We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, fantastic staff.....”
Review of AKA Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AKA Central Park
Ranked #219 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location, fantastic staff.....”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our travel agent recommended AKA so we knew it would be good but we were blown away with the location. Our suite was very spacious and clean but did overlook ugly buildings and air conditioning equipment. Try to book a room with a decent view.
The staff were the best we have encountered anywhere in the world. They were genuinely welcoming and attentive at all times. During the week we were there we did not encounter one staff member with even the slightest hint of a 'couldn't care less' attitude. We stayed in 9 different hotels/resorts during our time in the US and AKA topped them all.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors with a decent outlook if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    152
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
116
180
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Clean, contemporary, and spacious room in an outstanding location off 5th Ave near Central Park South. Staff was professional and friendly and fireplace lounge was a perfect place for a nightcap after an evening in the city. Bed was a bit disappointing, towels were thin, and do you really need a kitchenette in Manhattan (as a former local, I miss eating out three meals a day)? The price is excellent for the high quality.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Da-juiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were in New York City for a two week period and didn't want to feel boxed in in a hotel room so opted for AKA apartment. We made the right choice. The room gave us plenty of room to spread out, unpack and stow away our suitcase without it lying around. The bathroom was also comfortabe.We had a king bed, a kitchette (microwave) and table and chairs. Room was clean. AKA doesn't have luxurious plush king bath sheets (bath towels) nor a magnifying mirror in the bathroom but all the comforts of home nevertheless. It would have been more welcoming to have a "starter kit" of tea/coffee, milk and sugar in the room so we could have had a drink whilst settling in. Position great, near Columbus Circle. Staff friendly and helpful. Use of laundry was a great help.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank myriam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is our 3rd AKA stay.The first at Central Park.One cannot beat the location-50m to bergdorfs
We love AKA and would always make it our first choice for a "home from Home "stay.
The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to assist.Clearly a good management team.The cafe however needs a little work with food quality
We`ll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calatrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at AKA Central Park for 2 weeks at the beginning of October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Initially we were in a room with no balcony, but after requesting a change they accommodated immediately and without hassle. Having the balcony was lovely!

The staff are really friendly. The location is great (really central to getting anywhere in Manhattan).

If we are ever in New York again... this is absolutely where we will stay!

I really liked the kitchen... it meant we could arrange an easy meal for either breakfast or lunch... which saved us having to 'eat out' three meals a day.

Good wifi too! & it was nice to be able to use the laundry facilities... (rather than pay any exorbitant hotel laundry rates). It's those little things that count!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappilyMarriedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed at AKA Central Park for six days at the beginning of October. My experience was exceptional - central convenient location, spacious one bedroom apartment which was well equipped, clean, with lots of amenities and stylish decor.
The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful with arranging tours, car service to and from JFK and concert tickets. The cafe served great coffee and fresh food, the fitness center was well equipped and clean. A bonus was having access to laundry facilities - washing machine and dryer at no cost, in good condition and clean.
I would definately recommend the AKA to others and will stay again when in New York.
The AKA exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: One Bedroom apartment is very spacious and accommodation at the back of the hotel quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brook50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo - brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed at aka central park by the end of september on a business trip. I dont think you can beat the duo location/price on this one. Nice studio, not great, but perfect for what it was, clean, good space , nice bathroom and tiny kitchen. I think it could have a better fridge, the one i had was too small and didnt handle the ben and jerrys that i bought. That said, everything else was perfect and the hotel staff were always helpfull and very nice. Lots of restaurants, subway and groceries nearbuy, walking distance. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#117 of 467 in New York City
584 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#147 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
691 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
6,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Central Park

Property: AKA Central Park
Address: 42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AKA Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Central Park Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing