We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice offering in midtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #49 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice offering in midtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Travelled in July 2014 with family of four. We had the two queens/standard room and the beds were excellent. The room was clean and very comfortable and the free morning breakfast was good - not extensive but fine. One complaint was how loud the air conditioner was, but I never asked to be moved since I assumed that they were the same in all the rooms. The rooms come with a fridge that was nice to use for sodas and waters. Overall I would say it was just as we expected - very nice and the staff was quite helpful. I asked for a quiet room, and we were in the back on the 7th floor, and it was very quiet. No street noise at all! If the AC had been quieter, I would have rated it 5 stars!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and the back was very quiet. Unfortunately the AC was quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBK212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    425
    58
    10
    9
See reviews for
606
234
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I have just retuned from my NY vacation with my three kids. We spent 8 nights at the hotel San Carlos and could not have been happier with the service and location. Located a few blocks from everything interesting, the San Carlos provides a lot of the amenities needed for a perfect NY trip like free WI-FI, free breakfast (really plentiful), free business center, free umbrellas went it rains. They always had our rooms clean by 12:00 and their turndown service never failed. They are located in a safe and quiet part if town, so at night we did not have the loud noise of the streets or other guests. I highly recommend this hotel for families that want large and comfortable rooms, yet want to find a helpful and courteous staff and an elegant ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ddahwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The entire staff at the San Carlos hotel were wonderful. We arrived around 10:00 pm and were shown to our room. Because our room was located right next to the elevator we requested another room and without hesitation they showed us two other rooms to choose from. We stayed in a suite which was extremely roomy. We were able to grab a late dinner at the small Indian restaurant next door, called the Mint which was delicious and they too were very accomodating considering they were closing at 11:00 am. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The location is very good, quiet yet close enough to walk to many places. The only negative would be that their rooms could use some redecorating. Oh and the free continental breakfast was also wonderful! This was our second stay at the San Carlos Hotel and we would definitely recommend it and stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Konnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the San Carlos for 3 days in June 2014, in a junior suite.
The hotel location is excellent, staff is great and courteous but the room has a weird smell of old and dirt and so was the room furniture like the sofa chairs. A small improvement on the rooms furniture is must..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kbkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The people at the San Carlos hotel are unbelivable, friendly, helpul and caring. The location is excellent and the rooms are perfect. We are a famility of 5 and we had all we needed. I would recommend it highly to anyone visiting New York.
Thanks a lot

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo Tato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staff is very friendly and welcoming. We arrived early and the room was ready, in just a few minutes we we up in our room (706). This was a double room and we had four in our party. Plenty spacious for us 4, especially considering it's in NYC. There is a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Also a drawer with dishes, utensils , and a wine bottle opener. These items came in handy when we bought several cheeses back to the room from Eataly (gourmet market and restaurant). Anything you need, the staff will attend to without hesitation. A++ in my book. Thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miamilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed in the San Carlos a couple of times and what we like about it are the rooms we have had are a good size, the service is very good, and the location is great. Plus it includes a breakfast. We have always stayed for business, but this is also somewhere I would bring my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWS3and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Property: San Carlos Hotel
Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing