutique hotel in an excellent location, personally I love being near Chelsea and near Midtown without being inmersed in either area.
Also this is a residential area where real newyorkers live so the restaurants are for local crowds not just for tourists.
The staff is amazing and they have a lovely happy hour for guests between 5 and 6 pm.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Roger June 2014 - my first stay, my husband stays here often when traveling to NYC for work. I thought the hotel was lovely - very clean, modern and fresh! The complimentary wine was a really nice treat! Rooms were quite spacious for NYC. Central location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#137 of 469 in New York City
3,465 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,419 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#250 of 469 in New York City
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
587 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#233 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#135 of 469 in New York City
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Address: 131 Madison Ave, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-7057 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £157 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Splitty, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing