We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing was the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only good thing was the location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My teenager daughter and I spent four nights for vacation. The only positive thing about the hotel was the location. Wifi was extremely slow, the room was noisy (loud and dusty AC), and the room not as clean as the typical Hampton Inn standard. Also, when I checked in, the rate for two of the nights were $100 per night more than when I reserved the room. A front desk personnel did fix the difference, but had I not noticed it I would have been charged $200 more. Parking was $30 per day, self-parking, few blocks from the property - I suppose that is a fair price for a hotel in Manhattan. I would not go back to this hitel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Spsuz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    700
    243
    89
    51
See reviews for
422
564
107
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 days on business because of the location, upon arriving I noticed the floor (already pretty small floorspace) was soaking wet. The AC had been leaking before I arrived and the carpet covering half of the room was completely soaked and getting moldy. I wasn't able to move until the last night of my stay, the staff was very accommodating once they did change my room but the first couple of nights were pretty bad.

Room Tip: Wifi is painfully slow and my iron was broken
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jon Q:

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn Manhattan SoHo. I would like to apologize for your first two nights during stay. The issue with the air conditioner has been resolved and we are in the process of upgrading our bandwith. Thank you for your comments and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to service you in the future.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a great trip! The Front Office Supervisor (don't remember his name, sorry!!) was AMAZING. No exaggeration! We arrived well before check-in because we wanted to explore the city as much as we could. He helped us check our bags so we didn't have to carry them all around the City. Then, we were able to check-in around 2:00 pm. Great efficiency by the staff. The room was great. The bathroom was BEAUTIFUL (room 908). The roof top terrace is very nice. Then at check-out, we did not fly out until 7:00 pm. The FOS allowed us to check our bags again so we could do some more exploring. Over all a great trip for my husband and I.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sabrina G:

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Manhattan SoHo. I am gald to see that you had a pleasant experience at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback for others to see what a wonderful hotel we are. We hope to service you in the future. Thank you again!

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Dora, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Rooms are small but most rooms are these days. Looked to me like the sitting chair had not been vacuumed in a while - other than that the room was clean. Breakfast, part of the deal here is OK - nothing special - fruit, eggs and good breads etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Bill S:

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spent the night in the city with our family. The room was small but efficient. Everything clean. Was concerned about it being so close to Holland Tunnel, but was a non factor. Good location to get around Soho and the Village, and easy to the subways. Fantastic complimentary breakfast sealed the deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Nick P,

Thank you so much for the feedback about your recent stay with us. As busy as a city NYC can be I can understand why traffic may always be a concern but we are happy to know that was definitely not the case for you. Glad you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast with hot entrees as a complimentary plus for all of our guests and we hope that all the positives you experienced bring you back the next time around.


Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My fiancé and I felt that the Hampton Inn was a great place to stay and it was among the lowest prices we could find in the Manhattan-SoHo area. The room was very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Laura B,

Thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We are glad to have been the hotel choice while you were in NYC and that you found value in us. We hope you and your fiance remember us the next time your in town as we would love to host your stay again.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's location. The rooms are very small which is normal for NYC, I guess. I like that you can get tea or coffee for free downstairs anytime. What I did not like is that the shower doesn't work well. If you want hot water, you will just get a drip. In time, it's possible to wash the shampoo out of your hair and eyes but by that time, you will already be mad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_in_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear cat_in_zurich ,

Thank you for being a current guest of ours. We are glad you were happy with our hotels location as this is just as important as accommodation. I am truly sorry about your experience with hot water and am hopeful that during your stay we had the chance to address the issue as our staff is dedicated in providing you service and assistance 24/7. We hope we have the chance to host your stay again in the future and thank you for being our guest.


Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#168 of 467 in New York City
1,422 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#316 of 467 in New York City
938 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#196 of 467 in New York City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#318 of 467 in New York City
1,941 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#82 of 467 in New York City
917 reviews
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#68 of 467 in New York City
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing