We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
20 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£335
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
£335
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Destinia.com
£313
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Paul c

Fabulous

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2019via mobile
Really nice hotel, staff very friendly rooms very clean the elevators are well maintained and quickly between floors. The only downside from a personal point of view is the $250 security, which I fully understand but I think this should be confirmed beforehand as during my stay I saw a few people who were unaware of this just to save embarrassment
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this review
Responded 14 May 2019
Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review, here on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that your RIU experience did not disappoint and that you had such an amazing experience.

Thank you for staying with us and for enumerating the good and the opportunities to improve which certainly will be shared with our management team.

It was a pleasure to host you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Park Central Times Square view Two Queen room
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Room service
Fitness centre
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Deluxe Double-Double Room at the The Gallivant Times Square
0.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premium King
0.3 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Pool
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Paramount Hotel New York Time Lobby Fireplace
0.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Fitness centre
Arlo SoHo Lobby and public space.
2.7 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in New York City
Reviews (6,702)
Filter reviews
6,703 results
Traveller rating
3,804
1,943
498
226
232
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,804
1,943
498
226
232
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new york times square frosted glass great location every other day breakfast was included restaurant row buffet style family room modern hotel grab and go central location city break stayed here for nights sofa bed mini fridge would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,644 - 1,649 of 6,703 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

I visited with a friend for five nights at the end of March. We were on the 15th floor and even there the Traffic noise could be heard. There seems to be an obsession with horn tooting here !! Despite emailing the hotel, our noughty birthdays were not acknowledged .The Hotel was perfect, spotlessly clean and modern. Rooms quite small but we were not in them for long. The luggage fitted under the beds which was great. Beds comfy. Ideal location and just 5 minutes from Times Square. Breakfast was really good, and food choices were always full , perhaps not at the end of the breakfast service though. It was busy at around 8.30am but we did not have to wait for long. We went in the bar one evening and a G&T was classed as a cocktail and was $18 !! We had wine !! But we found that to be the case everywhere.
There are no Tea and Coffee making facilities , but there is a Pret across the road, so we would buy a hot drink on the way back in the evening , rock and roll !!
They booked us a taxi back to JFK for 5.15am and advised us what time we would need to be picked up. He was on time, the Taxi was clean and the driver felt safe , unlike the Yellow Taxi we caught when we arrived , who drove like a Formula one driver !! We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ChrisandBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Dear Chris and Bryan,

Thank you for your recent visit at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square and excellent review!

Congratulations! What a pleasure to be a part of your anniversary!

We could not be happier with your experience and that you enjoyed our property so much!

Your compliments will be shared with our management team.

Again, thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019

Great location only 1 block from the bright lights of Times Square. Very modern hotel with amazing views from our 20th floor room.
The breakfasts set us up for busy days shopping and sightseeing and as the hotel is in midtown most places were within walking distance.
Wifi worked very well in the room, great for catching up with family and social media.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2019

Dear FarAway44795291056,

Thank you for your five star rating!

It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay! It was a pleasure looking after you, the team and I will look forward to welcoming you back again!

We hope to host you once again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

King regards,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

The hotel is very modern and kept clean, considering the size and foot flow. The breakfast included was surprisingly very good. It kept my children happy, with a good variety of fresh food, which was always replenished and of good quality. The hotel is in great location and within walking distance to many of the sights which is a bonus , but because of the central location, it was very busy around the area, and travelling with 3 children, didn’t always feel safe amongst the busy and sometimes unruly characters and crowds around.
We were in a family room on the top floor which fit the whole family. The room wasn’t overly spacious, but was fine for the 4 days we were there. Travelling with the family, I would have liked more privacy when showering , as the bathroom was separated with a frosted glass wall.
The housekeeping was very good, and our rooms were cleaned regularly. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank wifey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2019

Dear wifey1976,

Thank you so much for your outstanding review!

We are glad to learn that you had a fantastic holiday during your stay at our Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square! We appreciate your kind words! It was our pleasure taking great care of you! We only regret that you did not like our bathroom design which we apologize for!

We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon. Have a lovely day!

King regards,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2019

Very very busy hotel - but efficiently managed so there was no problem. We were on the 14th floor and the lifts were fast and large. Two enormous comfortable beds - spare blanket and pillows in the cupboard, thankfully, as it was not hot. It was sad that there were no tea or coffeemaking facilities - that would have been much appreciated. There was a fridge with water bottles which were replenished every other day. Large bathroom with walk-in shower and more towels than one could ever need.

The breakfasts were quite wonderful - porridge was on the menu plus eggs, bacon and sausages - all the usual plus fruits, pancakes - one could eat as much as one liked and it was a fantastic start to the day. Great coffee. All the time helpful staff hovered to clear tables and refill dishes.
The location was perfect for Times Square - and for the subway network.

Room tip: Higher rooms must have spectacular views.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2019

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you so much for joining us recently at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square and for taking the time to share your RIU experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that all the things that we consider very important to a great stay fulfilled your expectations.

We will be sure to share you review with our entire team letting them know what a great job they did making your stay memorable.

We hope to see you again soon!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with family and could not fault the hotel.
Check in was very fast and cases delivered within minutes.We were on 28th floor which I had emailed hotel in advance and asked for a high floor as you are in a very busy location and it gets rather noisy,even during the night.
Read lots of negative about breakfast as a party of 4 we went every morning about 8.30 and never once waited on a table there was a great selection of food you will not starve.Dinner at night always had a good choice with a different roast each evening.
Hotel is spotless clean and very modern in comparison to lots of hotels in area.The rooms aren't huge but think that's the norm in NYC,we had an iron and a fridge but no coffee making facility in room.Hairdryer is ok for a hotel also.
Location is fantastic and walking distance to most attractions.
I would definitely recommend hotel to anyone.
I've attached some pictures of the view from our room.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews