We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Stabroek, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were a little bit let down by the wolcott. The pictures showed a grand chique hotel, but in reality it was small, old and worn down. Rooms were small and bathrooms were filthy. Even after complaining at the front desk nothing was done.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    1,071
    419
    116
    83
See reviews for
497
748
101
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Came upon this hotel like many other reviewers as we went for the 110 Year Anniversary Special. What is special is that they have modernized the rooms, but kept the feel of the hotel as it was 110 years ago. The lobby ceiling is original (see pic). Ask the desk staff to show you the ballroom. It is not open to the public, and is need of repair. Mayor Laguardia celebrated his inaugural ball here. The hotel has a picture of it, and today you can feel the bygone elegance of the room.

Our room was facing away from the street (by request), and by running the heat/air unit in the window for "white noise" we were good. The bathroom was very small and needed a shelf for toiletries, but was clean with a good shower.

The staff was wonderful! Smiles and "hello's" from the maids, extra service from the front desk made up for some of the rather basic services. One "basic service" was "breakfast" which consisted of coffee and a muffin. You may need to eat again somewhere else.

As mentioned by others, the location is great.

Room Tip: Ask to see the ballroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We´ve stayed at Wolcott for 16 nights in May and it was very good. It was our first time in NYC, and Wolcott was chosen after Tripadvisr reviews and lots of email exchanges with great Naomi. Friendly staff, and the best place to stay in NYC - at least three different metro lines close to it.

We definetely will (yes, we WILL!!!) stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger, with lots of space. Old buildings are the best in any place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at Wolcott hotel for 2 days. Enjoyed the muffins and coffee/ tea provided complimentary by the hotel. At least 30- 40 minutes walk to Times Square from Wolcott Hotel. It was about 15 minutes walk to 34 St Penn Station and 34 St Herald Square station is just around the corner.
I was given a room that was facing the street and it can be noisy at times. There was no free Wifi available and we need to pay for the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Deciding to do a quick overnight up to NYC (it was the last week of the Whitney’s Biennale) I found the Wolcott online. I do not like the typical sterile, small, and cramped NYC budget hotel rooms (although this also applies to many $440 a night hotels as well) and I can’t afford the Marriott Marquis. I’ve stayed at a dozen budget hotels in Manhattan over the past few years and none compare to the Wolcott. It really is a gem! Our room – a double – was very spacious (a semi-suite, let’s say with a twin bed in the large entry foyer) especially by New York standards. The bedroom had a comfortable queen sized bed, a lovely desk, a couple of chairs, bedside tables as well as a full sized closet and there was ample space to walk around. But it was the decorative plaster ceiling and beautiful wallpaper, to say nothing of an exceptionally handsome carpet that gave the place a definite “Wow!” factor. It really was gorgeous and very comfortable. There were even two flat screen TV’s. Bathroom – with a tub – was small but with beautiful antique style fixtures and perfectly adequate. The room was exceptionally clean. Even the hallways are beautifully decorated. The photos of the Wolcott – both the public areas and its rooms – are accurate! No photo shopped pics for sure.

The hotel seems to attract a very international crowd. I spoke to folks from Sweden, Australia, Norway and France and you could hear half a dozen different languages during the morning coffee and muffin gathering in the lobby. Did not have much interaction with the staff but did notice several folks being helped with directions, tickets, etc. and they looked pleased with the service. The location could not be more convenient. A block from the 5th Avenue subway and you can see the top of the Empire State Building between buildings across 31st Street from the steps of the Wolcott. Lots of restaurants nearby (it’s in Little Korea), drugstores, and virtually everything you could need.

While there are less expansive hotel and hostel accommodations in Manhattan but as a long time visitor the Hotel Wolcott just can’t be beat for value. I highly recommend it. You can’t go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our first visit to New York, and whilst we know it's the City that never sleeps, I don't think we were quite prepared for the noise levels on our first night. Even at 5 in the morning the excessive use of car horns is rather draining. To the Hotels credit we were able to move rooms from the front of the hotel to the back (Room 606) and whilst the view was dreadful (who cares in New York), at least we got some sleep. Room 606 was a reasonable size, and had a large bathroom. The decor as mentioned in other reviews is rather tired, but it was clean and functional, and severed its purpose.
The free coffee, tea, and muffins for breakfast were also an added bonus, before setting off for the day.
Since we were cramming in all the usual tourist hot spots, we thought the location of the hotel was excellent. A morning and night time visit to the Empire State Building (on the same day) was a breeze, as was travelling downtown and or uptown. Arriving from JFK was also straight forward taking the air train and LIRR via Jamaica Station to Penn Station ($9 each). Penn Station is only 2 blocks away, so even with 2 heavy suitcases it wasn't a big hassle. So all in all you get what you pay for, $200 a night in Manhattan is not that expensive, the hotel needs some TLC (don't we all),
but it's fit for purpose, comfortable bed and we will use it again next time we visit New York.

Room Tip: Low number rooms (between 1 and 9 I think) are at the back of the hotel, and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_pros_from_dover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed in the Wolcott in early May for 6 nights and can honestly say that we found it great value for money. We shared a twin room which was quite spacious and had a lovely big bathroom with a great shower. I know that some of the rooms are probably smaller with small bathrooms so I guess we were lucky. We were on the third floor at the back of the building therefore there was no noise whatsoever. The beds where very comfortable and the room was spotless. The hallways outside the room were lovely and well maintained. The room also had a fairly good hairdryer (by hotel standards) which was great as we had brought ours with us but it just didn't have the same "power" that it would have at home so we were pleasantly surprised by the one in the room - this is important to some women and I can never understand why hotels provide such useless dryers. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast of muffins with tea/coffee was fine, kept us going till lunchtime. The lobby is a little shabby and could maybe do with a little bit of a facelift but having said that it was still pleasant. I really can't find any fault with this hotel, for what we paid. It's in a great location. I know some people complain about the lack of free wi-fi but that didn't bother us. I would definitely stay in the Wolcott again.

Room Tip: Room 306 is a spacious twin room with a good sized bathroom and also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneKildareIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Property: Wolcott Hotel
Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing