We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and lots of room”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and lots of room”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We go to New York 2-3 times a year and this is our home away from home. Forget tiny, overpriced rooms-try the Kimberly and have your own kitchen, dining area and 2 bedrooms.
Great shopping and restaurants, eat Zabar's takeout one night, it is the best spot in New York.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO63048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    489
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
518
378
53
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I travel frequently for work and stayed at the Kimberly for almost three months. The great thing about this is the suite style spacious rooms. Most of the rooms need an interior update however the rooms are always clean. The most important thing about the room is the bed and I have NEVER slept so well and in NYC no less. The beds and bed linens are amazing. The hotel is small boutique type which is nice because you don't get the large crowds. The hotel recently opened their newly renovated rooftop which has a great view and vibe. The small plates and tasty cocktails were fabulous. The bellmen are so friendly, genuine and helpful (more than any hotel I've stayed at). Very accommodating staff! The location of the hotel is convenient to shopping and the subway and great if you don't want be in the crowds of people/tourists.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92lber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The hotel room was great. However, the dining was not a good experience. They would not allow men to wear shorts or sandals but yet the manager was sitting there with shorts on. They would not allow us to stay. This was at 11:30 at night and out in the open and it was not a formal setting. All we wanted to do was have a cocktail!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The area of New York where The Kimberly Hotel is located is a nice, safe section of Manhattan. You can walk around at all hours of the night without worrying about safety.

I usually stay at the Waldof=Astoria which is 1.5 blocks away, but I'm tired of spending $300+/night for an overrated hotel. Therefore, I chose The Kimberly because it was rated 3.5 stars and was only $170.

The only complaint (and it's minor) is the staff. When I arrived, I was told it was too early to check in, followed by a blank stare from the gentleman working at the front desk. I asked if I could check my bag and come back later, which he allowed me to do.

The room was the best-appointed room I have ever stayed in. I'm sure that since I paid so little I received the smallest room they had. However, it was not small.

The entry-way was marble. The bathroom was marble. The kitchenette was marble. The bed had about 15 pillows on it. There was a large flat screen TV in the room.

I was also impressed with the speed of the elevators.

I only stayed a total of 19 hours, but based on location and price, I would definitely do it again.

LOCATION: Within walking distance of many places (Broadway, for example, is about 15 minutes away.)

HOTEL RESTAURANTS: Over priced. Many more reasonable options half a block down the street on 3rd Avenue.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierreLaCroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

This intimate and chic hotel is now my first go-to choice for all future visits to N.Y.
The staff bends over backwards to provide prompt and flawless service. They are warm and welcoming from the front desk to housekeeping, from conciege to resturant manager.
Tastefully decorated suites are comfortable in both size and quality- lush pillows, crisp linens and thick towels abound. The small kitchen is thoughtfully stocked with utensils, plates and glasses.
The penthouse bar offers a breakfast buffet in the morning. An omlet of your choice, crisp bacon, fresh fruit and other items are ready and waiting. One can linger with morning paper and coffee, sitting out on the roof top terrace or inside at tables with vista city views.
Once home and realizing I had lost an earring,though holding little hope it would be found, I called the hotel. Sure enough, housekeeping had discovered it and had set it aside. It is now being sent to me. The impressive efficiency of the Kimberly continuing to shine on days after I had checked out .
The Kimberly offers a fantastic experience for anyone lucky enough to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My husband, myself, and my sister and her husband stayed at the Kimberly from June 17, 2010 until June 20,2010. The location was great, we were close to many restaurants, other hotels and of course 5th Avenue. There was a subway stop down the block. The hotel staff was friendly, professional and very, very accomodating. The rooms, were large with huge bathrooms. We stayed in a luxury one bedroom suite, it was recently renovated with two bathrooms and a nice mini- frig. The balcony was small but very quaint. My sister stayed in a one bedroom suite and the room was even larger with a full kitchen. The toiltries were plentiful and always replenished. The bed was extremely comfortable. Everyone went out of their way to make sure our stay was fantastic. One of the lamps was missing a bulb in my sisters room, house keeping was there within 2 minutes to fix the problem, with a smile. The rooftop restaurant was nicely decorated and lots of fun. We went on the Kimberly Yacht for Fathers Day Brunch, it was a blast. While we were waiting to go to the pier it started to rain, the doorman immediately brought us umbrella's to borrow until we came back for our luggage. (We had already checked out). When we came back to collect out luggage I needed to use the restroom, but it was occupied by a family changing clothes, instead of making me wait, the doorman brought me to a staff restroom. These are just examples of the things the staff did to accomodate their guests. I will stay here everytime I come to New York.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2010

You cannot go wrong with The Kimberly Hotel. It is near Saks 5th Ave but also within walking distance of Central Park. The regular rooms have a fridge and microwave. The size is also nice. The only noise I heard was people honking their horns (of course). The staff is helpful and friendly. Loved it. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kat516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing