We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, and convenient”
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #48 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed one night for a quick visit. Besides being close to subways and the bustle of midtown, both staff members that we dealt with were charming and very helpful. Beds were comfy, showers hot, and complimentary breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
There are newer reviews for San Carlos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel March 27-April 4 and loved the experience. The lobby, though not large, is quite attractive, and the two elevators are most efficient and surprisingly fast. We were on the tenth floor in a junior executive suite. The suite was very spacious, and though the furnishings weren't especially glamorous, they were nice and not worn. The chest had a few nicks in it, but other than that, everything was in great shape. We had a nice sofa, two easy chairs, a large desk and desk chair, a small table with two chairs in the kitchenette area. The bed --with five pillows--was most comfortable, and the blackout shades really did keep out the sun in the early morning. The carpet was clean. We had two small closets as well as the chest for clothes storage. There were ample electrical outlets on all the lamps. We were surprised also at how quiet the room was even though we faced E. 50th.

The bathrooms often tell the tale in hotels, and this bathroom tells a good one! The granite vanity was large enough for cosmetics, etc.--and the whole bath was clean, clean. The floor is white tile with white grout--pristine white grout. I was most impressed.

The last time we were in NYC we stayed on 57th between 6th and 7th Avenues. We were a little leery about this location because we had read how "corporate" it was. We actually loved the location--close to subways and with many restaurants within a short walking distance. I did a menupages.com search before the trip and went armed with a whole list of close restaurants. There were too many on the list to try! We also found that the location was good for walking to any number of sites. We walked to and from Broadway theaters twice.

The staff members are wonderful--so friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast is certainly adequate--breads, pastries, fresh orange juice, two kinds of cereal, yogurt, bananas and apples. The tables were cleaned almost immediately following someone leaving. The complimentary wifi worked well for us also.

Would we recommend this hotel? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My family just stayed at the San Carlos Hotel for the third time. Wonderful central location, close to sites and transportation.
The rooms are spotless, staff is helpful and most professional. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I bedroom suite is excellent for families
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have just spent a whole week at this fabulous hotel with my friend, as we celebrated our 50th birthdays. We could not have chosen a better hotel. It was a delight from start to finish. It is in tip top condition, no peeling wallpaper here. The staff were really helpful, polite, but not stuffy. When our TV didn't work the maintenance man arrived within minutes! They even left umbrellas by the entrance for guests to take with them on rainy days. We had a room with two queen beds which was really spacious and comfortable. Lovely Aveda toiletries too. Great breakfast with plenty of variety. There are plenty of computers and and a printer for guests to use in the business centre, in case you are there without your own. If you have your own device then the free wifi is very handy.
I have already recommended this hotel to friends and hope to stay here again one day.

Room Tip: We were in 706 at the back. It was large, quiet and peaceful, away from the lifts. It had two que...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilledoutoldbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I recently stayed at the San Carlos Hotel and LOVED IT! The room was extremely clean and beautiful. The location was great as we were able to walk to dinner. The entire staff was wonderful. They were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. As soon as we pulled up to the hotel, we were immediately greeted and our bags were taken directly to our room. Throughout our stay the staff was always accommodating and so very friendly. My stay at the San Carlos Hotel was wonderful and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here as a surprise trip for my 21st! Hotel is in perfect location 2 minute walk to 5th avenue with all the shops!!! Close to subway which takes you to see all of New York! The staff were so friendly from the minute we arrived couldn't of done anymore! Carried our cases to our room for us and acknowledged us every time we walked by! Breakfast was done! Good selection from toast to pastries and cereal with fresh orange juice! Rooms were cleaned everyday and even got chocolates on our pillow on the evenings! Loved my trip and this hotel made it even better!! Highly recommend it for anyone coming to New York!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megangreen0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My first visit to NYC, and this hotel was wonderful. We were within walking distance to Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. One of the few hotels to offer free breakfast. Your basic cereal, coffee, juice and bagels but good enough to get your day started and be on your way. Our room was very clean and the staff was super friendly.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#32 of 468 in New York City
1,829 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#59 of 468 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,711 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 468 in New York City
1,289 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £211 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing