We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #253 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here in January with 3 others for 5 nights. Staff were helpful on arrival, allowing two of us to check in as we arrived before the rest of the party, even although the booking was in someone else's name.

When we went to the room we were allocated the beds had not been made up so we had to go back to reception and explain this. They then sent us to another room but the keys didn't work! Third time lucky, we eventually got into the room which had two queen beds - it was big but still a bit of a squeeze with 4 of us staying there. The bathroom was quite small and old fashioned in comparison to the rest of the hotel and the room itself but still clean and everything worked fine.

The breakfast (additional $17 per person) was well worth it, although I'm sure cheaper options could be found elsewhere there was a very good selection and it was handy for us just to nip down in the morning. I also used the gym which was well equipped too.

My only complaints would be the cost of the wifi. Nowadays hotels really shouldn't be charging for wifi access in rooms. It was $9.95 for 24 hours but this only covered ONE device!! There is free wifi in reception and on level 2 of the hotel. We also asked for extra towels and glasses as there were 4 of us in our room (the room was only kitted out for 2), to be told they couldn't guarantee extra glasses - why not?!

Despite this it was a good stay - perfect location too and would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank framec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    918
    301
    120
    101
See reviews for
711
641
89
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I recently spent a week at the Excelsior in NY. The room was very comfortable with a very comfortable bed and an excellent TV. The bathrooms are not very nice and are quite old, and the service is average. The location is amazing (on the northern side of the Natural History Museum on the upper west side, and right next a couple of subway lines). The price is quite expensive, but I guess that this has something to do with the location. Overall, I would go back, since the location means a lot for me, and I was very comfortable in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonTraveller912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Front desk is rude and unhelpful. Other staff, concierge much nicer. Lobby is dark, cramped and unwelcoming. Elevators are slow. Lots of hallway noise. Bathroom is a closet. Rooms are clean, but furnishings are old and outdated. Bed and pillows are not comfortable. Feel cheap. Overpriced and overrated.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Berthe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Arrived from the UK late 2nd Jan along with the snow. Foyer small but pleasant no problems with check in. Room very small and dated freezing cold no heating turned on when we arrived put the very ancient heater on and it eventually warmed the room,but oh the noise it made even after a long flight we had to turn it off to sleep. Bathroom pretty but no heating at all couldn't even stay in there to dry my hair. Don't know why a telephone was needed in the bathroom as the room was so small I could reach the room phone from the bathroom door!
The room was at the back of the hotel so nothing to look at out of the window just the backs of lots of buildings but you don't go to NY to stay in the room. Three different types of bottled water available in the room would have preferred tea and coffee facilities. Probably wouldn't stay there again unless it had a great offer on and not in the winter

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank rhian106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I am a travel agent for one of the largest travel companies in the world, who was assisting my client in cancelling his stay at this hotel due to a flight cancellation. There was a winter storm which cancelled thousands of flights for an entire week, and there was no way for my client to get to New York. I contacted this hotel and the woman who answered was very unfriendly. She told me I need to speak to a manager whom she would get on the line, but she only transferred me to voicemail for the general manager. After 24 hours I still had not heard from him. So I called again.

This time I was transferred to the reservations manager, who was even more rude than the first person I had spoken with at the front desk. She would not even tell me her name. In fact, none of the employees stated their name when they answered the phone, which tells you a lot about their customer service. They do not even want you to know their names. When I explained the situation to the reservations manager, her response was, "What winter storm are you talking about?" As if she isn't in New York where almost EVERY flight had been cancelled for 5 days due to snow and ice! When I advised that the storm cancelled thousands of flights, she responded with "but that was only earlier in the week". I told her the weather was bad earlier in the week, but the flights were affected for the entire week due to a backlog of stranded travelers. She only replied with "Well, I know nothing about that."

Even after I explained it to her, she was unwilling to believe me and unwilling to help my client. She kept questioning what flight my client was on and advising that she didn't have a lot of cancellations so what I was saying cannot be true. She advised he will be charged for his reservation and there is nothing she will do to help. I have NEVER come across a manager so rude and unwilling to assist in my 14 years as a travel agent. And I will never recommend this hotel to any of my clients. Hotels are 99% percent of the time willing to help when the situation is something the client has no control over, such as weather. Horrible customer service!!!!! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank TravelAgent142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights before Christmas 2013. Our room was OK, but the furnishings were a bit tired. The heating in the room was something else, it worked but at a cost....when it started up it was like a jet engine. No trouble during waking hours, not welcome when you are sleeping. The breakfast in the hotel was at best OK. The hotel is situated near Central Park and the National History Museum and was very quiet (except for the heating).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on very cold and snowy weekend. Front desk staff was very nice and we appreciated being able to get into our room before 3 pm. When we got to the room the heat was totally off and the room was very freezing and it took some time to warm up. Other then that little issue we love this place, having stayed here three or four times. This was the smallest room we have been in but we where not in the room much so that was fine. One other thing you should know is that there is no heat in the bathrooms and the window in that room all seem to be old and let in a lot of cold air, however the bathroom is very pretty with white tiles with a garland tile of pink, blue, green flowers, very French on design.
Location is great, lots of places to eats near by, nice lobby and there is a doorman to help you get a cab on those cold, snowy days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capecodkaren009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 468 in New York City
4,845 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 468 in New York City
3,480 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#378 of 468 in New York City
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing