We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my Stay. Great Location!”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #252 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dillsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my Stay. Great Location!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights August 10 - 15, 2013. Great room, friendly and helpful staff, great view of Manhattan from my room. The hotel is located across the street from Roosevelt Park and the Natural History Museum and 3/4 of a block from Central Park. There is a subway station on the corner...very convenient. Lots of great cafes and restaurants in the area, and this central location makes it easy to get to all parts of Manhattan easily.

JUST A NOTE:
Two things were a bit inconvenient:

1) No coffee maker in the room;
2) No free Wi-Fi.

I was in NY for a conference and had to be on the subway by 7:15 each morning. Breakfast was not served until 7:00 making it impossible for me to get coffee and make it to the subway on time. A coffee maker would have been nice thing to have. Wi-Fi is now offered in most hotels as an amenity free of charge, but not at the Excelsior. I did go to the 2nd floor library to access the signal for free, but to have had it in the room would have been more convenient and I was not going to pay $10 a day for the service.

I do plan a trip back to NYC, and I will be staying at the Excelsior.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patron42030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    906
    300
    120
    101
See reviews for
704
635
88
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in July 2013. Excellent location, near Central Park and the Museum of Natural History (well worth going to). Subway close by and also bus on Columbus Avenue takes you downtown. Great view from the room (16th floor). Didn't have breakfast there but Starbucks is only around the corner. The AC unit was noisy but necessary in the heat. Helpful concierge arranged a day trip to Boston for me. All the tourist sights in New York are either walking distance or cheap subway from this hotel. Easy to get to Yankee Stadium on the subway and a ticket at the top of the grandstand only cost $22US. Would definitely stay at the Excelsior again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our recent stay at the Excelsior was our 2nd one at this hotel, and we were not disappointed. Our previous stay was in October, 2011, and we were upgraded to a lovely, spacious suite for no additional charge. This trip, however, was at the peak of tourist season and no such upgrade was available. We were given a much smaller room with a poor view, but it was extremely comfortable. Interestingly, the bathroom was the same size and quality as the suite's. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet, though not expansive, was well-prepared and sufficient. (They used real dishes, not paper plates this time. I wonder whether on our previous visit they had been catering to Kosher requests.) The hotel is very near the Museum of Natural History, Central Park, and many very good restaurants and bars. Yes, we will definitely stay at the Excelsior on our next NYC trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollydod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were met by a very unwelcoming and quite surly reception, after checking in, our bags were taken to our room by a reasonably friendly chap. That was the only friendly reception we received, during our stay.

On arriving at the room, to my surprise, there was no fridge, no coffee making facilities, no iron, no trouser press, none of the usual things which you would expect from a hotel!

At 8pm I asked if I could get a coffee for myself and my wife, I was told that "breakfast starts at 7am, other than that, try Starbucks around the corner" REALLY!

Not what you would expect from a hotel in New York, my advise would be to stay somewhere else. BE WARNED!

Ps. The sinks do not drain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights my husband and I and our infant son. It's a nice hotel we got upgraded to a suite which was great because with the baby cot in the room we needed the extra space. It is in a good location with easy access to Central Park and the subway. Which was useful fir the occasional trip but with the stroller and the subway having only stair access we mostly walked everywhere. My only coming wild be it didn't have a kettle which seems minor but when you have a milk consuming baby hot water is a must. They had no kettle to lend us but we had access to the kitchen which was the floor below so was only a minor bugbear. All in all a good family hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seb_seb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel's location is great--especially for families. It's a short walk to the Natural History Museum & Central Park. It's possible to get a suite, though beware--the suite may not have enough beds for your family. We got 2 single beds and some sheets for our kids to sleep on the floor. Steer clear of breakfast--cold eggs and less than fresh fruit. Yuk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALspicemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Spent 6 days at this hotel great location right opposite Central Park. Rooms kept clean, staff friendly and very helpful. .lots of little cafés,restaurant's just around the corner. Would stay at this hotel next time I go to NY.....Just one thing if you want to go to the twin tower memorial you will need to go on line and book a time....I didn't know this and left it to the last day I was there and ran out of time and couldn't get up close.......I still went to the site and I still had a tear.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing