We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Wolcott is such a great location, steps fom 5th avenue.

Rooms are very clean, comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    1,072
    419
    116
    83
See reviews for
498
748
101
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Really like the Wolcott. Great location and excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the muffins are a nice touch in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We were recommended by a friend for staying at the Wolcott hotel during our visit in New York. And it is a very good recommendation.
Concerning us it is a perfect location with a very good value to stay when you visit New York.
Correct handling and and a very helpful and friendly staff. Room is cleaned every day; The hotel is just 5 minutes walking from the Empire State building, 15 minutes from Time Square. Nearby a underground station.
Next visit to New York we will stay again in the Hotel.

Robert

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tn.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The hotel was elegant, beautiful & quiet. The room was comfortable & roomy. The two twin beds & bathroom were equipped with our every need. The decor of this old, historic hotel is outstanding . We wished the exterior of the building could be restored to look as good as the interior. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: try to get a room on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twigger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Upon arriving at the hotel we were assigned a corner unit which in our estimation was quite spacious. We were to be at the hotel a total of 8 nights. The concierge on duty on the two Thursdays obviously was not enamoured of her job as she was rude and not the least bit helpful. Having said that all others during the stay were wonderful. The hotel was clean, centrally located and would recommend for a short stay. During the hurricane we asked about emergency preparedness and were told just stay in. Where there flashlights or back up generator questions were met with blank stares. There were hoards of people loitering in the lobby for 3 days during the city shut down and after exploring on our own found some local places that had remained opened for food etc. It might have been helpful if staff had posted locations to assist their guests. Housekeeping staff stayed during hurricane which was an added bonus....no disruption of service.

Room Tip: ask for corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I was absolutely thrilled to find the Wolcott, a reasonably-priced downtown hotel. I used to live in New York and like to visit often, so I have long been looking for a comfortable, well-located, not-exorbitant hotel which I could use as a regular and reliable home base when I am visiting. I have found what I'm looking for. I love the lobby, the sizable rooms, and the international atmosphere. My only relatively minor complaint is that the rooms could be better lit. Yes, the plumbing is a bit ornery, but that's not unusual in NYC. I will definitely stay at the Wolcott in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cai8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I have travelled to New York many times and tried various hotels, none as friendly or welcoming as this, walk in to wonderful high guilt ceilings, in easy access to all sites of interest, broadway, fifth avenue and the empire state. Very comfortable rooms, slept very well and best of all no noise to bother us sleeping!! Coffee and muffin in a morning was just perfect, no time constraints for getting up and the most helpful reception without the bell boy cenario to keep paying for, much more my british way of being, if I've shopped and carried my goods all day why pay for someone else to carry it for 5 minutes? Clean, comfortable and welcoming, easy access to Penn station to get around and from the airport. Just perfect, will be there again in 3 weeks time.

Room Tip: I have a two single beds in a room for myself and my mum to stay, two comfortable beds everytime, ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Property: Wolcott Hotel
Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing