We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Midtown”
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #50 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I ended up staying at the San Carlos by accident. I had stayed at the Affinia 50 for a few days and I wanted to extend my stay in NYC. I booked a room at the San Carlos and OMG what a difference!! Wifi and unlimited Breakfast were included (Very happy). Also, the rooms were extremely clean with lots of amenities...bathrobe, microwave, wine glasses, water bottles; it sounds silly to mention those items, but where I was staying previously had NONE of them. I had a deluxe room with a king size bed; it was absolutely beautiful/luxurious and the pictures don't make it justice. Also, since I bought my departure ticket during my last day in NYC, I was able to print my tickets free at the Business Center (2nd floor). I've stayed at many hotels in NYC, and I'm definitely planning to come to the San Carlos. The Staff were very friendly and helpful; they let me checked-in at 7am WITHOUT having to pay any extras fees (the Affinia made me pay $100 for checking in at 1pm!). I love the San Carlos and I highly recommend them. I'm definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank di7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel many years ago and had a great experience then, we returned this week to find it was a good as ever. The location is perfect, 3 blocks from 5th Avenue. The room clean, quiet and comfortable, a real haven in a busy trip. Breakfast good and plentiful. The staff were, without exception, helpful, charming and friendly. Very happy to recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ReesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights including New Year's Eve. There was free wifi which was a decent speed, the room was clean and spacious and it was at a good location. The weather was freezing and below freezing on a couple of days there so we caught a taxi to and from the hotel some days as walking in minus 16 degrees Celsius wasn't pleasant, in warmer weather this wouldn't have been an issue.
The staff at the from desk were lovely but some staff were more helpful than others. I wanted to get my dress dry cleaned and was told by night staff I had to take it down the road but in the morning when I brought it downstairs front desk said they'd do it for me; a very small matter but the hotel organising it saved me time!
All in all, a good experience :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Esmeralda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the San Carlos during Christmas which is probably one of the busiest times of the year in NYC. The first impression of the hotel was the warmth and friendliness of the staff, from the bell hop to front desk! Check in quick and easy. Walking distance to Rockefeller plaza, subway and more. The maid service was wonderful and the hotel (not just our room) was impeccably clean at all times. there were a couple of times when we requested extra soap or towels, within 3-4 minutes of calling down to front desk, we had what we requested. The rooms are a bit larger than a standard hotel room and two queen beds makingit feel a little more roomy. Fridge and microwave in room and everything in good working order and very clean. Breakfast was continental and included mostly breads, and breakfast pastries, cereals, apple or bananas and yogurt. Also bagels on just a couple of days, simple and quick breakfast option. My favorite was the hot milk in the carafe each morning. I put a lot of milk in my coffee and tea and most hotels only have the chilled milk for cereals, not hot milk so this was a pleasant bonus. A couple of days the breakfast room was full, but you didnt have to wait more than a few minutes for a table we usually got there befor 8 and no wait, but after 8:30-9, it got very busy. There is also a nice breakfast diner directly across the hotel, but it is a bit pricey as is most everything in the city! But convenient if you want to have eggs or pancakes or more substantial breakfast. Did I mention how nice and courteous the staff were? The Aveda shampoo and conditioner were sooo nice and shower was very hot and wonderful in the cold weather. The hotel car service is convenient and prompt in picking up and dropping at airport. Overall excellent service, great location and very very clean!! Definitely would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fam-friendly-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Decided to try the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and a very good price. Stayed for five nights the week before Christmas in one of the one bedroom suites--which was larger than most New York apts. The small kitchen actually had usable utensils, plates and wine glasses with a small refrigerator. The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed. The free breakfast was not extensive but had juice, yogurt, fruit, coffee and breads. If you wanted someplace more there was a great diner across the street.

The lobby is well appointed and there is a nice, free, business center. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The only downside, and the reason I did not give a "five" was because the in room wifi was totally unreliable. You could get a signal only about half the time and even then you would get bumped off. I had work I needed to do and I lost quite a bit one night because the wifi went down. The signals from the surrounding hotels were much stronger and always available (if of course you had the access code which you don't). The front desk didn't do anything or seem concerned when I twice raised the issue.

The location is perfect. Easy walking distance to everything but off the main drags so you don't have the noise etc. There is a subway station a block away and it's only about 4 blocks to Grand Central. There are a number of close by restaurants ranging from a diner to high end--including several with takeout. There is a Duane Reade around the corner and a Starbucks a block away.

I will definitely stay here again--as long as I can figure out a different option for wifi.

Room Tip: Upper floors give you a bit more sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murphykds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I just stayed at the San Carlos several weeks ago, and I decided on this location based on location and price point. I got an extra low rate by going on their hotel website and booking a non-refundable room, which was fine b/c it was only a few days before my trip. The recommended parking lot was full upon our arrival, but we said we were staying at the San Carlos, and they happily let us into the lot. The front desk staff was so friendly and made us feel very welcome. They held a key for my friend who was arriving later that evening, and he told us he felt like a VIP by the way they greeted him upon arrival. We had a spacious suite which was clean, modern and very comfortable. When we checked out in the morning, they happily held our bags behind the desk while we got lunch and watched a football game at a nearby restaurant. The experience was just wonderful, and this is my new go-to spot when in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here for one night the week before Christmas. The hotel immediately exceeded my expectations. The rooms were large, beds comfortable, bathrooms appointed with Aveda products. The room was exceptionally clean. Special kudos for the staff, especially Fabio in reservations and Yadim on the desk. These two were outstanding, but there was a young woman on the desk who made recommendations and was really helpful, as well the doorman. Our room was on a higher floor, so there was minimal street noise and no sound from adjoining rooms. Location an easy walk to Rockefeller Center and Central Park, as well as 5th Ave shopping. The free continental breakfast was ok--nothing great, but ok. That and so-so towels were my only (and small) complaints. If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in NY, you can't go wrong with the San Carlos. I will stay here again and have already let my friends know about it.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, you might want to request a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank headwinds325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,929 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 469 in New York City
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
1,533 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#90 of 469 in New York City
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £191 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing