We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #112 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Kitano during one of the busiest times of the year in NYC, Dec 27-29. This hotel is clean, quiet, convenient location, and has the most courteous staff I've encountered at a NYC hotel. Never wait for an elevator, ice delivered to the room, fancy toilet (with controls!), comfortable bed, large room and bathroom with counter space!!! It is located 4-5 street blocks from 2 subway stations and getting a taxi was never difficult. The combination of amenities, location and helpful polite staff makes the Kitano my favorite hotel to stay at in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovevacations09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    421
    106
    32
    17
See reviews for
242
428
80
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I ended up at the Kitano by getting a reservation through Hotwire. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The hotel is well maintained, beautifully decorated and all staff were extremely pleasant. We arrived earlier than check in time and were graciously accommodated as we were allowed to check into an available room. They let us choose between either a "smoking room" that was available at the time or waiting until check in time for a non smoking room. We wanted to get settled so we chose the smoking room. We got into our room and the room was pristine and did not smell the least bit of smoke. The room has a wonderful shower with a tub that would be perfect for a bath (the tub came up to my knees). The bathroom had heated towel racks and an advanced toilet that allowed for you to heat the seat and cleanse yourself with water and a dryer. We ended up on the fourth floor and had a lovely view of the empire state building from our room. There comfortable robes available and slippers that you could take home. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browneyes8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
227 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I went here last minute on a Friday evening and heard some awesome Jazz. Before the band began, the host told the crowd that if they we're hear to have a conversation, to please go into the lobby! Great atmosphere for couples!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A hotel with Japanese-style service mentality. Warm and courteous staff. Quiet and clean hotel room with good amendities and lighting. I espeically like the quietness give the central location of the hotel. The Japanese restaurant downstairs has excellent lunch choices and it was crowded with Japanese speaking people when I was there. One drawback (although not too different from other NYC hotels) is the additional charge for internet. It is a hassle especially when you have multiple devices. Also I didn't find a place for ice on the floor I stayed at (but they might have it somewhere). Overall I will recommend this hotel to friends and will come back when work requires another trip to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V-Y-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at The Kitano on Thanksgiving weekend, it's beautiful, clean and very well maintained. The staff is so courteous, love the Japanese theme. Nice location on Park Avenue, walkable to Grand Central Station, NY Public Library and Times Square.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulips888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a Japanese themed/owned hotel on Park Avenue a few blocks south of Grand Central Station. The property itself is cleaned and well maintained. The rooms/hallways are a bit dated but clean and damage-free. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Room service choices are sparse. A jazz club is located in the lobby area and was small and uncrowded. This hotel is located in a residential neighborhood so not very many options for food or stores after hours. Billed as 4-star but don't pay NYC 4-star prices for this hotel. If you're a tourist, you probably want to stay in a more tourist-oriented neighborhood for conveniences like easy subway access, 24-hr shops and diners, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Park Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGE5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The gentleman at the desk at check-in was probably the best I've experienced. Very friendly, offered plenty of guidance about the hotel and NYC. The room was nice, with a view of the Empire State Building, and housekeeping did a great job. I'd definitely stay here again, as I got plenty of value for my money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,705 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Family Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing