We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncaring desk staff”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #252 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2005

I have stayed at the Excelsior before, with no problems, but this time my niece and I arrived to be told that there were no non-smoking rooms to be had. Having made reservations 6 weeks previously, I felt that my request should have been honored, and said so, but the desk staff looked at me blankly and told me that these things could not be guaranteed. I asked them to call the manager, but she was not in. When I went to see the room, I was told that the carpeting had just been replaced, so the odor was lessened, but we found that actually, after one day, the odor had increased. And the window airconditioner was extremely noisy and way less than adequate.
I felt as though we were invisible, and will think long and hard before I go back to the Excelsior.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emmajane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2005

If you'd like to be just a stone's throw from Central Park, try the Excelsior.
The price is below average for NYC and the hotel is above average, so it is certainly worth a stay. Rooms are large and attractive, with small but tiled & clean bathrooms. Walk to the Fairway for a real New Yorkers breakfast hidden on second floor. Stroll through Central Park. The Museum of Natural History is across the street and a lovely little NYC Historical Society is just 2 blocks away. The upper west side is true NYC, with row houses , people walking their dogs [all with baggies, of course], nannies with little ones, and a Starbucks on every corner!

9  Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2005

We've stayed at the Excelsior three times. We love the Upper West Side, and this hotel is well priced for the area. The rooms are clean and comfortable--more room than other hotels at this rate. The only downside is the utter rudeness of staff (except the doorman, who is always great). I've written to the hotel's general manager about our concerns, but never received a reply.

But, if you don't mind your stay with a heavy dose of snootiness (and I don't generally find New Yorkers rude), the Excelsior is a good bet.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2005

We stayed at the The Excelsior over New Year's, and all in all I found it to be good choice. (In truth we ended up at the Excelsior because I made my plans late in the game, and the only NY hotels not booked at this busy time were in the mega-expensive category.) The wood pannelled hotel lobby was very attractive, with a classic New York feel. The room was on the small side, as you generally find in older hotels, but perfectly adequate and immaculate. The view, looking over the Museum of Natural history (with a small slice of Central Park to the side) was lovely. As this section of the Upper West Side is nearly all brownstones you can see for a quite a distance towards midtown. I am puzzled by reviews citing an uncooperative or unfriendly staff. When I made the reservation and requested a high floor in the front I was politely told that they could not make any guarantees. But at check-in they had my request in the computer and were happy to able to comply. Best of all, I think that The Excelsior is located in a much more interesting neighborhood then midtown, where most hotels are clustered. There's a diverse assortment of restaurants, bars, and smaller shops, Central Park's a block away, and it's primarily a residential neighborhood, so you are not surrounded by other tourists - or in an area that's full of businessmen by day but largely deserted at night. And why would people complain about the high-priced hotel breakfast when there are half a dozen good breakfast places within a couple of blocks?

7  Thank mbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2005

Fantastic Location! Clean rooms, beautiful decor, and friendly staff. This hotel was so reasonably priced, we thought it might be sub-par. On the contrary, it was fantastic! Right near the Natural History Museum and Central park Try the Columbus Street bakery, down the street and to the right for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank adembik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2005

Wow, was I pleased with this hotel. We were hard pressed to find something in New York under $300 a night because many colleges had their graduations the same weekend we were staying. We got our room for $239 a night (queen bed) and were very happy to get that rate. [As a comparison, the less than stellar Hotel Penn was going for $199.]

The room was very clean and nicely furnished. It was small by national standards, but average sized for New York. The equipment in the gym was kept up and the continental breakfast was nice, if a little pricey ($14.50 per person).

It's the other end of the block from a subway stop and Central Park. Good eating (and shopping) are to be found on Columbus Avenue (a 30 second walk from the hotel) and Amsterdam Avenue (the next block over) and Broadway (the next block after Amsterdam). The natural history museum is across the street, which our room overlooked.

Drawbacks? If you need two beds, this is not the hotel for you. If you are in town for business and need to be at Wall Street or Midtown, this is not a good location for you. And the air conditioning seems to be all or nothing. There is no room service, but all the area restaurants deliver. (This is New York--even McDonald's delivers.)

I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SweetieFreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 3 May 2005

As a former New Yorker, I cant say I expected much when I got a "cheapie"rate at the Excelsior hotel. The hotel is charming. It is in a great, QUIET location near fabulous restaurants. The rooms are not huge, but VERY clean, and well maintained. It is true, the water pressure is not so great, but at least it is hot! (unlike my other hotel before this) the staff is very helpful, and I even took a bath in the tub, it was so clean! I will certainly stay there when I return to the city.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 470 in New York City
2,450 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#228 of 470 in New York City
3,782 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#184 of 470 in New York City
5,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 470 in New York City
3,784 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#151 of 470 in New York City
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Address: 45 W 81st St, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £77 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing