We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,633)
Filter reviews
2,633 results
Traveller rating
713
1,229
469
136
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
1,229
469
136
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the empire state building triple room free coffee and muffins new york great location every morning dunkin donuts times square penn station budget hotel beautiful lobby historic hotel around the corner herald square central location two blocks midtown manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 2,633 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This hotel was part of a package deal we got, so we didn't have a choice. It is close to the Empire State Building. It is old, we had an old room with no heating, just an old in window air-conditioning unit. Lucky it wasn't too cold. The room was very small, the bathroom was old & the pipes rattled in the wall when you turned on the shower, but it was OK as we were out most of the day anyway. No WiFi unless you pay, even then it is slow. The bed was really comfy & the pillows were the softest I have felt! They supplied muffins & coffee for breakfast, not much seating in the foyer though. Coin operated laundry & ATM are available. You have to walk 2 blocks to the nearest subway station. Our room had a view of other rooms in another part. Would have been nice to have city views. Front desk staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front if you want city views.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilandhopper, Manager at The Wolcott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank for for you review. What package deal did you get

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Standard hotel with a beautiful lobby. The cost of one night was within budget range which was pretty cheap seeing as the hotel was in midtown manhattan. At one point the lights turned on by themselves near the bathroom...which was pretty creepy.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilandhopper, Owner at The Wolcott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The foyer is something to behold - out of the 1930s classic era. The reception staff were courteous, helpful and proud of their place of work. The lifts work and there were no queues. We booked 3 junior suits and all were very spacious. The rooms were clean and again – old fashioned – but very clean. High ceilings and cornices with pictures of old New York.

Did I mention the shower? The pressure and temperature were the best I have ever had anywhere, including many visits to Manhattan. On leaving, transport for 6 was arranged and was very reasonable.
The area is excellent as a base. Almost on 5th Avenue 11 blocks from 42nd Street, 10 mins walk to Times Square and 2 blocks to Empire state. Lots of choice to eat. In Irish Pub (just all right) at the end of the block, a rooftop bar close by on 5th Ave. High Line at the far end of same street.
I usually stay at well known chains, which have tiny lobbies and cramped rooms with unhelpful staff.
Did I say it was great value? We will be back.
Still think it was the best shower in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Junior suite has tonnes of space. Could probably sleep 4 as there is a fold down bed and a door that closes.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaulJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilandhopper, Manager at The Wolcott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks for the nice review. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

An old and decrepit new your city hotel in a fantastic location , you get what you pay for so no complaints here ,

around the corner from the empire state and on the edge of Korea town

basic and served the purpose bu not high end or even close

staff were helpful and good

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wd0661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilandhopper, Manager at The Wolcott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Not high end. We don't pretend to be. Basic hotel with clean comfortable rooms in a good locations. Thank for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely charming Hotel for five nights the room and view of the Empire State Building were brilliant, the staff all friendly and helpful and enjoyed the muffins and tea for breakfast. Definitely recommend the Wolcott.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilandhopper, Manager at The Wolcott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews