We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel for family or business travel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel for family or business travel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

After completing much research, I booked three nights at The Kimberly for a last-minute three-day trip to Manhattan for my family of four. What a wonderful decision. Upon arrival, Ralph, the doorman, welcomed my children and gave them each a custom activity book. He is on the cover so they felt like they were meeting a celebrity. We entered the lobby with its marble, gorgeous aquarium and beautiful rugs and appreciated the details in the decor. Linda checked us in and thoughtfully selected a room based on our party - a family with two kids ages 5 and 8. We were sent to a spacious luxury one-bedroom suite with a king bed and a comfortable sofa bed in the living room. There were three roomy closets (typically unheard of in NYC hotels), a beautiful bathroom, a very convenient kitchenette complete with a dishwasher, and a terrific balcony with city views. The room was extremely quiet and close enough to the elevator to be convenient, but far enough away that we didn't hear it. Frette linens were fab, as usual! The rain shower head was great and mounted high enough that my tall husband didn't have to duck, which is often the case in hotels. We loved going Upstairs for the breakfast buffet, which in my opinion, is well-priced for NYC at $11 (children) and $22 (adults) plus an included gratuity. The custom-made omelets and oatmeal were my favorites. My kids loved the bacon and pancakes and my husband enjoyed the coffee, among other things. Great fresh fruit and fruit juices (fresh) too, along with a selection of tea. The views from Upstairs are gorgeous, especially of the Chrysler building. Overall, the service was exceptional. Housekeeping should be commended too. There is a small business center with complimentary use of the computers and printers. The concierge was friendly and offered good solutions. All of the staff we met were helpful and kind to our kids, who were well-behaved but admittedly very excited to be visiting the big city and therefore quite enthusiastic! The location is great and within easy walking distance to Grand Central Station, Central Park, Dylan's Candy Bar and all of the famed Midtown hotels and bars. We enjoyed a casual meal at Sushi Nada two doors away and found it to be well-priced, clean, have great service and good sushi. We did not have a chance to visit Upstairs in the evening but if I were traveling without kids that would have been a fun option. We also missed Noir, adjacent to the hotel, but also think that would be a worthwhile place for drinks and/or tapas if traveling without kids. From The Kimberly, cabs to or from the Natural History Museum, Chelsea, Hell's Kitchen, Empire State Building and Penn Station were all between $10-20 including tips. We walked everywhere else. Thanks for a great visit. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a D location room and it was terrific with nice City views. Very quiet too. The luxury one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel4RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Kimberly and that you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad that you were able to experience the wonderful view and breakfast offered at Upstairs and look forward to your visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    482
    109
    48
    23
See reviews for
493
365
53
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is well located in east midtown; close to many desired destinations. Nice rooms. Don't get excited about a balcony- not much of a view. The roof top at this hotel may be the big draw. But $16 and up for drinks gets pretty steep. We went to the roof top for breakfast which consisted of a typical buffet- omelets to order, bacon, sausage in a warmer and some forgettable pastries. What made this a rip off was the $25 per person cost. That came after we paid $12.95 for Wi-Fi and $50for valet parking. You can probably do better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly during your recent stay. The Kimberly strives to provide guests with a comfortable, luxurious, and valuable stay and I apologize that you were anything less than completely satisfied with your time spent here. We find our pricing overall is very competitive in the midtown area and therefore hope that you will afford us another opportunity to serve you here.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kimberly for 8 nights in June and I must say it made my holiday unforgettable. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel, as it was right in the heart of Manhattan and close to everything we wanted to visit and see. The hotel personnel was more than nice, friendly and helpful. This was my first time in New York, and I just wanted to make sure I see everything worth seeing and do not miss on anything. The concierge was very knowledgeable about everything we wanted to know, and gave us clear instructions on everything you need in a new city: groceries, sightseeing, public transport, best bars and restaurants in and out of that area and so much more. I almost didn't need my research I have done previously on the internet.
We got a beautiful one bedroom, with a balcony, and all possible amenities and facilities. The gym of the hotel is not too big but still has everything you need to be in the shape while being on holiday, but if you are a sport addict, being their guest gives you the access to one of the best New York's health clubs, which is almost in the same street where the hotel is (Health and Racket club).
The breakfast was served on their Roof Top restaurant and bar called Upstairs. Where could your day start better than in one of the best New York's roof tops with a chocolate croissant & american coffee!? The breakfast offered a great variety of cold and hot plates, and we loved hanging out there in early morning hours. It was a great charge for the long summer days and long walks we did while being there. The same restaurant would be opened from 4 pm onward for the guests to have some fresh juices and canapes. The Upstairs is a perfect location for a nice dinner as well, turning into a funky New York's bar some time after 10 pm. The restaurant would be mostly fully booked, and the bar would be packed after, so if you want to spend some time there you better book in advance.
We almost did not use the taxi, as the hotel location was perfect, and you could easily reach anything from there. It's literally 5 minutes walk from the Main Train station, 10 min walk from the Central Park or Time Square, just 3 minutes from the Park, 5th or Madison avenue.
The room was cleaned every day by sweet and friendly girls, and I must say they are doing impeccable job. Anything additional you may want (extra cutlery, an adapter or so) the housekeeping would bring immediately. The bed was very comfortable. Each room has a TV, so we could enjoy all possible channels, and there were a lot! As my boyfriend wanted to watch the World Cup, it was perfect as we had it on almost 3 different channels.
I am more than glad we stayed there and we will be back there again. We loved New York, and I believe Kimberly helped us in great sense to have this experience. We particularly want to thank great staff we met at Upstairs during our early breakfasts, the housekeeping girls and all the boys and girls at the front desk (reception,concierge, bell boys, security).
It was my perfect summer holiday!

Room Tip: Get a room with the breakfast! The breakfast is great and served at the most beautiful Roof Top of N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilarija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kimberly for your summer holiday. We are glad that you were able to have an enjoyable experience and take advantage of our wonderful view and services at the Upstairs lounge. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next trip to New York.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

omg, the space! closets galore, almost full kitchen, dining table. but....aside from kitchen and bath, a bit dated. Poor internet service (not free), noise penetrated walls as well as doors, and the air conditioning was weak. Neighborhood is almost all hotels, so unless you are willing to walk, there's not much to do in the immediate neighborhood. on the other hand, NYC has great transportation, and if you go 2 blocks west, you are in the heart of midtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kimberly during your recent visit. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious suites. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your time and have addressed these issues with the appropriate department heads. I invite you to contact me directly so I can personally handle your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

just fyi...The Kimberly has the best ever beds in the world!!! Slept the whole night through in true comfort! Kuddos to the All round great staff and service! Our stay couldn't have been better! Hats off to y'all at The Kimberly...thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly. We are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and friendly staff during your recent stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

From the colorful fish tank in the lobby to the lovely traditional decor, The Kimberly is now a favorite of mine in NYC -- for work travel or with the entire family. The staff was attentive and responsive without being intrusive. The suite accommodations were really well done -- everything was clean, well decorated, and all the extras were within reach. The suites are really spacious, especially for the city and price, and it was quiet during our visit, a rarity in NYC, even with an event going strong on the rooftop. Considering all the character and charm, I'd put The Kimberly up against any 4+ star hotel in NYC. My only complaint is that my first name isn't Kimberly, so I didn't score one of those free robes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marketingmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite during your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location of the hotel was great, but the hotel room was tired. The bed was way too soft with a huge feather bed on top of the mattress. The sink had a big plaster patch in it, and the shower head was weak, very little pressure. I've had better luck in other 'four star' hotels in NYC. This seemed more three star. The rooftop patio was fabulous though. Great view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreajoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly during your recent stay and we are glad that you were able to enjoy the Upstairs rooftop lounge. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered in your room during your stay and they have been addressed with their department heads. I invite you to contact me directly to personally handle your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing