We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kimberly Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
San Carlos Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Benjamin(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
W New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New York Marriott East Side(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oakwood Cosmopolitan(New York City)
View Hotel
Hotel 48LEX New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,089)
Filter reviews
2,089 results
Traveller rating
1,342
555
117
51
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,342
555
117
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom suiterooftop barchrysler buildingthe penthousenew yorkfull kitchenrockefeller centersmall kitchenthe sofa bedsitting roomliving areadoor staffaround the cornercentral parkboutique hotelrooms are largewonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 2,089 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fab location and quiet at night so can sleep really well & bed is fabulous. The hotel is about 15 mins walk to Times Square but on the way you can stop at numerous cafés or bars. Subway located around the corner as well as cheaper alternative cafés for breakfast. However the rooftop bar does a lovely breakfast and it's lovely there at might also with the view if the Chrysler building and the ambience is great. We had a room in the annex section which was large with good size tv but no view or balcony as some rooms have. Would recommend for families as in a quieter safe location.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Kimberly during your recent visit! We greatly appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you found our hotel and location accommodating during your stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent several days at The Kimberly for a family celebration in May and it was the perfect place for our needs. 9 of us shared several lovely suites, some with large, full kitchenettes and living rooms that were big enough for all of us to gather for breakfast and/or lunch (even if some of us were sitting on the floor).

Because there were so many of of us - I got the opportunity to see multiple suites on several different floors. Some are slightly larger than others and have different layouts, but all are quite lovely. In general, the rooms are beautiful, spacious, elegantly appointed with luxurious (electronically controlled) window treatments. The beds are great, linens are of beautiful cotton, there are TVs located in both bedroom and living area and most important - the rooms are clean.

That said, I liked my suite best! My rooms were located on quite a high floor in the hotel so that my balcony looked down on some nice buildings and gardens below. The views were not brilliant, but I loved that we could actually go outside into fresh air!!! My bathroom was the best of all the suites I saw! It was spacious with a large double sink, heated floors, a deep soaking tub with rain shower head and all the nicest amenities. That gorgeous bathroom probably was the reason my kitchenette was so little. (Basically it fit into an armoire) It had a fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a small "dining" table for 2 in the living room which really was all that was needed for 2 people. Some people complained about the speed of their WiFi, but since I did not use it, I won't comment. I was just happy it was available!

The Kimberly has a lovely rooftop bar/restaurant. Having read the reviews in advance, we knew that drinks were going to be overpriced. But since we were all staying at the hotel, celebrating - we chose to go up anyway and enjoy the views. It was busy and took quite a bit of time to get served, but it was a lovely evening and the view of the Chrysler Building was terrific. Certainly it was worth enjoying once. (And the front desk staff warned us in advance that they had a no sneaker rule, so we knew the dress code)

The hotel is located off the main busy streets so it is quiet, but it's location makes for an easy walk or subway ride to most anywhere you would want to go. Great restaurants are everywhere near by - from fabulous bagel shops to The National, owned by celebrity chef Geoffrey Zakarian, which is almost next door. However, when you need a cab or car, the staff make that happen with ease. The concierge does her job well! High marks for the staff!

The Kimberly Hotel is an excellent place to stay. I would stay again and highly recommend it!
Don't stay here if you are looking for the most "hip and cool" hotel in NYC. But if you want to stay in in NYC, have space, feel elegant and pampered, reserve your room now. You will be happy you did!

Room Tip: Request a suite on a high floor in the hotel (but not under the restaurant/ bar) and ask for one with the fabulous bathroom!!! :)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winewomantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Kimberly. We take pride in our suites and spacious bathrooms and I am glad that your family was able to enjoy their celebration with us. We look forward to having you back to stay with us soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Kimberly in June 2014 on a family vacay that stopped in NYC on our way to Paris. We stayed one night at the kimberly and we were very impressed. Awesome service, rooms were beautifully decorated, and the absolute perfect location if you want to be walking distance to the best shops on 5th and Madison. We will definitely return. The hotel restaurant Noir was wonderful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at The Kimberly. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here and were able to experience our restaurant, Noir. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have booked this hotel for several of my Senior VP's and other employees and they have had nothing but excellent things to say about the property.

The staff were all very helpful and attentive to their needs and made sure any requests/ room service were fullfilled as soon as possible.

If you are able to book in advance a little, one week, the prices are comparable to the Major chain Hotels in the vicinity but you get so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly to accommodate your business needs. We are happy to serve you and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After completing much research, I booked three nights at The Kimberly for a last-minute three-day trip to Manhattan for my family of four. What a wonderful decision. Upon arrival, Ralph, the doorman, welcomed my children and gave them each a custom activity book. He is on the cover so they felt like they were meeting a celebrity. We entered the lobby with its marble, gorgeous aquarium and beautiful rugs and appreciated the details in the decor. Linda checked us in and thoughtfully selected a room based on our party - a family with two kids ages 5 and 8. We were sent to a spacious luxury one-bedroom suite with a king bed and a comfortable sofa bed in the living room. There were three roomy closets (typically unheard of in NYC hotels), a beautiful bathroom, a very convenient kitchenette complete with a dishwasher, and a terrific balcony with city views. The room was extremely quiet and close enough to the elevator to be convenient, but far enough away that we didn't hear it. Frette linens were fab, as usual! The rain shower head was great and mounted high enough that my tall husband didn't have to duck, which is often the case in hotels. We loved going Upstairs for the breakfast buffet, which in my opinion, is well-priced for NYC at $11 (children) and $22 (adults) plus an included gratuity. The custom-made omelets and oatmeal were my favorites. My kids loved the bacon and pancakes and my husband enjoyed the coffee, among other things. Great fresh fruit and fruit juices (fresh) too, along with a selection of tea. The views from Upstairs are gorgeous, especially of the Chrysler building. Overall, the service was exceptional. Housekeeping should be commended too. There is a small business center with complimentary use of the computers and printers. The concierge was friendly and offered good solutions. All of the staff we met were helpful and kind to our kids, who were well-behaved but admittedly very excited to be visiting the big city and therefore quite enthusiastic! The location is great and within easy walking distance to Grand Central Station, Central Park, Dylan's Candy Bar and all of the famed Midtown hotels and bars. We enjoyed a casual meal at Sushi Nada two doors away and found it to be well-priced, clean, have great service and good sushi. We did not have a chance to visit Upstairs in the evening but if I were traveling without kids that would have been a fun option. We also missed Noir, adjacent to the hotel, but also think that would be a worthwhile place for drinks and/or tapas if traveling without kids. From The Kimberly, cabs to or from the Natural History Museum, Chelsea, Hell's Kitchen, Empire State Building and Penn Station were all between $10-20 including tips. We walked everywhere else. Thanks for a great visit. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a D location room and it was terrific with nice City views. Very quiet too. The luxury one bedroom suite has a spacious bedroom with a closet with closet organizer (built in dresser and room to hang clothing) AND a dresser. There are two more closets in the main room. Definitely the right size for a family of four if the kiddos can sleep in the same bed. This would also work for two couples (if they are friendly and don't mind sharing a bathroom) and would be very doable for two adults traveling together as friends or colleagues, again if the one bathroom is ok.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariel4RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Kimberly and that you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad that you were able to experience the wonderful view and breakfast offered at Upstairs and look forward to your visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews