We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is an extra charge for that!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Absolute Bagels

Absolute Bagels
Ranked #24 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Upper West Side
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
330 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“There is an extra charge for that!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

It's really small, it's not the cleanest, the selection is minimum, and the staff not friendly. Okay, it is NYC and maybe you are one of those people that can overlook these things, but can you deal with everything you are asked if you want is at an additional cost? Toasted bagel, chaching, lettuce, chaching, milk in beverage, chaching, glass of tap water... You get my drift! Next time I go to Plan B and head over to the superb bakery on Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SusB962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    95
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Best bagels in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was looking for some authentic bagels in NYC and I finally found the place. I went on Sunday around 10:30 am and waited in line about 20 minutes. I had a poppy bagel with lox spread. Simply excellent. No toasting required. Bagel was fresh out of the oven--crunchy on the outside and chewy in the inside. So yummy. I bought some to take home to DC. I can't wait to go back on my next trip to NYC. Very easy to reach on the train. Remember cash only!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great bagels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Overall, the service was pretty good. The guy who helped us was really nice, but the lady at the cash register was pretty abrupt. We all got plain bagels and tried the chive and garlic, strawberry, and plain cream cheese. They were all really good, and they are so big and filling I wasn't even hungry for lunch. The coffee was also great. I would definitely come here again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcb2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best bagels in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stand in line. Know your order. Indulge in the Nova when you're feeling flush.

Standard order: Sundried tomato cream cheese on an Everything bagel.

Helpful?
Thank jdub89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quintessential NYC bagels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Unimposing storefront leads to bagel heaven. The line can be out the door, but any wait is worth it. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Absolute Bagels also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Absolute Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing