We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #25 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2010

You cannot go wrong with The Kimberly Hotel. It is near Saks 5th Ave but also within walking distance of Central Park. The regular rooms have a fridge and microwave. The size is also nice. The only noise I heard was people honking their horns (of course). The staff is helpful and friendly. Loved it. Would stay again.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank kat516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

My wife and I along with our 16 year old daughter just returned from a 3 nite stay at this great hotel. We stayed in an Empire suite on the 19th floor. The room had a seperate bedroom and a large living area with a pull out queen sofa bed. There was a flate screen tv in both rooms, along with a large frige and microwave. Anything we requested was delivered very quickly. The staff was very helpful and gratious. The hotel is located on east 50th st, so you are close to all major attractions. There is also a subway station just down the block. The hotel is a very well soundproofed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winder52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed at The Kimberly Hotel for six nights. May 29th – June 4, 2010.
Stayed in a one-bedroom suite. Not the refurbished luxury ones.(We looked at one and not much better for the money. ) Suite was perfect. Bathroom very clean and spacious Bedroom huge, very clean, king bed very comfortable. Living area very clean as was the kitchenette. New rug through out. Yes the furniture was showing age but not ripped or broken. 2 flat screen TV’s. Nice size balcony.
The Hotel staff could not have been better. Very personal service. Always there to open a door. The little things they do make it special. We walked through the Waldorf, and the Res. Inn. You felt like just a number. Not saying they are bad hotels.
Breakfast included in our rate, freshly made to order omelets and the rest of the usual continental breakfast choices.
Midtown East location is close to the subway and attractions.
Very glad we choose this hotel.
Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark1Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We (5 of us, including my 3 years old daughter) stayed at the Kimberly for 2 nights and were extremely satisfied with our pick. The location is great, so we could easily walk to Central Park, Times Square, and other places. The room we got was very, very, large (2BR, 2 bath, living room/kitchenette). There was plenty of space for all of us, and we even had a balcony. The room was clean, and pretty quiet at night (from the other rooms and outside). The staff was very friendly and helpful in making recommendations. I would highly recommend staying there, except if you don't like antique furniture...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I love the location of the Kimberly; walking distance to everywhere mid-town. Good eats all around, good bars, good transportation -- shopping, too, if that's your habit. I was in a 5th floor single king -- both the room and the bed were delightfully spacious. 7 pillows on a very comfy bed. Bathroom was well appointed and there was plenty of hot water. Hate the notion of paying for the Internet but I did 'cause I needed it. I clocked the Internet speed - slow, very very slow, too slow, especially for the price. And be careful if you are inclined to pick up the hotel phone - $3 for a local call, $3 even for an 800-Number call. Use your cellphone! Didn't see any of the suites and didn't try the breakfast - I think it's free, not sure. Only serious downside, other than the Internet charges is the noisy loading of the trash trucks directly across the street, from 11pm to 1am, seemingly every night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My best friend and I spent 4 nights at the Kimberly (May 13-16) while on a "girls trip" and were very happy with our accomodations. We requested 2 double beds, and an "updated' room" and got exactly what we wanted (Room 7-J is beautiful!). The beds had Italian linens and were sooo comfortable! The room was very spacious, and had everything we needed, including a flat screen TV on the wall! The staff was very friendly and helpful, although check in was a bit slow.
Great location for walking to Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, even the Theatre District. The New York Luncheonette next door is a great little breakfast place! The restaurant in the hotel was being remodeled, and will not be open again for a couple of months, but there are plenty of restaurants close by.
We only had two minor complaints: no ice machines on our floor (room service had to bring ice) and the air conditioner in the room did not keep the room as cool as we would prefer (even on high). These two things would not stop me from staying at the Kimberly again, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prissy2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for two days. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room itself was tastefully decorated and had many nice little touches (heated floor in bath, his and hers hair dryers, shoe buffer, corkscrew). The bed was incredibly comfortable. We also enjoyed the rooftop lounge. If you're planning to do things in midtown, its a great location...walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center. The restaurant was under renovation so we ordered room service one night and enjoyed a delicious meal with a beautiful presentation. Manhattan in general is expensive and this hotel is on par with others of its caliber. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darmasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#90 of 469 in New York City
2,757 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £179 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing