We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and staff”
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My family just stayed at the San Carlos Hotel for the third time. Wonderful central location, close to sites and transportation.
The rooms are spotless, staff is helpful and most professional. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I bedroom suite is excellent for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    434
    59
    11
    9
See reviews for
622
243
32
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have just spent a whole week at this fabulous hotel with my friend, as we celebrated our 50th birthdays. We could not have chosen a better hotel. It was a delight from start to finish. It is in tip top condition, no peeling wallpaper here. The staff were really helpful, polite, but not stuffy. When our TV didn't work the maintenance man arrived within minutes! They even left umbrellas by the entrance for guests to take with them on rainy days. We had a room with two queen beds which was really spacious and comfortable. Lovely Aveda toiletries too. Great breakfast with plenty of variety. There are plenty of computers and and a printer for guests to use in the business centre, in case you are there without your own. If you have your own device then the free wifi is very handy.
I have already recommended this hotel to friends and hope to stay here again one day.

Room Tip: We were in 706 at the back. It was large, quiet and peaceful, away from the lifts. It had two que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilledoutoldbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I recently stayed at the San Carlos Hotel and LOVED IT! The room was extremely clean and beautiful. The location was great as we were able to walk to dinner. The entire staff was wonderful. They were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. As soon as we pulled up to the hotel, we were immediately greeted and our bags were taken directly to our room. Throughout our stay the staff was always accommodating and so very friendly. My stay at the San Carlos Hotel was wonderful and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here as a surprise trip for my 21st! Hotel is in perfect location 2 minute walk to 5th avenue with all the shops!!! Close to subway which takes you to see all of New York! The staff were so friendly from the minute we arrived couldn't of done anymore! Carried our cases to our room for us and acknowledged us every time we walked by! Breakfast was done! Good selection from toast to pastries and cereal with fresh orange juice! Rooms were cleaned everyday and even got chocolates on our pillow on the evenings! Loved my trip and this hotel made it even better!! Highly recommend it for anyone coming to New York!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megangreen0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My first visit to NYC, and this hotel was wonderful. We were within walking distance to Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. One of the few hotels to offer free breakfast. Your basic cereal, coffee, juice and bagels but good enough to get your day started and be on your way. Our room was very clean and the staff was super friendly.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My family of 4 spent a week in NYC and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the San Carlos Hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. We saved a lot of time and money on breakfast as it is included at the hotel. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff who bent over backwards to accommodate. We were allowed to check in early as we arrived at 10:30 a.m. and on our way back home, we were able to stay past check out as our flight didn't leave until late at night. Great location and within walking distance to many sights. Close to bus and train transportation. Thank you for making our first visit to the big apple a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaL376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our stay at the San Carlos could not have been better! From the moment we arrived, we received nothing less than first class service, greeting us by name, smooth, quick check-in (love the reception staff!), large, clean room, well- appointed bathroom and to our surprise, a basket filled with treats for our stay! (I had mentioned we were celebrating a birthday!- how kind and thoughtful!). Our beds were super comfy, the rooms were quiet and restful and the location couldn't be better! Down the street from the Waldorf Astoria and steps to the Metra station. We will be back- thank you to all who made our stay so great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_8959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Property: San Carlos Hotel
Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing