We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Old World Charm”
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #237 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have a daughter who lives in NYC and am always looking for an affordable hotel near her for a good price. This time I visited with two of my friends and The Wolcott was not only convenient to what we wanted to do and reasonably priced, it had rooms with 3 twin beds. This sold us on the hotel from the beginning, but it does offer a lot more. First of all, the building is beautiful, very Old World and well-maintained. The room we had (505) was HUGE, especially for NYC. It is a corner room with a lot of natural lighting. Not only was there a large room with three beds, there was also a sitting room. The bathroom was small, but had a window that opened and the shower was hot and strong. Plenty of pillows on the beds, and the room was immaculate. A bonus was the coffee and large muffins for breakfast. It is very well-located near the subway and cabs came down the street regularly. The only negative was the concierge, but after one attempt with her, we chose to ignore her negativity. Front desk and housekeeping were great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Wolcott is definitely an old hotel with a lot of charm. The staff was OK in helpfulness, but I didn't feel they were extending themselves as much as they could or should. One Concierge was no help and didn't seem to want to help. Room was OK and bed OK. In other words, nothing too wonderful, but adequate. Location is good. Walkable distance to Broadway shows. Hotel was one of the lower priced hotels, so it was worth the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here over the christmas new year period it was a great location and most of the staff were friendly. One Concierge however just couldn't be bothered to help anyone. The beds were comfortable and our room suited our needs - there were three of us so we got a triple room so that our son could sleep in the alcove area and we would all get a bit of privacy. It needs a bit of updating and unless you can turn off the heats it is way too hot but overall I was very happy and would stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Longwaybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Don't ever book this hotel if you prefer a modern, fashion style. However, this hotel with more than 100 year pride will take you back to the good old days. Location is good, no problem to visit the Midtown New York all the way to central park by foot if you enjoy walking.
Many restaurants, one supermarket and Korean Town are nearby.
Our room had comfortable size with a double bed. Furniture was bit aged but bathroom was clean.
The housekeepers were friendly and did good job.
Front desk staff maintained proper courtesy but not very warm or smily to make you feel like welcoming. But they were still helpful and willing to assist your needs.
From 6 to 10.30 am, they will offer complimentary coffee/ tea and delicious muffin.
During my stay, I enjoyed very much to grab a book, found a seat , admired the ceiling and had a cup of tea in the lobby.
The issue we had was the wifi service was bit pricy. But it's New York, so you can easily find free wifi in the Apple stores, fast food restaurants, even well known cosmetic store offered free wifi, so a husband could be delighted waiting for his wife on beauty shopping!!

The only problem about this hotel is the street noise. Bear in mind this is an old building, so the windows were old, not double glasses, so if you are very sensitive with sounds, don't expect a good view. Ask a room facing the back of the hotel, that will reduce much noise but not at all, because of the location is near a fire station. In one way, you are very safe. But the sound from the street was possible.
Nevertheless, We had good night sleep during our stay. Don't have big problem with the minor sound as our room was facing the back.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor will reduce much of the street noise if you care much of quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed at HW for one night and it was more than fine. Small room but clean and comfortable. Great location near madison square garden and staff was friendly. The fitness room was lacking but usuable. Coffee and muffins in morning was a nice touch. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Upstatenyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

When you walk into the lobby you are transformed to another era in history. It is so beautiful. The crystal chandeliers and gold wainscoting along with the striking colors just takes your breath away. The staff was wonderful to us. Especially helpful, friendly and courteous was "Jeto" of the desk staff. He helped us locate the places we wanted to get to with great patience. It was a wonderful stay. As two older (not elderly) women, we felt protected and cared for. Thanks to all the staff and the owner of the hotel who has the vision to return this historic site to its original glory.

Room Tip: We had a room with twin beds. Not many hotels offer that option. It seemed to be located in an adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dolores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Have stayed at the Wolcott the last 3 times I came to New York, clean, rooms good size, heating can be noisy at times ,but thats because its an old hotel.............. great location right beside 5th avenue /broadway/empire state building and much more............staying there again in October 2103............

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#338 of 471 in New York City
2,841 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 471 in New York City
1,684 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#173 of 471 in New York City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#133 of 471 in New York City
1,673 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#328 of 471 in New York City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing