We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel !”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel !”
Reviewed 31 August 2006

we stayed in a one bed suite with a king bed and seperate living room which had a pull out sofa bed-ideal if you have children as we have. The room was beautifully appointed with a kitchen full of the necessary cutlery etc, and we were most impressed at the standard of the towels and linens but best of all was the fabulous bed which is probably the best we have ever encountered in a hotel. The hotel is in a great location close to the subway on lexington and has a good irish pub just two streets away and numerous coffee shops in the area. The staff were great especially Harry the doorman who made our seven year olds day every time he greeted her with a high five and a hiya princess! We would definitely stay here again as the location, service and standard of the rooms are wonderful for the rate that this hotel charges. I would certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Fantastic service,quality acommodation,very clean and quiet,excellent location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank melsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    490
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
518
380
53
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, MT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The lobby is tiny, but very warm and welcoming. We stayed at a one bedroom suite. The rooms were at a very reasonable price: about #300 per night. They were quite small, like the lobby, but very comfortable. I liked that there was a fully-equipped kitchen, and a nice dining room. The beds were relaxing, but the queen sized sofa bed was too springy and when I woke up, my back was aching. There were great amenities, but the Internet access is a little pricey. (I mean, $7.95 for 24 hours!) There is a printer/fax/copier on the desk too. The service is extremely friendly; they are polite and very kind to children. The dining here is great too. I have tried their breakfast buffet, and it was very good. On weekdays, the breakfast buffet is free for people staying at the hotel, but for outsiders, it is not complimentary. Overall, it was a very nice stay at the Kimberly Hotel.

  • Liked — The service!
  • Disliked — The sofa bed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a one bedroom suite with TWO DOUBLE BEDS.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
26 Thank ILoveSnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara area
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2006

Just back from a great ladies getaway for a long weekend of eating, shopping, theatre-going and laughing! The Kimberly was an important factor in our enjoyable escape. The doormen were all very helpful and charming. The room was very comfortable,quiet and spacious ( by N.Y. standards) and the bed very comfy. The A/C worked very well during our extremely hot weather. Having been many times to N.Y. this hotel ranks highly in my mind. Location is ideal......close to Bloomingdales- 5 min. walk...and not far from Rockefellar Center and Fifth Ave. Fine breakfast places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank RDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2006

I can't remember when I've stayed in a nicer hotel. The location was wonderful. The rooms are small but very comfortable. At night your bed is turned down and they put music on from the bose clock radio. There was a good size refrigerator and icrowave. The refrigerator even had an ice maker. There are plush terry cloth robes you can use. There's even a pillow menu. You can chose from 1 of 10 pillow types. The bathroom is very nice and clean. If you want a nice view you're going to have to sacrifice quiet. The inside suites are facing other apartment buildings but the upside is the room is quiet. There's a great lunchenette right down the street. We ate both dinner and lunch there once. All in all I think this was a great hotel. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The hotel had a nice old world charm to it
  • Disliked — abosolutely nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank amillr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

i read how great this place was and must admit i was quite disapointed. I stayed in 3J. I arrived last week sunday to the NY heat wave to discover that i was never going to get the room cool with the 100 year old airconditioner that seems to exist in so many old ny hotels.

Other than that the stay was fine but nothing memorable. Maybe a touch bigger than the cool boutique hotels, bed was good, but otherwise disapointing after reading reviews.

Going to try the sofitel next week when i am back

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room was nothing special
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Rainmaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2006

My family of four stayed at the Kimberly from June 30 to July 11, 2006. It was our first trip to NYC, and the hotel was fabulous. The suite was great; plenty of room for the adults in one room and the children on a queen sized pull out sofa bed. The location was terrific; subway entrance to the 6 on Lexington was literally around the corner. Easy walking to Rockefeller Center and 5th Avenue. Any questions or concerns were promptly handled by the extremely friendly staff. The full kitchen was wonderful. With Ess-A-Bagel around the corner, we were set for breakfast for the entire trip. We definitely recommend the KImberly, and plan to stay there again when we have the opportunity to return to New York.

  • Liked — Friendly staff; great location
  • Disliked — Some fixtures showing signs of age; very minor concern.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dancingal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 July 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our recent 6 night stay at the Kimberly. The staff is helpful, friendly and courteous. The Kimberly resides in a safe and centrally located part of Manhattan. This was our first trip to NYC and we were able to walk or take the subway to any part of Manhattan with little or no direction. Our hotel room was nicely appointed with a great bed and full kitchen. We took the subway to Union Square for groceries at Trader Joe's and/or Whole Foods and saved a lot of money preparing our own meals using all the dishes and utensils provided. Also, our suite was the quietest room we've ever stayed in; we heard no "neighbor noise" the entire time! Believe all these positive reviews - this is a wonderful place to stay and we will do so again on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing