We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #253 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Good value hotel, well positioned. Staff ok and the junior suite a good size. Main complaint is the lack of natural light, that is something beyond the control of the hotel, but our room was very dark.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank justyour5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    1,066
    414
    116
    83
See reviews for
492
738
101
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was recommended to go to this hotel by a friend who told me not to expect much but very good position and adequate . She was right, the hotel is right in midtown, so well positioned and having the Empire State Building so close was an extra plus because you always knew in which direction
to go back to at the end of the day!, The staff were very friendly and the room was old fashioned but clean and very very comfortable beds. We were three in a room and each had our own beds which was a big plus as most other hotels just had two double beds. Air conditioning worked well, big self service launderette downstairs which was really convenient and a great convenience store across the road called Bed and Breakfast which sold everything from salad bar,cooked food, sushi drinks, cup cakes, open 24 hours and had free wifi. Dunkin Donuts opposite the hotel also has free wifi, the hotel has no free wifi, not even in the lobby. That was the only downer, especially for kids but they managed to stand outside DD in the evening and connect!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yve42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honefoss, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went for an extended weekend over 4 nights with my two daughters. Location and price was the main cause for choosing Walcott, and we will certainly recommend it to others. A quiet place in the middle of Manhattan, and possible to walk in every direction to get to the most preferred sites.
The “breakfast” in the lobby was genius (muffin and a cup of coffee/tea), and it gave us enough energy to get going in to the streets. NYC Taxi was passing in front of the hotel all the time and made it easy to move to other districts promptly. And on the steps to the hotel we got a glance of Empire State!
Next time in NY we will make use of Walcott again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Tried this mid-town hotel because of their 110th Anniversary Promotion deal. Exceeded our expectations - queen size room was spacious, attractive; the bed was very comfortable; extra pillows/blankets/iron/hairdryer/in-room safe and my requested mini-fridge were all provided. Good size private bathroom with excellent shower/water pressure. Had asked for a quiet room and, even though we were on the 6th floor and faced 31st St, we were next to a stairway and heard no sounds during the night - although the AC unit probably provided some white noise. Check-in and check-out were effortless and the front desk staff pleasantly acknowledged us when we went by. Some questions I had prior to our visit were answered promptly via e-mail by Guest Services. Housekeeping kept room tidy - I appreciate that they indicate we had a choice for a multi-night stay of not having everything (sheets/towels) changed each night (save some of world's energy) - but it was a choice left up to us.
And the hotel provided coffee and an assortment of very tasty muffins in their beautiful old-world lobby in the AM - started the day off right.
The TV had a limited slate of stations and was smallish - seemed more so because the room was so big! - but who really watches TV when visiting NYC.
I must mention the location which is a short walk from Penn Station if you come by train. We found it more convenient to the whole of Manhattan than the Upper West Side where we stayed in the past.
At the anniversary price, it was a steal but even the regular rates represent a real value in an expensive city. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - they seem to accommodate you. Ours was 609 and next to stairway. I noticed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the Wolcott for 4 nights from 10th June 2014 to celebrate my fiancé's 30th birthday. This was my third trip to NYC and I thought the hotel's location was superb. The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful and ensured we got a great room given the special occasion. They also arranged a private car for us for our return travel to the airport. The hotel itself is clean, well-maintained and classic in style and decoration. Staying here makes you feel like you're in New York of old. Our room was a good size, clean with good air con and shower and had stunning views of the Empire State Building. They also offer complimentary coffee and muffins in the morning which we thought was a nice touch to set you up for the day ahead. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My stay at this hotel was a gift for my husband and my 1st wedding anniversary. The staff was pleasant and helpful especially after we mentioned we had issues with the water pressure in the room. We were moved to another room for the remainder of our stay. The rooms and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable.

The hotel is in an excellent location in New York, lots of different eating places nearby. There's a Subway and Dunkin Donuts directly across the street from the hotel. There's also a place called Bread and Butter that you can get breakfast, lunch, dinner or snacks. The subway is a few blocks walk from the hotel.

The things we weren't fond of was that we had to pay for wifi and the only breakfast the hotel provided was muffins, coffee and tea. We would have preferred something a little more substantial for breakfast. The air condition was one of the wall units which while they cooled the room great they were a bit noisy. Just something to consider if noise bothers you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Only in New York for 2 nights so all we needed was a clean hotel with a good bed and ensuit. The outside looked good, the hotel had disabled access but the area just in the hotel let the place down a little as it didn't apear to be decorated and had no floor coverings. Once into the main entrance hall the hotel looked amazing, very well designed and elegant. Check in was quick and easy. Only 1 lift was big enough to get the wheelchair in, the other had a smaller door. The room was clean and devorated to a good standard, the ensuit shower/toilet was large and was a wetroom so great for me, even a seat in the shower. The hotel was definitely value for money. The only thing that let them down was the concierge, very helpful and sorted tickets out for a show at what wr thought was an ok price. When we received the tickets and actually looked carefully at them we noticed that we had been charged $30 each over the price stated on the tickets. My recommendation would be use the hotel but dont get your excursions from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Property: Wolcott Hotel
Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#246 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing