We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with character, good for school group”
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #247 of 468 Hotels in New York City
cornwall
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with character, good for school group”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The hotel has some history and the decoration in the foyer displays this. The lifts are slow and small making it difficult with school groups. We were allocated rooms all over the hotel so management of the school group was hard work. Some of the staff at reception seemed distant and offered very little in the way of smiles. Problems were dealt with quickly, although nothing could remedy the erratic shower behaviour. Despite several days of trying to work out how to adjust water temperature it always offered a shower that could alter from hot to cold in seconds. We did not know until we arrived that some floors (12 and 7) were dedicated smoking floors. On the plus side the location was central to seeing New York and the subway was only couple of blocks ( 5 mins) away. This hotel is very close to the Empire State building and Macey's. There are lots of little shops close by and we found a little cafe for our group for breakfast (AU Bon Gout). Storage was available in a secure room for our luggage on the day we were leaving. The hotel has a small shop which is open until the evening - good for students to get bottled drinks etc as there were no drink facilities in the rooms. The rooms were cleaned well every day. Safes available in rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    1,087
    421
    116
    84
See reviews for
504
761
103
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We spent 5 days at the Wolcott Hotel (end January, beginning February 2011). This is our second stay here, and we returned because we liked it the first time, about 3 years ago. Excellent location, close to buses, subway, Macy's, walking distance to midtown. The price was amazing (inexpensive) for New York. We had a junior suite, which allowed us for suitable space. Although this is not a "bells and whistles" hotel, we had everything we needed, a good bed, very clean linen (changed during our stay), good and ample towels, TV (2 for the suite), phones (2 for the suite), an excellent hair dryer, much better then the wall mounted fancy ones. Our room was impeccably clean - thank you Ana - and we also found the staff at the reception very friendly and helpful - thank you Cathy! There was plenty of information including a friendly lady at the information desk, also coffee and muffins in the morning in the gloriously decorated lobby. We found it somehow too warm in the room, maybe because we are used to sleep in a cool temperature. We had a comfortable stay and will definitely return next time we are in New York.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

When we first arrived at the hotel, the receptionist wasn't friendly, but he did his job. Then we literally had to fight our way to the room. We had to pass through foul-smelling corridors, 2 doors and an extremely narrow staircase with 2 big suitcases! When we finally arrived at the room and opened the door it just bumped into one of the two beds. The room itself was really small (we didn't even have enough room for our bags) and smelled strange because it was a smoking room (wich we finally found out whenn we saw the ashtray). As we both are strict non-smokers, we had to go back to the reception (again the fight) and ask for another room. The receptionist gave us another room but blamed us for the "mistake" by telling us, that we have been there too early. I don't think he ever had the idea that he could ask us what we prefer - smoking room or wait for a non-smoking room. If he'd done that, we would have waited and he wouldn't have to give us another room.

Despite the bad start, the second room was great! We got a huge room with 3 beds, 2 TVs and a little entrance area! The only annoying things were the noisy radiator and the air conditioner, which woke us up one day. That day it was raining and the rain hit the outside metal of the air conditioner, creating a very loud and steady clunk.
Although the service at the reception wasn't very good, the service at the desk for the shows etc. was very helpful and friendly.

The best thing about this hotel really is the location. It's within walking distance to Times Square, Empire State Building and Penn Station.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkelve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The location is great, just off 5th ave. Price includes coffee and muffins in the lobby in the morning...coffee is not good....muffins great.

Clean, warm and good sized rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Thankfully this gem has remained bed bug free! This hotel caters to European travelers and tourist. I am usually the only American business traveler there. Free coffee and muffins in the morning is a nice touch too. Great neighborhood, within walking distance to Times Square, Empire State Building and Penn Station. I look forward to staying here each time I go to NYC, which is at least twice a year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Wolcott for one night after the new year. We were greeted by expressionless and unfriendly receptionists. Our room was pre-booked online and our confirmation sheet stated a double bed. But lo and behold when we got to our room, we were given two single beds. Seeing that we were only there for one night, I didn't bother asking for a room change.

The overall image of the hotel is extremely run down, old and shabby. The lobby area doesn't look too bad, but once you get upstairs to the rooms, you'll see it all. Our room was reasonably lean. They should think about updating the overall decor - wallpaper and bedding. Our room felt extremely hot and felt like there was no air circulation whatsoever. Believe it or not, I had to turn on the air-conditioner to cool the room down in January!

When we were about to get ready for bed, I heard a 'hissing' sound coming from the heater/radiator. Upon closer inspection, there was actual water spitting out from the heater. I rang the front desk to explain what was happening and they sent up a maintenance man. He came immediately and when he heard the hissing sound and looked at the heater, he told me that it was 'normal'... he turned the heater off and to stop the hissing sound, he threw a towel over the heater where the water was spitting out from. Luckily that stopped the sound and we could go to sleep. Moral of the story is that they need to update their plumbing and heating.

Couple of positives - good location. Also, they have washers and dryers in the basement if you need to do laundry. You just need to buy your own detergent from a pharmacy or supermarket - they don't sell them in the basement.

If you needed a place to stay for a night, maybe two, this hotel could be okay. Just don't expect too much. If you need to stay for longer, look for a better, more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I stayed at room 1013 which is a junior suite. This consisted of a separate area through an archway where my 2 year old was able to sleep in a travel cot. This area had a pull out bed, tv and a couple of chairs. Our first impression upon arriving on Christmas day was that the entrance was rather grand. The staff were polite but not friendly. They advised us there were free muffins and tea/coffee etc every morning in the lobby from 6am (which were delicious). Our room was ridiculously hot. I've noticed a couple of other reviews on here also say the same. We did complain about it but the heating wasn't on. This was during the snowstorm as well so it was freezing outside. The floors and the walls felt very hot so it must be from the pipes. Throughout our entire stay our windows were open constantly and only then was it just bearable. The decor was extremely old fashioned but I think this is probably part of the charm of the hotel which is over 100 years old. The bed was comfy and big. The bathroom wasn't too impressive as it didn't look very clean (the sort where you want to keep something on your feet so your skin doesn't touch the floor!). We got little sample bottles of shampoo and free soaps. Having said that it it could just be where the bathroom was so old - I didn't want to look too closely! Overall the hotel was okay and I'd probably stay there again. It wasn't particularly cheap though. The conscierge girl was the most miserable person I've come across in New York. She couldn't even crack a smile and her behaviour was bordering on rude. I watched her for a while whilst sitting in the lobby and she was more interested in texting someone than dealing with people and would make them wait whilst she finished her texting etc! Don't go here if you're looking for friendly staff and a fashionable trendy room with all the mod cons. (there are ipod docking stations in the rooms although my friend didn't have one in her room!). Go here if you're looking for a great location (just round the corner from Macy's and Empire State) and somewhere to rest your head.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#313 of 468 in New York City
1,573 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#305 of 468 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#192 of 468 in New York City
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Property: Wolcott Hotel
Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing