We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toyama Sushi

Toyama Sushi
Ranked #5,000 of 13,481 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
251 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely sushi &sashimi platter at Toyama. It was very tasty and fresh. Service was quick and efficient. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I found this place just by walking around. The food was really good. It was completely empty when I went which was surprising since the food was good. It looks like most people in the area just order delivery from the place. They have great happy hour specials and an amazing snow crab roll. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOPHER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
220 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Decent standard sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We've been here a couple times now. The service was excellent both times. The food is standard big city sushi which is very acceptable in most cases. The bento box for lunch or dinner is a surprisingly good value and lots of food. Calling this terrible, or the best sushi place ever, would not be accurate. I would happily return if I was in the area, but I would not make a special trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GH_ShrtOrDrCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
272 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Quality went down.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We usually get takeouts and occasionally east at the restaurant. Restaurant itself is quite spacious and the times we went, was relatively quiet. Service was also very good. Food, however definitely went down a bit : we had takeouts from Toyama at least once a month in the last year, portions used to be much larger, yes they still give you salad, soup and free tempura for your dinner bento, but the salad was not as fresh and crisp as it used to be. I always order sashimi dinner and the slices are now much thinner...for twice in the last 2 months, I had slight diarrhea afterwards.....I might have to switch to cooked food in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MK330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Highly recommend. Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Been here twice in the last week. Found by accident trying to go somewhere else.
So glad we went in. The service was very good and the food was Fantasic. Best sushi and bento box i have had in ages. Very generous portions and great value for money.
I highly recommend going.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toyama Sushi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Toyama Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing