We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still love it here....”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #251 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
York County, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I still love it here....”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We've stayed here many times and always found the staff to be wonderful, so I am surprised to hear complaints about them. They have always been helpful, pleasant and polite. We stayed May 3-5 and had booked well ahead. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a nicer room with a separate large sitting room - essentially a suite. It was very comfortable.Yes, the bathrooms are small, but sparkling clean. My only complaint is the one I keep making - rooms really need a coffee maker and coffee and a small frig.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbwYorkCounty_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    918
    301
    120
    101
See reviews for
711
641
89
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Would not stay there again even though the location great in a quiet neighborhood with close subway access; welcoming after a busy day on New York streets.

Staff unhelpful and cold. Front desk staff never offered amenities of hotel. Doorman saw me struggle with luggage; and once outside he offered to hail taxi, perhaps a more appropriate title would be "taxi man."

No coffee maker. Safe was broken. Dresser drawer was broken and would not close.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meqmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just arrived back from a 5 night stay at the hotel. Great location right next to to the subway which took you you to all the main sites . if you do need to get a cab back it's easy and NOT that expensive as the traffic is less heavy .we got a taxi back from broadway late at night and it cost $7 so hardly breaking the bank! Rooms were quiet and clean although the beds were small , more like a UK 3/4 bed so if your party is more then two be prepared for a slight squash ! the bathroom had complimentary products and these were replaced every day, an ice machine was available and were vending machines and an ATM. the bar was expensive ( although we never went ) the lobbly was beautiful really 1930's in appearance. THe staff were ok no great service but friendly enough. would I recommend yes ! Breakfast was good however be prepared for paper plates and plastic cutlery ( although we were part of a large party and breakfast was included for us ) Great City and good hotel !
It;s doesn't have tea and coffee making facilities however there is a starbucks across the road or take a travel kettle !

Room Tip: we had a courtyard view room which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auntygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We read quite a few not nice comments about this hotel! Well do not believe, it was quaint and very charming, we stayed for three nights from March 26th before going on a cruise. It was absolutely freezing outside and although the heating sounds like a jumbo warming up ! Within two or three mins it has done its job. The bed was so comfortable it was a pleasure to get in after a long day. Bathroom old fashioned, flowered tiles etc, but so clean who cares about flowered tiles....
The staff were very pleasant especially the door man who gave us step by step instructions on how to use the subway. We had walked downtown there and back for two days it was a trek but worth it. We are 65 and 67 it takes around half an hour to 40 mins... Hotel is two mins from Central Park, across the road from the History Museum and it is very quiet compared to City centre.
Disappointed with our room location, we asked for high front with a view and got a back room overlooking peoples back yards!! I did phone down and the lady said hotel was full but check in the morning and some rooms may be empty and she would move us, she was very helpful, but we decided for three nights and the length of time we spent in the room it wasn't worth the fuss.
The biggest downfall was no tea or coffee making facilities, wouldn't cost much just a cheap machine would be fine. Breakfast at hotel was a bit expensive but it was lovely all you wanted from fruit to smoked salmon. We went round the corner first morning as advised by other reviews, got a bread roll with bacon, egg and cheese on and a coffee in a cardboard cup $15 sorry but half of mine went in the bin ! I don't know what people are used to eating but fast food is not our thing, plus is was 1degree, to cold to go running round looking for breakfast....
Lenny's, on 83rd 469, Columbus Ave is good you can sit in and eat we had a bite there before we were picked up for cruise. Turn right out of Hotel then first right and it is just a block or so down, no need to cross the road.
We ate one night in the restaurant in the Hotel, fabulous, not cheap but well worth it..
All in all it is a bit out of town but you haven't got all the noise you would have in the centre, sirens are ongoing and car horns!! Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front although we only had three nights it would have been nice in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The best part of the hotel was the location across the street from Central Park which was in bloom with daffodils and tulips and flowering trees and bushes. Great access to the subway, the Met, and other landmarks. One night we enjoyed very friendly and good bar service. No complaints except our room had no view. Others had complained about the noisy heater, but we just turned everything off and it was a wonderful night's sleep. Will stay again, this time requesting a room with a view. I saw rooms were being updated

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmagail2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights in January 2014 during the so-called polar vortex event. So, it was crazy cold outside. Coming from 40C in Australia to minus 20C in New York, the heating in the room was rather important. While the heater worked OK, the room cooled down very quickly, so it needed to stay on all night - which is fine, but it was quite noisy. Better than freezing though. The foyer however (the only place to get free wifi) was freezing, and it was a little annoying to have to sit down there using the wifi rather that it being available on all floors. Location of hotel was pretty good - away fro midtown and a block from Central Park which was excellent. Close to subway too. Staff were reasonably friendly. Might stay here again if the price is right, but not if there's no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very quiet uptown location one block from central park and directly across the street from the Natural History Museum and parking garage where you also can pick up the subway. Employees were friendly and efficient. Our room was large by NY standards and newly remodeled with quality tile and fixtures.
Easy walk to restaurants right around the corner. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a front room with Natural History Museum and downtown view. Well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwmapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 468 in New York City
2,353 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 468 in New York City
4,854 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#237 of 468 in New York City
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 468 in New York City
3,482 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#378 of 468 in New York City
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing