We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bright2024

Excellent

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Great location less than 5 minutes to the centre
Clean hotel and friendly customer service
Good level security
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£233
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    £233
  • Skyscanner.com
    £211
  • Expedia.com
    £233
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£176
  • travelup.com
    £275
  • Skyscanner.com
    £154
  • Trip.com
    £175
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£167
  • Priceline
    £167
  • StayForLong
    £145
  • Expedia.com
    £167
1.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£264
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £263
  • Skyscanner.com
    £170
  • Vio.com
    £196
2.6 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Paramount Hotel New York Time Lobby Fireplace
£139
  • Official Site
    £139
  • Priceline
    £139
  • Vio.com
    £139
0.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Fitness centre
Exterior
£179
  • Skyscanner.com
    £175
  • Expedia.com
    £179
  • Trip.com
    £179
0.3 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Deluxe Double-Double Room at the The Gallivant Times Square
£161
  • Priceline
    £161
  • Agoda.com
    £139
  • travelup.com
    £171
0.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£232
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    £232
  • Agoda.com
    £168
  • Expedia.com
    £227
0.6 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Restaurant
Room service
£125
  • Priceline
    £134
  • Vio.com
    £134
  • Skyscanner.com
    £124
1.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Park Central Times Square view Two Queen room
£199
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    £199
  • Skyscanner.com
    £173
  • Vio.com
    £196
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Room service
Fitness centre
View more hotels in New York City
Reviews (6,790)
Filter reviews
6,790 results
Traveller rating
3,866
1,961
501
227
235
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,866
1,961
501
227
235
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new york times square frosted glass great location every other day breakfast was included restaurant row buffet style family room modern hotel grab and go central location city break stayed here for nights sofa bed mini fridge would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 6,790 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I cannot recommend this hotel enough , the whole hotel is so clean , beautifully maintained and with excellent, knowledgeable and conscientious staff . My husband uses crutches and the staff went above and beyond to make sure he didn’t suffer. They made sure he didn’t have to stand and queue for breakfast , even bringing his coffee for him . Helping with our bags and generally looking after us . We had a rough two days when we first got to New York and ended up in two awful hotels for the first two nights . This hotel restored my faith in New York . If we did ever decide to come back to New York this would be where we would stay .

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyfortnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay was perfect. Close enough to Times Square, to restaurants and to the theater. Adding on the breakfast was perfect. The variety was great and service was perfect. Would definitely stay again and will suggest the RIU Times Square to friends.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
1  Thank kwalkerward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

New York hotels are devilously expensive and the Riu is no exception. The Riu is a very goof hotel but strap yourself in for several unpleasant surprises!

Let's deal with the positives first! Then, I'll deal with the Negatives and finally the unexpected.
Location is superb!! Only a 4 minute walk to Times Square and fabulous Restaurant Row is in the same street. You can also walk to some other great attractions from the hotel. At the Riu, breakfast is included and it is sumptuous, and you can really load up on it before you commence your day's activity. However, the Breakfast logistics can be a head-ache. ( Will explain later).
The Riu is very clean, modern, has great security and also has a comfortable cocktail and bar area. There is also a very nice Coffee Shop there.The rooms are fairly basic but they are a comfortable size. Good TV and WIFI reception as well. We felt very safe and content there!

And now the negatives!!
Check-in is painfully slow. Many arrivals sit in the lobby looking sullen and bored as they await their room and seats in the lobby are almost fully occupied. We had a very long wait, believe me!!
Your entry to the Breakfast room is a night-mare. The Lifts cannot cope with the breakfast traffic and you can be stranded for quite a long time. Then you wait in a fenced-off line for your admission to breakfast. It takes a long time. However, the breakfast itself is very good. A tip...Load up your water bottles in this room while you are there. A big saving in NYC.
No tea/coffee facilities in your room. This was very disappointing, considering the high tariff at the hotel. Hotels throughout the world provide this for their guests. Maybe, hotel management can explain Why?

Now , to the unexpected, the surprises!!!
Can you believe, there is a resort fee of $35 US per night. They Never explained what it covered. ( I believe New York legislators are trying to amend this law.) Perhaps in future, it could pay for tea/coffee in your room for starters.
Also, be warned, you pay $250 US as a deposit. Again, not sure why. Make sure you clear this expense before leaving.
Having given you a forensic report on the hotel, my final summary is that we liked staying at the Riu and we had a a happy few days there. Yes, even despite the flaws and surprises, we will return.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255100Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Director, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 255100Max,



Thank you for your great review and for spending time with us.

We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations of us.

Please be assured that we will take your feedback into consideration and discuss it with the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Until then, we wish you all the best.


Yours faithfully,
Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Expensive hotel for zero benefits.
My boyfriend made the booking, his flight from where he was on a business trip, was delayed 6 hours so I arrived beforehand and they made me wait in the lobby all this time , without allowing me to shower and rest in the room WE PAD FOR. He called them 3x asking to let me checkin, even put my name as second guest but still nothing. I work everyday from 5am online and i really needed that rest. They also dont offer any quiet space for guests, no other rooms or chill spaces like other hotels, instead everyone off the streets are crowded amongst the guests in the lobby area around the limited seats. Then, the next morning I asked could I use a computer room area or conference room area to make some online calls (without waking up people in my room) and they said I HAVE TO PAY for that room. So back to the crowded loud lobby again........ So what actually does this hotel offer other than just a bed for 200-300 dollars a night? NOTHING.

Room tip: bedroom is very small, no views
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Director, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Julie P,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Nonetheless, we are disheartened to read that your stay was overshadow by the negative aspects and that you were unable to feel entirely relaxed during your time with us.

However, we are truly saddened to read that despite the efforts of our team and the goodwill of our staff, we were unable to fulfil your wishes and you did not find anything positive about our hotel.

Best Regards,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2024

Loved this place. I didn’t know about the tax on arrival but never mind. I loved New York and definitely be back and will stay at this hotel again. The food was beautiful at breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Thank shezzae2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Director, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear shezzae2022,



We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.

Receiving you in our facilities has been a real privilege.

It fills us with joy to know that your experience with us was so rewarding.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to host you again on numerous occasions.


Yours faithfully,
Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews