We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable lunch ... just a slightly overzealous wait staff”
Review of Butterfield 8

Butterfield 8
Ranked #4,980 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Madison
Transit: Within walking distance to both Grand Central and Penn Sation.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“An enjoyable lunch ... just a slightly overzealous wait staff”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went at noon time on a quiet weekday. Staff was very friendly and seated our group of 3 in the quiet back part of the restaurant, away from the bar.

House wines by the glass were fine. Two of us ordered a vegetable pasta special that came with a somewhat ordinary green salad... the pasta, however, was excellent. The third member of our party had a grilled chicken wrap sandwich with cheese, which she very much enjoyed.

The only real annoyance was we had at least 4 different staff come by every other minute seeing if they could sell us another drink. Conversation was often interrupted... they were nice enough, but after a while it became somewhat of a joke.

Decor is very warm and nice. Prices were average for a NY lunch. The restaurant is convenient to Grand Central and Bryant Park. Overall a good lunch spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taxman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“An appealing stop just off 5th Avenue”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Butterfield 8 provides a pleasant stop, conveniently just around the corner from the magnificent NY Public Library's Main Branch. It's a woodsy, softly-lit bar/resto with comfortable seating --either at the long bar or in the front or back dining areas-- offering a wide selection of beers and a reasonably priced menu. The latter includes well-executed standards that have not disappointed. B8 does not try to compete with marquee eateries so it's well-prepared no-surprises menu won't drain your savings. The staff is courteous and helpful. The front area gets very busy during weekdays after-office hours but the rear dining area remains relatively quiet (unless it's been booked for a party). In our experience the well-mixed drinks, chilled beer and the salads, available in (very large) full and half portions, and burgers, plus the excellent location, are reasons that keep bringing us back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaibab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little find....”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

While on business travel in NYC my friend and I stumbled upon this place. We were both pleasantly surprised with the overall service, quality and atmosphere of Butterfield8. It was a weeknight about 7pm and we were seated immediately. I had the gourmet grilled cheese and my friend had the BU8 steak sandwich. Both were prepared fantastic and tasted wonderful. The place was packed and despite this the service was outstanding. Lots of people at the bar so the next time I am back in NYC I will definitely come back! Good Place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent plac for a business lunch”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

I would advise that you try the tuna entree and along with any salad mix. Their burgers are ok but they do take awhile.
Evenings drinks can be fun too but do not go in a large group without having reserved the large room since most of their tables are crescent shaped that can take up 4 it is not ideal for a larger one

Helpful?
Thank Mergen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyover Red State
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Below Average at Best”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We went there because I loved Elizabeth Taylor in Butterfield 8. Plus, I keep looking for old-timey New York bar-restaurants that nobody knows about which, however, serve superb food. This isn't one of them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfield 8 also viewed

 

Been to Butterfield 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing