We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here october 2013. We had a large suite sleeping 4. The location of the hotel is excellent, 5 mins walk to rocker feller centre, NBC, about 15 mins walk to times square and 40 mins to the Hudson river. Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment. Roof top bar is lovely on an evening as it has an open area. This is the same room one has breakfast in. Wifi except in a few public areas s chargeable at around 12 dollars per 24 hrs for upto x2 devices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonesp1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    499
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
534
393
55
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Large bedroom and living room with galley kitchen. Roof top bar and restaurant. Attentive staff. Good location. Easy walk to theaters. Save time and money on a cab, use the subway on the corner.
Few people realize the E train also stops 2 blocks away. This gets you to thtimes square or the west side in minutes. If you can get a deal this is a great choice with the sofa bed in the living room and the kitchen. If you only have 4-5 days in nyc it might be more cost effective to stay here rather than in Queens or brooklyn where you waste valuable time in transit

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a must-see rooftop bar in New York.

Outdoors is open during summer but we went during winter and it was a cosy, warm bar with excellent views of Chrysler.

Great service, nice mix of space for louder crowds and quieter couples.

Very cool.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at the Kimberly Hotel last year August. We used priceline to get a deal and when we arrived to the hotel we got an upgrade to a Suite. Great staff, not too far from Times Square -- only downside was we nearly missed our broadway show due to them not being able to flag a taxi (that's a NYC thing not an issue with the hotel)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole-Natassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Manhattan, but the Kimberly is my personal favorite. From the moment of arrival, the staff greets its customers with courtesy, warmth and professionalism. The rooms are spectacular, all updated and have every considerable amenity. I've stayed in the small suites and the large. They were both equipped with the finest linens and bedding, refrigerator, coffee pot, glasses, dishes and silverware. The bathrooms are a great size, some have heated floor tiles. This is a boutique style hotel, centrally located in midtown east. I highly recommend the Kimberly to all travelers, whether staying one night or two weeks!

Room Tip: Every room in the Kimberly has been exceptional. I prefer higher floors because there is less stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Kimberly over Halloween weekend. The location is great and rooms are appropriate sized. Nothing fancy however. Considering all of the incredible hotels in NYC I would probably pick somewhere else next time. Not what I think of when I think of 4 star hotels

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood Village, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This, my second, stay at The Kimberly Hotel, was unfortunately not for pleasure but for a family medical emergency. I arrived very worried about what we were facing, but was welcomed with such warmth and attentiveness by the hotel front desk staff and bell men that I almost felt I had come home. Our room was a perfect respite from the trips to Cornell Hospital and the doctor's offices. I loved having a little kitchenette in our room to make tea and keep a few healthy snacks in the room. The furniture was very beautiful and I cannot emphasize enough how wonderful the beds were - my daughter called them 'cloud beds'. But most wonderful of all was the kind and concerned employees at the front desk who never failed to help me at every turn. They truly made me feel like I was at home in the city. I cannot wait to return to New York for a more pleasure-filled trip, and when I do, The Kimberly will be my choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magenta9226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,352 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#100 of 468 in New York City
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing