We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude!”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #246 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rude!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We booked our room months in advance with a queen size bed. When we arrived the said we get two twins. The front desk employee said they gave the room away. Then said I can't give you something I don't have. We had all the conformation paper work and he just got ruder. We will be staying in a nicer and less expensive hotel. As a native I will tell everyone I know about this place. No sorry. No our bad. Just rude. Thanks Lynn.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    929
    304
    122
    102
See reviews for
725
649
90
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice and quit hotel on the upper west side, subway station, restaurants and grocery stores in the vicinity. 16 floors, good restaurant in the building (Calle Ocha). Breakfast buffe. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owleye54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, KY
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I love the location of the excelsior, we walked to the park plus very close to the subway. We were right across from the museum of natural history which is lovely view at night time. The staff we loved, good workout room and nice bar. I liked it so much I am staying there again in August.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglass1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a reasonably good B&B type hotel in a very convenient location for Central Park, The Metropolitan Art Museum and subway stations. The attached bar was separately run so no late night drinking. Rooms clean and adequate, bathrooms a bit small but well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed few nights here and it was good, clean and good location, just the room is not big enough I think it is ok hopefully will come again. There should be more staff in the restaurant, sometimes no one attend us

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank m_boin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right across the street from the Museum of Natural History AND Central Park. It's only two blocks from the Children's Museum of Manhattan! While the rooms were your typical smallish NYC hotel rooms, we did score a nice end 1 bedroom room with a separate bedroom... So great! The staff was excellent as well! Great restaurants in the area and lots to do without being in the middle of Times Square.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank robndani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place is in a good location if you want to run round Central Park it's also very close to the natural history museum and subway. Good clean hotel, my room was small but I think that's normal here in New York.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#220 of 467 in New York City
3,645 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#65 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#358 of 467 in New York City
181 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing