We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Hotel is not as shown on website pictures, rooms are dirty, aircon sometimes doesnt work. I asked my luggage to be left in their secure area after check out. Upon collecting it, I noticed the padlocks were tampered with. I reported this to the receptionist, he was rude & did not listen saying it doesnt happen to their hotel, yeah right! I showed him my tampered suitcase, but he became even worst!. The lady at the tour desk is often not there & doesnt seem to know New York! Hotel lobby & every floor lobby smells as there is no centralised aircon. Breakfast is free but staff need to check for hygiene as folks use their hands to pick the muffins. Wifi is slow and not free. Bathroom not clean. Stay away as it'll ruin your NY experience.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    1,071
    419
    116
    83
See reviews for
497
748
101
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here from 4 March - 10 March 2011. The location of this hotel is really what you are paying for.

Our room was basic but clean. Not fancy, but realistically we just slept there at night. Some of the reviews we read complained that the room was too small. But we found that it was fine - especially because we kept all our suitcases in the large wardrobe so it helped keep the room feeling more spacious. The bedding was very comfortable.

Our only complaint about the room was the shower. It could be a little temperamental and it took a while for the hot water to start. Sometimes the water temperature would suddenly become very hot or very cold. The tap handles were a little stiff, but we found that if we really turned them hard, we could adjust the temperature back to a good level.

The only downside about this hotel was the front desk staff. They were not friendly at all and were actually quiet rude - except for the young guy who worked the late night shifts. He was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself is very ornate inside and really feels like a turn of the century building. Just lovely. Also there were free muffins and coffee in the morning which was great. The hotel has a coin operated laundry which is very helpful. Whilst it doesn't have a restaurant, it is directly across the road from Ayza wine and chocolate bar. It's a great little place, very popular. We recommend the white truffle pizza! Yum!!

All in all, we would stay here again. Its a great price, for a fantastic location. Aside from the largely rude staff, its really a nice little place - as long as you aren't expecting the Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

I stayed at the Wolcott for a few nights while travelling home from Europe to Australia. I hadn't been to America before, and while I really enjoyed my time in New York, this hotel lived up to every bad stereotype of the city.

The only staff who were pleasant or helpful were the cleaners. The other staff seemed to assume that guests should be familiar with the hotel's procedures, and that international guests (such as myself) should be aware of how American hotels operate.

Staff were very unhelpful, even with simple enquiries. When I visited the front desk to ask about wifi, I was told that it was a different company, and instructions were in my room. When I asked the staff to direct me to a cafe for breakfast, I was told "there's lots of places around".

Most importantly, though, the staff didn't explain that the full cost of the stay plus $75 for 'incidentals' would be charged to my card when I checked in. The 'incidentals' cost was refunded 3 days after I checked out, by which time I was back in Australia. When I noticed these charges had been made, I went down to the desk just to check if this was normal procedure and that I wouldn't be charged twice. The woman at the desk treated me like I was stupid, saying that "all hotels did that". I've stayed in at least a hundred hotels around Europe, Asia and Australia, and I've never had a hotel do that. I understand if it's common practice in America, but there was no need for her to berate me in front of other customers.

The room was alright, although the shower ran hot and cold. The only problem was that my window adjoined the roof of the next building, which made me feel a bit unsafe at night.

Don't bother with the 'breakfast' at the Wolcott. The muffins are tiny, and the tea is tasteless. New York has great food - go out and find it, even if you don't get any help from the hotel staff in doing so.

The location is good, but I found the Wolcott so unpleasant that it really detracted from the overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westgirl_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

For a new york hotel on a reasonable(for New York) budget it is a great hotel, friendly & helpful reception, smallish rooms but adequate. very good maid service, clean towels every day. Didnt take advantage of the coffee and muffins provided in a morning as it was a bit too busy for me. very centrally situated on west 31st a couple of blocks from subways, also a couple of blocks from penn station. You can also book your return to jfk or newark from here $22 dollars each to jfk. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie56_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

A charming quiet hotel with friendly chatty staff. Not on a main street but easy to find and close to subways. Lovely decor and feels classy whilst not expensive. Loved the muffins for breakfast. Not great on facilities (no bar, restaurant etc) but not needed plenty close by.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owensboro kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights the weekend before Thanksgiving. 3 of us shared a 2 room suite (single bed in 1 room + queen bed in 2nd room ) with a single bath.

It's not the Ritz!, but our room and bath were clean/ the towels were soft and fluffy and the breakfast of muffins/coffee/tea was decent. It's in a great location near Empire State and Macys, and the price of the 2 room suite can't be beat.

Our only problem was heat ... we were on 10th floor and had too much heat in our suite, so we turned on A/C in order to sleep comfortably.
Check-in and out was quick and easy ... no problems with parking and /or validating the parking ticket.

I'm giving it 3 star rating because it fits my description of "shabby/sheik" ... good value older hotel with character.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justsaygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

This hotel offers excellent value if you are looking for a good deal for a basic but clean hotel. We considered spending a lot more for a more upmarket hotel but decided for a city break it just wasn't worth it - we were hardly in the hotel room. This hotel is in an excellent location which made the rate even better value. The room was clean and spacious and very quiet. We did not experience any problems with the water in the shower as some other people had mentioned. The radiator does make a really strange spraying noise though! I had read that before we came and wondered how bad it would be. It turned out though that we were absolutely shattered every night and so just fell straight asleep so it didn't really cause a problem for us.

The coffee and muffins in the lobby were an appreciated extra. Great to start the day and then you can look for somewhere to grab something else to eat if it's not enough to get you going.

In the room there is a safe. Hairdryer also in bathroom. Great closet! If you check in before your room is ready or have bags to leave after check out there is a locker room where you can put your cases. The lockers are huge so fit our big cases in them. But if you need to use a few, no probelm they are only about a quarter or something like that per locker.

We would stay in this hotel if we go back to NY. The money you save staying here goes a long way to enjoying other things the city has to offer. After all why spend all your money on the best hotel when you then have nothing left over to enjoy your holiday?!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skygirl340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Property: Wolcott Hotel
Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing