We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #308 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This hotel was ideal for our group ot two Moms and three teenage girls. The welcome was very friendly and the desk clerk was very helpful. The rooms are not large but haveenough space to move about, clean and pleasant. We were not bothered by any noise during our stay despite being opposite the lift shaft and at the front of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with something for everyone and unusually there was plenty of eating space which was also pleasant and comfortable (not a few table s stuck in a corner, like many hotels offer.) The location is excellent for Soho and we liked being so close to the entrance to the Holland Tunnel. Once we left the hotel we were on our way home with no messing about finding the tunnel. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kensingtonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2011

Dear Kensingtonmom,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. Its comments like yours that really motivates the team to strive for excellence. I will share your comments with my team and they will be happy to learn that they have made another guest satisfied. Thank you again for your feedback and we do look forward in servicing you again in the future.

Best regards,
Art Cheung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

I loved this hotel. Incredible value given the location. Everyone I dealt with was *really* friendly- went out of their wady to help and were just super friendly in general. The room and the bathroom was really big for NYC. The breakfast was bad and virtually ice cold - stay with the bagels etc. And they do need to get wireless in the rooms- they do have a hard wire. But given the value rooms and location, it's someplace I will absolutely go back for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlbaugher, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Dear Denheels,

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I'm sorry though to hear that it wasn't hot enough. I wish I would have known while you were here so I could see what the problem was. All hot food is kept in heated chaffers. I will definately chaeck that out right away. Also, the good news is, we are in the process of getting wireless internet throughout the hotel. It shouldn't be too long now. It's comments like yours that we see and the owner sees to allow us to make these improvements.

Thank you for your business and thank you for the trip advisor review.

Best Wishes for a great new year!
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We have been to New York many times before and have always stayed in the Times Square/Central Park area, this time we wanted to have more of a vacation and not only shopping/sightseeing. I found this hotel on Tripadvisor when I was looking for a hotel in Soho and I must say that the good reviews were all true.
There are so many good things I can say about this hotel, nice breakfast, nice clean rooms and bathrooms, free internet, nice view, friendly staff and so on. We will definitely book this hotel the next time we are going. This hotel truly had it all!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifelur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlbaugher, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Dear Fifleur,

Thanks for taking the time to write about the review while also confirming others reviews on here. It really means alot to me and my staff. With the midtown area becoming more of an attraction we feel we represent more "real" new york city then those areas in the tourist destinations. While Soho is a meca for high-end shopping, this area of the city still has realistic charm of old New York. Many side streets even have brick streets of cobble stone still.

Thanks for your business and please have a great 2011!

Best Regards,
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We had a nice one-night stay at Hampton Inn. Location (SoHo) is convenient for sightseeing, although the closest subway station only serves local (1) trains, that might be obvious for New Yorkers, but for 1st time visitors it's a bit confusing.

The hotel itself is really nice, housed in a relatively new tower building. Rooms are quite small, but that's NY standard. Our room was on the 14th floor, comfortable with a nice bathroom, free wireless and cabled internet, big plasma TV. The bed comfortable, the only disturbing factor at night was the noise of the heating/AC, but you may turn it off if the outside temperature is comfortable.

Our breakfast was included, nice choice of bagels, eggs, bread, ham, juice and coffee/tea. Btw. coffee and tea are available round the clock.

The hotel has a small bar at the entrance with a discount for hotel guests.

Staff is very helpful, smiling all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaAQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlbaugher, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Hi VivaAQP,

Just a note to thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review on our hotel. As I've said before in many other guest responses, it really energizes my staff when they read these postings and makes them proud of where they work. I will admit you are correct about the subway system being confusing at times. To be honest, it confuses us that live here alot of the times.

Again, thanks for your review and thank you for your business. We really do appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We just got back from 3 night stay at this hampton inn. The hotel is reasonably new, and the rooms and public areas are still in good condition. We stayed in a two double bed room and although it wasn't huge, it was a good size by New York standards, The bathroom was also good - clean and everything in good working order.

Although there isn't wifi, there is wired ethernet, but as other reviewers have pointed out, then tab on the end of the ethernet cable was missing, so it would keep popping out, but this is a pretty minor detail. As other reviewers have mentioned you do get some traffic noise. We were on the 7th floor and it was fine for us, you heard some noise but nothing that kept us awake. On our booking we did as for as high a room as possible.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were very well organised about holding our bags after checkout, and getting the bags back & transportation etc was very efficient and easy.

The rate includes breakfast, but to be honest this is where you see what compromises have been made to acheive the rate. There is nothing wrong with it - you get cereals, toast, eggs, bacon, waffles etc, but the quality of the ingredients are a little cheap.

The location of the hotel is excellent it is very close to the shopping on Spring and Prince, and not a long walk to Chinatown. Greenwich village etc are all a short cab ride away. The hotel is also very close to a number of subway lines, so getting uptown is very easy. We normally stay in midtown locations, but this worked really well.

Overall I would say for a reasonable priced hotel in New York it's pretty much as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlbaugher, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Dear Harryb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Soho. We really do appreciate the comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Just to let you know we are in the process of getting wireless internet thoughout the hotel soon and as with wired, it will be secure and complimentary to all of our guests. As for the breakfast, we try to serve a variety of goods each morning. We follow the Hampton standards and service what we are required to serve. The really great news here is that we are now using all bio-degradable plates, bowls and flatware at the hotel. Both in the rooms and in the breakfast area. We feel allot better about being eco-friendly and getting rid of the styrofoam and plastic.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you'll come back and visit with us again soon!

Best Regards
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights from 28 Dec '10 - 1 Jan '11. We're from Long Island and wanted to take a mini-vacation in the city for holiday break/New Year's eve. I love the neighborhood-y feel of downtown Manhattan (and abhor the overcrowdedness of midtown) so I was looking for a well-located hotel with good access to subways, that would not break the bank. The Hampton Inn fit the bill - it's right at the junction of SoHo and TriBeCa and was a very quick walk to the 1, 2, and 3 (red) lines, and the A, C, and E (blue) lines. Though the night of New Year's eve was very expensive, that's to be expected. And the other nights were very reasonable for a Manhattan hotel. The hotel itself was very nice. The lobby is small but has a little bar and access to computers and printers. The room was bigger than I was expecting for the price, and was nicely appointed - same for the bathroom. The room had FREE wired internet (wireless available in the lobby). Most hotels use the internet connection as a way to make a few extra bucks, so the Hampton Inn having a free connection was great. Another free amenity was hot breakfast from 6:00 to 10:00 every morning. They had little omelets, home fries, a do-it-yourself waffle maker, fruit, breads, an assortment of cereals, etc. And 24 hour complimentary coffee and juice. Breakfast time was a zoo, and one morning we had to bring food back to the room for lack of a place to sit, but the staff kept it moving as well as they could, and again, it was free, which like the internet is usually an area hotels will try to make a buck (or save a buck by not offering it at all). We took the train in so didn't need parking, but I think they had a deal with a local garage to park at a discounted rate. For NJ folks it's also a few hundred feet from the entrance to the Holland Tunnel, so easy to get in and easy to escape on your way out. The hotel itself is on a quiet block, but as mentioned, it's at the junction of SoHo and TriBeCa so you would be hard pressed not to find plenty to do - shopping, eating, drinking, music, etc. are all within walking distance. This hotel is in a great spot and is well looked after by the staff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomS_Coram_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlbaugher, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Dear Tom S.

What a fantastic review of our hotel Tom, thank you so much for making our Hampton Inn in Soho your vacation spot away from Long Island. Reviews such as yours are so important to us and a great morale booster for the staff. I'm going to share this one with the staff today.

Here's wishing you are yours the happiest of a New Year and please, if we can ever be of service to you again in the future, we'd love to have you back.

Best Regards
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

I booked this hotel because of the great price and finding two double beds. Because I paid in advance, I got the room for $150 a night. We got there about 10:30 am and were allowed to go on and check in if we were willing to take a lower floor. We did and it was fine. We could occasionally hear a few sounds from outside, but not at night or in the morning and there were no sounds from the hall. Breakfast was included in the fee and it was a good breakfast for hotel food. I ate at 9:30 and they had plenty of food and lots of seating. There were omelets (ok, but free), potatoes and bacon (surprising good), lots of cold choices, and surprisingly good coffee. The location was great. We were one block from two different subway lines. The room was a typical New York room smaller, but modern looking and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was good. The staff was very helpful with eating suggestions and getting us a car for the airport. We were able to leave our luggage for free on our last day and could have left it when we got there if we wanted to wait for another room on a higher floor. This hotel is two years old and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firsttimetravelermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlbaugher, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2010

Dear First Time Traveler Mom,

What a great review of our hotel. Many thanks to you for taking the time out to review us on tripadvisor.com. We always appreciate the comments good or bad. I will share your comments with my staff at our weekly meetings.

Thanks again and have a fantastic New Year!

Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#170 of 473 in New York City
1,518 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#147 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#303 of 473 in New York City
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#327 of 473 in New York City
977 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £91 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing