We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef Wellington!!! Now I understand why he screams so much!!”
Review of Maze - CLOSED

Maze
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: btw 6th and 7th Avenues
Transit: 7th Avenue stop on B, D, E train, and the 57th Street/7th Avenue stop on N, Q, R & W trains.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beef Wellington!!! Now I understand why he screams so much!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The best of the best.
The scallops were cooked to perfection and was the best scallops we ever had.
The Beef Wellington was cooked perfectly. If Ramsey did not scream to the staff for perfection I guess my meal at Maze would have a different ending. I thank Chef Ramsay staff for making my Son's Birthday magically delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    207
    142
    84
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I suppose it depends on the time of day, but eating at the early bird time of 6pm proved to be the best time for us. Can't fault the staff or service. Our food arrived in a timely manner and was excellent. We had the cauliflower soup and beef Wellington for 2 with brusel sprouts and wild mushrooms. Portion sizes were adequate in fact couldn't eat it all, the only problem, very pricey but with Gordon Ramsey's connection only to be expected. It made a nice treat for my husbands 65 th birthday and will probably never go again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Poor”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Slappy service, poor menu, ordinary food. Expensive. Not to be recomended. Why Gordon Ramsay's name is in this restaurant?

Helpful?
Thank Guilherme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Service was excellent! My husband's food was delicious and mine was just fine. I had cauliflower soup and scallop risotto, both were very good, but they didn't blow me away.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank snailtrip34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Foodie Delights!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Scallops, Beef Wellington, Dark Chocolate Decadence, and wine. Oh, my! My wife and I shared the Diver Scallops to start. They melted in your mouth and were paired with pureed turnips and dried cranberries w/ bacon. We shared the Beef Wellington (for 2). It was amazing. So many great flavors and the beef was so tender. The sommelier helped pair a great Spanish priorat. For dessert, we had the dark chocolate decadence. A great way to end a great meal. Go and enjoy a very special meal!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyasisDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maze also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing