We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
“NYC Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was my first time staying at a "boutique hotel" and I was a little unsure about paying a bit more than most of the already pricy hotels in NYC - however it was worth every penny. The room we had was a suite with two double beds, bathroom, living room, and kitchenette. The kitchenette has a refrigerator, toaster, microwave, dishwasher, dishes, glasses, silverware, and most improtant...a cork remover and glasses for the wine!

The hotel was offering a discount on a meal at the retaurant Noir and because we had a delay with check in Linda, front desk, spoke to the manager and was able to give us a little bit more of a discount. The restaurant is beautiful, the food was perfectly prepared, and the service was great. Thank you Linda!

The consierge, Peter Johnson, was a great help. Every morning we stopped to see him and get some insight. He recommended an Italian restaurant that he likes, Luna Piena on E 53rd St. I too highly recommend this restaurant, the food and service were great. Peter, thank you for all your help!

The hotel is adding their own Italian restaurant soon. There is also a sitting room in the lobby that has a huge round fish tank. The penthouse level of the hotel has an outdoor bar and seating area. I went up there one evening expecting to find a quiet corner to enjoy a drink and a book but instead found it to be lively, full of people and music, it was wonderful.

The Kimberly is located on E 50th St and was very convenient to everything. My friend and I used public transportation the whole time including to and from the airport. To and from LGA was a little bit of a trek with luggage so it may not be for everyone. But, if you want to pamper yourself without breaking the bank try the Kimberly Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    484
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
510
369
53
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Kimberly Hotel in a suite as we had our two teenagers travelling with us (they had the sizeable twin bedded room). We spent 8 nights and would be hard pressed to complain about our experiences here. Our only small grumble would be that we were unable to access the free lobby WiFi, we really feel it should be available free throughout the hotel and not just in the lobby in this day and age especially when you can access free in so many areas of the city. A password protection would provent non-residents from accessing it. However the staff very graciously gave each child an ID number allowing them free access in our suite for the duration of the stay. They were extremely happy to be able to keep in contact with boy/girl-friends from home without having to search the city for free hot spots! The pull down sofa bed that my husband and I used in the living area was huge and having a solid base for the mattress made it extremely comfortable, much better than we expected. The kitchen area had all we required to enable breakfast and the ability to reheat anything we brought back. We hadn't been aware of the dress code for the penthouse bar and as hubby only had casual shoes meant we were unable to visit in the evening - we did however take advantage of the complimentary tea/coffee and pastries there one afternoon but have to state that the staff did not approach us so we were left to find clean cups/plates and to serve ourselves, an annoyance as there were three members of staff milling around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

It's a convenient location IF you want to see midtown like most people who visit NYC do! For those of us who used to live in Manhattan, midtown is to be avoided - why? too many tourists! ugly office buildings, too much commerce, too much traffic and no charm. All of that said I would brave midtown again just to stay at the Kimberly. This hotel is so very nice, clean and well maintained, great linens, excellent air conditioning, quiet rooms, balconies so you can check the temperature outside before you leave the room so you know if you need that sweater or can leave it behind, well appointed bathrooms with products, exceptional friendly helpful staff, great concierge service AND ( bonus) the adjoining restaurant NOIR has great food! I will say I enjoyed the other guests - there were lots of international travelers, a few business people. the only down side was the roof top bar - a completely lackluster experience subpar service and unfriendly staff. quite the opposite of everyone/everywhere else at this charming low key hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on north side are quieter but you miss the view of the empire state building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Light_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just spent a weekend at the Kimberly, our 2nd time there. When we arrived, which was late due to flight delay, the balcony room suite I requested didn't have a balcony, so they kindly upgraded us to Exec Suite. A lovely room, but I am disappointed that the balconies are not furnished. The pics on website show a chair/table combo, but on the side of the building we were on, none of them had furniture on them at all. This is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars!Outside of that, we love the spacious room with kitchenette, comfortable bed, and location to everything we want to see. We headed up to the rooftop bar on the Friday night but it was packed, standing room only, so we went down to their relatively new restaurant NOIR. We thoroughly enjoyed that venue, quiet, great service, and the large doors to the street were open so it felt like you were on a patio. Wifi in the room you have to pay for, but free in the lobby and the business centre, where there are 2 computers for your use.
We have stayed in 5 different hotels in NYC but this is the one we come back to!
We've already booked our return in December!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the misunderstanding about the balcony furniture. However, furniture for you balcony is available upon request. We look forward to having you back in December!

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Kimberly in a 2 bedroom suite which was in fact 2 suites joined by a connecting door. This was perfect for us: a king size double in one room and 2 queen size doubles in the other - perfect for our 2 teenagers. Plus a bathroom each, loads of hanging space, a large lounge, kitchen and balcony with fab views of the city.
Everything you could possibly need is provided - it's like a home from home!
We slept really well each night, the beds were ridiculously comfortable and there was very little noise from outside.
The staff were all charming and friendly and could not have been more helpful.
The location is ideal and we could walk to most of the attractions we wanted to visit.
Really cannot recommend this place highly enough, we would definitely love to return one day!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have amazing views of the city and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane52813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing to stay at The Kimberly during your recent visit! It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, friendly staff, and that you were able to enjoy our Upstairs rooftop lounge. We are so glad that you have found your "home away from home".

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over the 4th July weekend and found it was a fantastic location. Subway near and easy walk everywhere. Our room was a nice size and was nicely furnished, great beds and the best toiletries package I have seen in a hotel. The bathroom was very large and had double sinks and a TV. There were 2 issues, which I pointed out to the hotel, but didn't get taken care of until after we were gone. The A/C in our room was old and very loud. It cooled just fine, but was too loud for us. We asked to move to a suite, but none were available. The prices were very reasonable. My son's family booked a 1 bedroom suite and it was amazing, even had a balcony! They said they will always stay there from now on.

I did contact the hotel after our visit, and they made things right by apologizing and said that our next stay will be a complimentary suite. I thought that was outstanding! So now the Kimberly will be my NYC stay when we visit.

Be sure to visit the rooftop bar - I loved it - one of our trip highlights.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get the 1 bedroom suite, it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatsotsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,


We are so glad that you chose to stay at The Kimberly! The Kimberly's amenities are
not to miss, and we are glad that you were able to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Kimberly Hotel in NYC and had a blast. We were upgraded and were able to check in early (we had booked through a third party and they did not book us with the proper number of guests like we asked). The staff was professional as well as knowledgeable. The concierge and bellmen (thanks Kevin) were extremely helpful directing us and offering suggestions. The only complaint is the slow elevators. Overall I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suite was spacious and gave plenty of privacy. The hotel rooftop lounge was packed every evening w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFiveash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Kimberly! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you found our helpful staff and spacious suite accommodating. Thank you for choosing The Kimberly and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing