We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel would stay again”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #251 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

New year 5 day trip two adults and a 10 yr old, believe me when that say its cold its cold but you don't have to be outside for long there is a subway at the top of the street turn left when you come out of hotel or taxis everywhere ,hotel was very clean and we had no complaints. no tea or coffee making services in room but there is a starbucks at the bottom of street opens at 6am. hotel has a bar / restaurant but this is not theres and it closes very early every night about 9.00pm ish.there are plenty of eateries round and about and central park is at the top of the street. the area is very nice and goes quiet at night its not all hussel and bussel so it makes for a peaceful nights sleep . Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 217 large and very nice view out of the back of hotel was good ,view from front wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day trip to New York.(3 Adults and a 5 year old granddaughter). We flew into Newark with Virgin Atlantic. We got a taxi from there to the Hotel which is about 200 metres from Central Park. The journey took 40 minutes in quite heavy snow and cost $80. Good value. We arrived quite late, but were cheerfully greeted by the receptionist who could not have been more helpful. The room was a suite as we had been given an upgrade without asking!
We were tired and needed our beds which were clean and comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. After a shower in the morning we trooped down to breakfast on the second floor to another warm welcome. For around £18.00 you could eat all you wanted. There was a full American/English with scrambled egg bacon hash browns smoked salmon sausages etc. To start there was fresh fruit yogurt, cereals and toast bagels, croissant. The coffee was great and there was real English tea.
Apart from breakfast no food or drink is served at all, so take your tea bags and coffee and buy some milk at one of the grocery supermarkets near by in in Columbus avenue (Gristedes is good at 504 Columbus Ave)
If you like a glass of wine in the evening go to West Side Wine on 481 Columbus Ave where a bottle of very drinkable Merlot costs $12.00
We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday where everybody at the hotel tried just that little bit harder. Could not fault it and when we left the receptionist Celeste helped us print out our boarding passes, what more could you ask

Room Tip: Our room was facing North West and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I don't know why so many people had negative comments. We booked the hotel via hotels.com, we needed early check in (normally at 3) and they let us check in at 11am. Called down to ask for late check out as well. The hotel was clean (although the room was small) and adorable. Everything we needed for the night. In room bathroom (which is expected), TV, desk, closet and a chair. Queen Sized bed, and directly across the street from the museum. I would absolutely come back and stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Upon arrival at the hotel, it was snowing and quite blustery, the reception staff and Bell-hop was courteous and helpful, after unpacking we hit the city, we found the hotel location ideal for the Metro (81st Blue LOCAL line by the History Museum), great Health food resturant near by "Spring" on Columbus Ave and Cafe Nectar on Madison Ave across Central Park.
The hotel was very comfortable, en-suite was great, however shower lever needed fixing-the water pressure would have been excellent, the throne could have been bigger!!!!, for a 4* hotel there could have been a room fridge and microwave for those doggy bags(US portions are twice as big UK - so BEWARE), heating system was easy and quick to use.
Hotel Decor was as the professional had taken, charges for the wifi and internet either via credit card or cash, only really essential for your return E-boarding passes, otherwise thanks Excelsior for a great stay,

Room Tip: Quieter area a respite away from the City's hustle and bustle, hotel room views, amazing dawn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My family had breakfast buffet at this hotel. The buffet was OK but the waitress sounded pretty rude when asking me for my room number.

When we got back to our room and tried to open the door, our keys were deactivated. I had to go to the front desk to show my ID to get my keys re-activated. Why? The rude lady at the front desk needed to give me the bill for my breakfast! She thought that I would run away after eating breakfast!

A normal hotel would have given me the final receipt including the breakfast receipt when I check out.

It was a very unpleasant experience. By the way, this hotel is not cheap.The word "Excel" in the name of this hotel is just a joke.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haicauu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

First of all: location. Right by two subway lines and across from Natural History Museum. 81st St cuts across the park for easy access to the East Side. A restaurant but no breakfast - no problem with great coffee shops in abundance all around.

A roomy room (912), for once, in NYC! Nice view of neighboring backyards from big windows. Very pleasant room decor with a comfy bed and good lighting for reading. Big bathroom with good water pressure. Great heating system (no need for A/C).

Only drawback - and I think this is nickel-and-diming at its worst: free wifi only in lobby and 2nd floor. WHY??? Pointless and stupid. If you want too many people lounging around in the lobby, well, that's the result. Certainly not only hotel with this dumb policy.

I paid $136.76 per night on Orbitz. Very decent rate (must double when it's not winter) and excellent overall experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cootmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here in January with 3 others for 5 nights. Staff were helpful on arrival, allowing two of us to check in as we arrived before the rest of the party, even although the booking was in someone else's name.

When we went to the room we were allocated the beds had not been made up so we had to go back to reception and explain this. They then sent us to another room but the keys didn't work! Third time lucky, we eventually got into the room which had two queen beds - it was big but still a bit of a squeeze with 4 of us staying there. The bathroom was quite small and old fashioned in comparison to the rest of the hotel and the room itself but still clean and everything worked fine.

The breakfast (additional $17 per person) was well worth it, although I'm sure cheaper options could be found elsewhere there was a very good selection and it was handy for us just to nip down in the morning. I also used the gym which was well equipped too.

My only complaints would be the cost of the wifi. Nowadays hotels really shouldn't be charging for wifi access in rooms. It was $9.95 for 24 hours but this only covered ONE device!! There is free wifi in reception and on level 2 of the hotel. We also asked for extra towels and glasses as there were 4 of us in our room (the room was only kitted out for 2), to be told they couldn't guarantee extra glasses - why not?!

Despite this it was a good stay - perfect location too and would return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank framec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#140 of 470 in New York City
2,450 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#228 of 470 in New York City
3,778 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#185 of 470 in New York City
5,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#146 of 470 in New York City
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Address: 45 W 81st St, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £48 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing