We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room very loud and very hot”
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #245 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I stayed at room 1013 which is a junior suite. This consisted of a separate area through an archway where my 2 year old was able to sleep in a travel cot. This area had a pull out bed, tv and a couple of chairs. Our first impression upon arriving on Christmas day was that the entrance was rather grand. The staff were polite but not friendly. They advised us there were free muffins and tea/coffee etc every morning in the lobby from 6am (which were delicious). Our room was ridiculously hot. I've noticed a couple of other reviews on here also say the same. We did complain about it but the heating wasn't on. This was during the snowstorm as well so it was freezing outside. The floors and the walls felt very hot so it must be from the pipes. Throughout our entire stay our windows were open constantly and only then was it just bearable. The decor was extremely old fashioned but I think this is probably part of the charm of the hotel which is over 100 years old. The bed was comfy and big. The bathroom wasn't too impressive as it didn't look very clean (the sort where you want to keep something on your feet so your skin doesn't touch the floor!). We got little sample bottles of shampoo and free soaps. Having said that it it could just be where the bathroom was so old - I didn't want to look too closely! Overall the hotel was okay and I'd probably stay there again. It wasn't particularly cheap though. The conscierge girl was the most miserable person I've come across in New York. She couldn't even crack a smile and her behaviour was bordering on rude. I watched her for a while whilst sitting in the lobby and she was more interested in texting someone than dealing with people and would make them wait whilst she finished her texting etc! Don't go here if you're looking for friendly staff and a fashionable trendy room with all the mod cons. (there are ipod docking stations in the rooms although my friend didn't have one in her room!). Go here if you're looking for a great location (just round the corner from Macy's and Empire State) and somewhere to rest your head.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

This century old hotel has such charm, low prices, and central location that it may be unique.
Even those not staying there should visit the French Palace lobby, and look at the memorobilia adorning its walls.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernMarcowitz079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Where do I start? Reception was not at all welcoming or friendly. Like many have said previously, just did the bare minimum to check us in and get us out the way. Booked a triple share room and immediately the musty scent and dark, dreary vibe of the room hits you.
Bathroom was shocking- shower had two settings- scalding hot and ice cold. Toilet didn't flush properly (tank wouldn't stop filling up). When we complained about this, our complaints were rarely attended to and as a result of this we came back to the hotel one afternoon to find the toilet had overflowed and flooded the bathroom and one of the bedrooms (resulting in my friends' suitcase being soaked and damaged by toilet water). When called to clean it up the cleaner did so- with bathroom towels!
I went to reception to complain and ask for a different room- they seemed very upset by this and reluctantly gave us another room- next to a room which was apparently undergoing renovation/ demolition of some sort. I'd paid a lot of money for this trip and was not going to be woken by drills in the next room so I asked for another to which they very rudely told me that this was the last one they were going to offer us. (at least the shower was better in the new room).

The breakfast was horrible and we preferred the Cafe Metro near times square.
Only good think about this hotel is its' location. Also the lady organising things such as tours and broadway tickets etc. was quite helpful. Reception staff need to learn how to smile.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_A87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

booked this hotel as I saw some goof reviews and was really looking forward to our stay after 7 hours flight from Manchester UK.
Arrived at hotel to find we were not greeted well, no smiles, very matter of fact, no information provided about breakfast or papers. Had booked a junior suite,
found the suite to be dark and did not look clean, When asked to changed, they offered another room and slamed the telephone before we had ageed.
Stayed one night as bathroom light stopped working, my daughter had to have a shower in the dark, shower temperature didnt work, either too hot or too cold, and sound of fans going on all night. Brushed past an old radiator which was too hot and burnt myself on my leg,- not good for children
Before the trip had asked the hotel to book transport from JFK to hotel. When we booked with the hotel they wanted us to pay upfront for the transport for return journey and didnot advise that this was a shuttle service, we thought we were getting a private hire just for us. We had to wait 2 hours before the bus arrived, did not mention where they would pick up either and advised the colour of bus to be white or black, when the bus finally came it was silver and at a cost of several international calls later.
WE wanted to cancel, but were not given this option. Our return journey was even worse as they picked us up from our new hotel and then took us to another airport to drop some other passengers before going to JFK. With traffice being hectic and leaving us with only 1 hour and half to make it for check in when it should have been 3 hours.
The journey from the hotel to the airport took 2 and half hours when it should take 40 minutes. Total disaster, we will not recommend this hotel and the staff need serious training in manners and caring .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsungr700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

stayed for 5 nights at the Wolcott.

Very convenient. 1 minute from 5th avenue, three blocks from Empire State Building and Maceys. Could not have been better located.

Hotel lobby was spectacular. I gather a few famous people have stayed there in their time (history wall in the lobby was interesting to read)

Would say that the reception staff need to brush up on their customer service skills, as they do not really give a good first impression! Think they need to be a little more cheerful and helpful. Only interested in doing what was necessary to book you in withought any added extras

We were lucky and were apparently upgraded to a triple room, so cannot comment on the other rooms. Ours were fine, considering you are literally only there to sleep. We were located at the back of the hotel, which was fine as it was very quiet. Not the prettiest view, but who cares!

Muffins were really handy for breakfast.

Would deffinately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

only good thing about hotel was location. general feeling that the hotel was old and musty, although room was cleaned well every day. Beds ok. Could hear the neighbours shouting. Towels and bathroom had seen better days..... as had the carpets and walls. The coffee in the morning was a nice touch but undrinkable.
A budget hotel at best.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notsofussy186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I have just returned from staying in this hotel. The place was clean and I liked the "oldy worldy" feel. However, my main complaint was that the rooms were ridiculously hot, which they did not seem able to rectify and made us wake up feeling completely dehydrated. There were also noises from the various systems during the night especially when running the water, etc. I also found the welcome on arrival rather lacking with no welcome smile and just the request for passports and booking confirmation. I would stay again simply for their location and breakfast but perhaps take some summer night clothes!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#312 of 469 in New York City
1,642 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#295 of 469 in New York City
2,595 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#332 of 469 in New York City
2,789 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,569 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#202 of 469 in New York City
3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing