We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Carlos Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
W New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Benjamin(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
New York Marriott East Side(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oakwood Cosmopolitan(New York City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 48LEX New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
945
486
72
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
945
486
72
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastaveda productsnew yorkone bedroom suiteess a bagelrockefeller centercentral parksofa bedfree wifismall kitchentimes squarefridge and microwaveliving areabusiness centerlarge roomwaldorf astoria
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The San Carlos really is superb. Excellent location about a mile from Central Park, a mile from Empire State, half a mile from Rockerfeller Centre. staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room really was excellent. The separate lounge with kitchenette, fridge, microwave, sink and crockery. There was a pull out sofa bed and a table and chairs.the other bedroom was separate with bathroom through. Showers and toiletries superb. Really very very clean throughout.
The reason we only gave 4 stars was because of the breakfast. It was Easter weekend and the hotel was full, so breakfast was served in the Indian restaurant adjoining.The coffee was poor, orange juice was from a dubious looking orange plastic container, there were green apples and red apples, yogurts if you knew who to ask, Rice Krispies, presliced bread, bagels, croissants etc all served in the Indian restaurant on plastic plates with plastic cutlery and paper cups. The lighting and music were poor and service nowhere near as attentive and friendly as the staff in the main hotel. We resorted to going out and finding our own breakfasts after 3 days of this, only to find that on the last day the hotels breakfast area was open and serving breakfast. What a difference, great coffee, real orange juice, lovely choice of bagels, pastries, yogurts, bananas and apples.So my question is why was it ok to serve inferior breakfast in adjoining restaurant when busy? Surely it should have been to the same std then this would have been 5 stars!

Room Tip: We had room 601 king executive suite facing front and It was by the lift, but no problems getting to sleep. The rubbish collection may wake you at 2:00am, but so may the police sirens, horns honking wherever you are so I don't think you can get much better.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noshortcuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I travel to NYC once a year for business and every year I scour Trip Advisor for hotel ratings and reviews. While on my latest trip I toured a hotel with a higher review rating than the San Carlos and all I can imagine is that none of these reviewers have stayed at the San Carlos. There was no comparision. I've yet to find something to write negatively about. The rooms are spotless and very classy and tastefully decorated (I read a prior review that the hotel needs upgrading but not sure why). The hotel staff is undeniably the best (backed up by the fact that the same bellmen and front desk personnel have been the same people ever since I've been staying there).

The location is perfect, a nice walk to every corner of NYC, 10 minutes to Times Square, 10 minutes to Central Park. The street feels very safe and, if you get a room at the back, it's very quiet.

This is where I will be staying next year, and the year after that, etc.

Room Tip: Select a room at the back if light traffic noise will bother you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnrbeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for six days in April. Service was good, and mini suite with extra room was brilliant with boys, who we could leave to go to sleep whilst we watched a bit more telly of an evening. Great to have the extra room. Service was good, and concierge was great, helping out with bookings etc. Very good position, walkable to some sights, and 3 minute walk to subway station. Hotel owner great - and even did a magic trick for the boys! Not cheap by any means, but would thoroughly recommend.
Only regret is that the Knicks lost the night we went to see them at the Garden!!

Room Tip: Mini sutie with two queen beds was great for a family of 4
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed one night for a quick visit. Besides being close to subways and the bustle of midtown, both staff members that we dealt with were charming and very helpful. Beds were comfy, showers hot, and complimentary breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel March 27-April 4 and loved the experience. The lobby, though not large, is quite attractive, and the two elevators are most efficient and surprisingly fast. We were on the tenth floor in a junior executive suite. The suite was very spacious, and though the furnishings weren't especially glamorous, they were nice and not worn. The chest had a few nicks in it, but other than that, everything was in great shape. We had a nice sofa, two easy chairs, a large desk and desk chair, a small table with two chairs in the kitchenette area. The bed --with five pillows--was most comfortable, and the blackout shades really did keep out the sun in the early morning. The carpet was clean. We had two small closets as well as the chest for clothes storage. There were ample electrical outlets on all the lamps. We were surprised also at how quiet the room was even though we faced E. 50th.

The bathrooms often tell the tale in hotels, and this bathroom tells a good one! The granite vanity was large enough for cosmetics, etc.--and the whole bath was clean, clean. The floor is white tile with white grout--pristine white grout. I was most impressed.

The last time we were in NYC we stayed on 57th between 6th and 7th Avenues. We were a little leery about this location because we had read how "corporate" it was. We actually loved the location--close to subways and with many restaurants within a short walking distance. I did a menupages.com search before the trip and went armed with a whole list of close restaurants. There were too many on the list to try! We also found that the location was good for walking to any number of sites. We walked to and from Broadway theaters twice.

The staff members are wonderful--so friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast is certainly adequate--breads, pastries, fresh orange juice, two kinds of cereal, yogurt, bananas and apples. The tables were cleaned almost immediately following someone leaving. The complimentary wifi worked well for us also.

Would we recommend this hotel? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews