We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“110th Anniversary pricing made this a good deal.”
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #237 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We selected this hotel in light of their $110/night anniversary special. We found the desk clerk to be somewhat off putting: I said "Happy Anniversary" and he said, "That was last month". Why not just say "Thank You"? We overheard someone complaining about the cost of the WiFi and the same clerk said "That's why we had free breakfast". What a jerk. BTW - breakfast is nothing the write home about - weak coffee and tasteless, cold muffins.
The room was nice, small as rooms in older hotels tend to be but adequate. The bed in room 202 was very, very comfortable and really, isn't that what a hotel's all about?
The Wolcott's is a little off the beaten track but we love to walk so that wasn't a problem.
Would I stay here again? Probably, if the price was right as it was on this visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms - their small but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location (only a few blocks from Times Square and even closer to the Empire State). The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean but basic (but then you pay for what you get!). A basic breakfast of coffee and muffins is offered but there are plenty of lovely breakfast places just round the corner if you want something more substantial (plus some of these are open 24 hours!).

Room Tip: Personally I think the rooms 312, 412, and so on are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nph32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent location makes this hotel a preference if you are on the budget.
Two blocks from Empire State Building, three blocks from Macis central, all central and Sowth Manhattan at a walking distance and the metro right nearby.
The building is old, and rooms may be renovated about 20 years ago. But they were renovated only partically. On the good side is the good bed, service. All devices work. Spaces are clean. No breakfast, but instead you get the free tea/coffee and cakes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Don't expect the Waldorf but this century-old hotel is an excellent value if you don't mind walking to get to most tourist destinations. Updated, small rooms are very adequate and quite clean. Staff is pleasant and helpful. If you want more than the muffins and coffee/tea in the lounge each morning, the Bread+Butter across the way is a revelation for cheap, large, prepared-to-order breakfasts with a huge selection of other offerings. Simit & Smith further down Fifth Ave. offers Turkish bagels! The walk south to Madison Square Park and the Flatiron Building is a wonderful deversion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Fifth Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We read about the $110 rate to celebrate their 110th anniversary and signed up for a night and had a grand time. Great view up at the Empire State Building from our room. Beautiful old lobby. Pleasant desk staff and concierge. Our room was a bit tight but fine and I had wifi unlike another recent reviewer. Walked all around their neighborhood and ate at a nearby French restaurant. Getting a stamp from the desk saved us $14 on parking rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

****Really nice hotel, although the room was small it was very nice and clean room, great stauff and great service.
very good location , and great muffins in the morning ;)
really good price !! ******

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The front desk personal were professional and curtious. The room was spacoius and clean, although no view. Beds comfy. Coffee and delicious muffins in the AM were a bonus.
I left my Ipad there and they mailed to my home the next day. I would stay there again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Namaste9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#338 of 471 in New York City
2,840 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 471 in New York City
1,684 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#173 of 471 in New York City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#133 of 471 in New York City
1,673 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#328 of 471 in New York City
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing