We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Italian Restaurant!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Destino - CLOSED

Destino
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: Lexington and 53rd Street Station: E or 6 Train
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best Italian Restaurant!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We went to Destino last Friday. It was three of us. We didn't have reservation but hostess been really nice and gave us a table in 5 minutes. We enjoyed food and atmosphere. I order special black lobster ravioli. It was Delicious!!!!! Service was also outstanding. Highly recommend you to visit Destino.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Liked it alot!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant overall. Good food and good service and good environment. Typical NYC inflated prices for some things but not terrible. Thanks for a nice dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emstraveler349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Rude, unprofessional, do not go to Destino”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Well, I don't think I have ever written any really bad reviews and posted them on tripadvisor until now. I eat out 200+ times a year. This was the worst experience I have had at any restaurant in at least a decade.

Key staff members were RUDE beyond belief. I think the desert came from a plastic wrapped offering at a convenience store.

Items not marked as "deep fried" were deep fried.

...Not sure what else to say.

The place was terrible.

My experience there was AWFUL.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank holzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
Level Contributor
336 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Visiting the restaurant again I find it very consistent in the quality of food, presentation and service. The antipasto Tuscano was excellent once more. My wife had a frutti di mare, however, and was disapointed. The only disaponiting plate since we have been visiting Destino. It was all fish with one shrimp and a few mussels. Other than that, everything very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandeSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Left a Bit to be Desired”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Destino left a lot to be desired. My friend and I visited on a recent trip to Midtown. We had high hopes for this restaurant, but ultimately left with a mutual feeling of 'meh'.

We had three courses each: Appetizers were seafood salad (just okay) and Caesar salad (dressing was very oily and slimy). Main courses were chicken francese and fruitti di mare (seafood scampi). Neither of us were very impressed - both meals looked like something we could have easily made at home. Dessert was the Italian cheesecake, and we both have had better.

I can honestly say I've eaten at better Italian restaurants in dinky ol' Delaware, and that's pretty sad considering we were in NYC. I can say, though, that the restaurant decor was lovely and the server was very sweet.

Overall, I wouldn't necessarily recommend Destino.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colormecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Destino also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing