We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, but need to address maintenance issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #295 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Bogotá
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cool, but need to address maintenance issues”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Outside this is a nerdy an unattractive building, the common areas inside though are fresh and cool. The kitchen concept is great, breakfast was more than I was expecting and the idea of sitting around what resembled a large marble farmhouse table with "friends you haven't met yet" was super.

The rooms bore none of the clean lines of the common areas. They are dated with curiously unfashionable furniture. I don't mind a bit of wear and tear in the carpets, I don't expect a new carpet every time I visit a hotel, but I do expect the heating to work in NYC in February. The rooms have notices on the heaters advising that the room temperature is controlled from the wall thermostats, but they are not. The wall thermostats do nothing and the heating is controlled by the panel on the apparent Soviet era gas fired room-warming engines below the window.

I called down to front desk when I arrived to tell them I could not get the heating to work. An engineer came and my room slowly rose through the Farenheits. Come midnight though it had failed again and the room had dropped to 50ºF. I called back to the front desk, was offered another engineer but pushed for a room change.

There are enough comments in this property's Trip Advisor page about the heating, so why doesn't the hotel fix it? I am sure the rooms will get an overhaul in due course but surely in a city where the temperatures we way below freezing recently, this is a priority.

Onwards and upwards, the hotel location was less than obvious but great, an easy walk down to the Financial District and some very cute bars in the area on Broome Street. Nights were quiet and I would definitely stay here again, just maybe in a more temperature season, that or push for a room with working heating when I check in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear JohnnyBogota,

Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay at our hotel. I totally agree with you, the heating system issue in your room should of been prevented to begin with. Our apologies that we failed you in that area. Please be assured that your feedback will not go unnoticed as we aim to prosper out of any issues. I would indeed wish to host your stay again and make it a lot less troublesome as I would love great feedback from you from your next stay. Please inform me the next time your in town as I will personally ensure I turn things around for you. Thank you for taking time out in sharing your experience, hoping to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    693
    241
    87
    51
See reviews for
417
561
106
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Really nice hotel for a great price - nice rooms, helpful staff, free internet, free breakfast, great location, and front desk cookies! Would definitely stay here again - it is miles above the other NYC hotels I have seen at this price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank ariatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear ariatc,

We truly value your feedback as it motivates our team more and more to hear such great things from our satisfied guests. We are happy to know you found quality and value in your stay and hope to be seeing you continually at our property. Thank you for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel is in a good location. However I found it very tiny overall, with the rooms being much smaller than any hampton hotel I've ever stayed at (and I've stayed in at least 10 different hampton hotels). The bed which is nice unfortunately takes up all the space in the room :( Felt a bit claustrophobic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear metraa,

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are glad to hear back from you and are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Our apologies that you found the room you were in not as spacious as previous Hampton's. As NYC grows and grows, space is at a premium but I can assure you I have other options to show you on your next return. We are glad to know you found the Hampton Inn bed comfortable, surely the same brand across the board. Hopefully we can make things better for you the next time around! Thank you for your feedback

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff was very friendly and our room was very nicely setup. We opted to go for the room with a view and on a higher up floor. We were glad we did as our room also ended up being larger than the basic room. The location was perfect for getting to several different area. We were within walking distance of the subway and also to our dinner reservations. I would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling in this area.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and get the room on a higher up floor with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les91178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear les91178,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Soho during your recent weekend stay. Meeting expectations and exceeding them is our motto and we hope continue to do that with the guests you'd recommend as well. We are glad to hear your stay went well all around. Come again soon!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Large group staying at hotel and staff consistently met and exceeded expectation. Typical Hampton bfast. The block isn't beautiful but great location as jumping off point. Short walk to subway. They have a bar too, rare for Hampton Inn! Would go back in seconds.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaweezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear annaweezie,

I recall hosting the stay of your group a few days back and I am delighted to hear back from you. I noticed how each and everyone of you seemed to be having a pleasant time all around and it certainly made our team proud. Tell the birthday boy our team says hello and that we appreciate you all coming to town. Hopefully we get to host the stay of your group again the next time around.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This Hampton Inn was convenient to all the places I needed to be and was consistent with the good value provided by Hampton Inn. The breakfast could use some improvement. The room was clean and comfortable and of course, had room to work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Alex R,

Thank you sharing your review about our hotel. Value for your stay is certainly important when determining how great a hotel can deliver and I am glad we were able to do so with you. With that said, please be aware that our guest feedback is of the utmost importance to our improvement in the services and amenities we provide and that your opinion will not go unnoticed. Thank you for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

And this location is spectacular. Walking distance to everything and the usual stellar Hampton staff. They are serious about customer service. Comfy beds and linens, bathtub was a nice surprise, included breakfast is so plentiful, free wifi is fast and dependable. And the coffee/tea available around the clock is so comforting, after a long day out in a NY winter. Staff has great local restaurant suggestions of all kinds. Just recommended it to a friend coming to NY with her kids for the first time, too. Oh, and it's completely reasonably priced.
Yes, it's in a busy area and yes, it can be noisy. It's NYC, people. That's why we come here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear pinkymay,

Thank you for the phenomenal review about your recent stay at our hotel. We understand how important hotel amenities are as they can make your stay much enjoyable and I am glad you were able to enjoy those added bonuses. All in all looks like the best value for your stay and I welcome you back anytime!

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#181 of 466 in New York City
1,412 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#185 of 466 in New York City
557 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#321 of 466 in New York City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 466 in New York City
880 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#319 of 466 in New York City
1,927 reviews
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#64 of 466 in New York City
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing