We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our ppper west side trip”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #253 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for our ppper west side trip”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I planned a weekend of activities on the upper west side with my young son and this was the perfect place to stay. We arrived Saturday and left Monday, on a weekend that we expected wouldn't be very busy. The front desk attendant was friendly, cheerfully upgraded our room when I asked, and spent a few minutes giving me recommendations about where we could find quick and easy food. The room was very clean, and very pretty. If you're new to NYC, you might find it small, but by NYC standards, it was a good size. Our view of the museum and skyline was beautiful. It would have been worth paying for, as we spent a fair amount of time enjoying the view. That said, the windows are old, and the street noises are loud. If you're not used to street noises, bring earplugs. I was on the 14th floor. It was still loud.

The breakfast buffet was nice. The attendant was lovely. The food was decent, convenient, and speedy, but there are other options nearby if you would rather get out and enjoy the city. There is a deli nearby that serves breakfast and delivers...the cheapest option. Andy's Deli, I think. It's on Columbus Ave, one short block South, on the other side of the street. Monday morning, we ate a few blocks up at Good Enough to Eat. It was delish, but not cheaper.

The location of this hotel is wonderful. It's right across the street from the Natural History Museum. Walk down the block, cross into Central Park, and you'll find a playground right there for younger kids. My son loved it. The diner is super handy, there is food everywhere, and there is shopping nearby. The subway runs right to the museum, so that's easily accessible, too. We took the train into the city, then the subway right up to the hotel.

Easy, beautiful, convenient. We'll be back. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the museum are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkeysmama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    918
    301
    120
    101
See reviews for
711
641
89
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very nice hotel, ideally situated for Central Park, National History Museum and Metro.
Didn't use much of the facilities as we were up and out for 9am and didn't return till 9pm.
Hotel staff were very friendly and polite.
The only down side was when we got home, checked bank balance, and found $125 taken for no reason. I have just emailed hotel so still waiting for reply. Will keep you updated to see what response we get.
Otherwise a very good hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

First impressions... Such a stunning hotel! Dark wood panels.. Such a lovely American feel! Me and my friend were greeted with smiles from the reception staff and were given helpful information about the hotel.. A bar to the right and a helpful concierge desk to the left which helped us decide on what to do with our stay in New York!

Our room was very luxurious, gold and cream decor with a separate lounge/seating area.. 2 tv's, one in the seating area and one in the bedroom area. Basic bathroom, reasonable size with a shower and a bath..

Lovely views from the hotel.. Lots of restaurants and supermarkets surrounding the hotel! A short subway ride will take you to central New York..

Overall, a beautiful hotel for such a good price.. Enjoy! :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Excelsior for two weeks in February 2014. Our room (a Classic Queen) was bright, clean, comfortable and plenty big enough for the both of us. Although bathroom was quite small (and didn't have a bath), it had everything we needed and the water was pretty good too. At the time of our visit the average outside temperature was around -5, meaning that a good heating system was abolutely essential, and luckily we didn't have any problems in that respect. If anything, we often found our room to be too hot! As we were staying in the winter, this was ideal as we didn't even need extra blankets (!), but it did mean that staying at this hotel in the summer would be excruciating as the air conditioning system was loud and very outdated. There was no WiFi in the room (only in the lobby and on the 2nd floor), but the TV was of a good size and came with a wide variety of satelite channels to keep us occupied on chilly evenings. The housekeeping service was brilliant. We never felt pressured to get out of anyone's way (even when leaving our room at lunchtime) and we always came back to find our room spotless. By far the best thing about our room though, was the view. As we were on the top (15th) floor, the had the most amazing view of Central Park, which was just at the end of the road.
We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that, but there was plenty of restaurants, cafe's and bars nearby which were great and relatively cheap. As mentioned above, the Excelsior is just up the street from Central Park so whatever you're doing in New York, the location couldn't be better. The American Museum of Natural History is across the road, as is the nearest Subway station (West 81st Street), so you can be taking in the sights of Midtown within 15 minutes!
We really only found one fault with the Excelsior, but it was a pretty big one: the staff. While the housekeeping staff, the porters and the doormen were all really friendly and helpful, we found the people manning the front desk to be rude, obnoxious and very condescending. Simple questions about taxis, attractions and hours of operation elicited only the odd monosyllable, and whenever we were (un)lucky enough to receive a longer response, we were made to feel like a nuisance. They also attempted to charge us for a bottle of water we hadn't consumed, but thankfully were quick to correct the mistake on the day of our departure.

All things considered, the Excelsior is a great hotel in a fantastic location and if it wasn't for the substandard customer service, it would have been pretty much perfect.

Room Tip: Street-facing rooms offer amazing views of Central Park and the surrounding Upper West Side but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hard to pick a hotel in NYC if you're just going for a break as the choice is rather overwhelming and prices fairly competitive. Picked this hotel as it was a little further out from the town centre, meaning it would be quieter at night.
You could get to Times Sq and 5th Av in about 15 minutes on the subway, and there is a station about 2 minutes walk from the Hotel. The hotel itself is right by Central Park and the Museum of Natural History and has lots of good restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel has a nice art deco feel to it and isn't too big or intimidating in size. Room a very good size considering all you need it for and bathroom to a very nice standard. Shower and bath were very good quality, very much appreciated after a long day of walking around in minus 8c! Only negative to the room would be the heating, it comes on fairly sporadically so makes it very difficult to control and as it is very old, it is very noisy when operating. That said, it heats the room very quickly and to a good temperature, it's just a shame it is not a more efficient way of heating the room all day so you're not faced with an ice box when you return!

We did not have breakfast in the hotel as $17 per person seemed excessively expensive. Instead, if you turn right out of the hotel and walk for 20 seconds down Columbus you'll find Lenny's which is a really great little place. My partner and I ate an enormous and varied breakfast each morning for about $12 for the two of us. Very much recommend this place. There is also a Starbucks right opposite if you prefer.

From JFK to the hotel it took about 35 minutes and cost $60 and we flew back from Newark which took about 50 minutes and cost $100. Taxi's readily available outside the hotel and the bellboys are happy to flag these down for you.

Wifi in lobby and business centre also very quick and efficient, and good to be able to use it for free.

All in all a good hotel, certainly only used it as a base but it served us well and comfortably for the duration of our stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: we had a room at the back and it was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neverhalfempty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Park, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in new York for 5 nights, the hotel is conveniently located next to central park and a 10 minute cab ride to time square. The room was clean and staff were friendly. It was lovely walking through central park even though it was covered with snow, unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

New year 5 day trip two adults and a 10 yr old, believe me when that say its cold its cold but you don't have to be outside for long there is a subway at the top of the street turn left when you come out of hotel or taxis everywhere ,hotel was very clean and we had no complaints. no tea or coffee making services in room but there is a starbucks at the bottom of street opens at 6am. hotel has a bar / restaurant but this is not theres and it closes very early every night about 9.00pm ish.there are plenty of eateries round and about and central park is at the top of the street. the area is very nice and goes quiet at night its not all hussel and bussel so it makes for a peaceful nights sleep . Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 217 large and very nice view out of the back of hotel was good ,view from front wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 468 in New York City
4,841 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 468 in New York City
3,479 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#378 of 468 in New York City
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing