We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great margaritas and tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Frida

Cafe Frida
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Frida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,098 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Upper West Side
Transit: Subway 1 to 79 st Subway 2, 3 to 72 st Subway C to 81st Bus M7
Description: The authenticity in our Mexican Regional Cuisine is a ritual of flavors, aromas, colors and textures dedicated to your soul. Our knowledge and passion for the tequila culture has been awarded by the Tequila Regulatory Council of Mexico since 2006, making us one of the few restaurants in the world of having such honor. Come and enjoy the warmth of Mexico!
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great margaritas and tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I loved the margarita special the night we were there - it was one with pineapple and chipotle peppers. It was delicious. The tacos were also wonderful, if a bit pricey. The place was pretty crowded for 9PM on a Tuesday, so the service was a little slow.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    131
    67
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Upper West Side Mexican Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The only thing not great about Cafe Frida is the lack of sidewalk seating. Otherwise it was just right for my tastes. Some other reviewers have mentioned some changes in the menu but I noticed none of that. What I did notice was a really friendly staff, great Margarittas, tasty Tampiquena and a fine assortment of accompanying dishes. Try the guacamole. You'll love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

In any other place than across the street from the Nat History Museum in NYC this would be a good adventure. During the world cup the staff seemed to more interested in the game than watch the customers and the food was not as child-friendly as expected. Although the food was mostly good it did not excite us, especially for NYC. but the drinks were good (for adults). The $$ cost was high for a family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Short walk out the back of Natural History Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly and quick service was the norm for us as the place was buzzing with the World Cup on every TV. Go for the guacamole as it was probably the best I have every had bursting with fresh lime taste and chunks of avocado! This side dish is freshly made when ordered with spice level as you choose from mild to hot. Served with chips on the side. The food is of average taste for Mexican food as far as I have experienced. I ordered fish tacos and they were good but not the best I have had. I highly recommend the guacamole and maybe I will try something different next time I go.

Helpful?
Thank HPCBarnabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great Mexican restaurant, gourmet and authentic, great prices and excellent service, good location, a mandatory stop for a Mexican food in NYC

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Frida also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Frida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing